We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice camp but not value for money”
Review of Onkoshi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onkoshi Camp
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The setting is superb, the food is excellent and the service is five-star.

There are, however, no air conditioners in the rooms so when it is hot you will suffer as the ceiling fans are inadequate. We stayed two nights and the first night was very pleasant and cool but the second night was hot and the mosquitoes were relentless!

In two days we saw a giraffe and 3 kudu so the area is not good for game viewing. If you go on a game drive the guide will take you down towards Namutoni for better animal activity.

We were fortunate to have thousands of flamingoes and pelicans in the pan in front of us so we got some nice photographs of them and other water birds.

In addition to an air conditioner, a bar fridge in each room would have been a nice touch but if you want drinks or snacks the bar is a phone-call away.

We also feel a waterhole at the camp would enhance the experience as it would draw more animals to come to the camp to drink - as happens at Okaukuejo, Halali and Dolomite.

Most people come on safari to see animals and this area is lacking. If we had come in August there were no flamingoes so we would have been even more disappointed. Timing is important so we are glad we came in mid October.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but did not feel that it was value for money. Even though all meals and most drinks are included in the price, the lack of animals, lack of air-conditioners and the mosquitoes makes this a 4-star experience and not five-star.

One night at Onkoshi would be sufficient to experience the pan and magnificent sunset.

Room Tip: All the chalets face west and have great views of the setting sun. The two end units, numbers 1 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a two week touring holiday of Namibia, we stayed in many NWR sites around Namibia, but this without a doubt was the best. We were greeted like old friends by Gabriel, who drove us to Onkoshi from Namatomi, and it does take about 1 and a half hours, but you just may see some game, on our way out, we saw serveral elephants, a male lion, loads of giraffe, and a big rhino, lazing in a waterhole.
On arrival again, greeted by what seemed like all the staff, who were the friendliest people, and couldn't do enough for you. Had a fabulous lunch cooked by Gabriels wife, great chef! Then taken to our rooms, which are on stilts above the etosha pan, with a fantastic view of the pan, and piece and quiet, no cars, and in the middle of the park, with no fences. FAB
Dinner was a four course wonderful meal, and I have to say the best food we had in Namibia.
I could only find one thing wrong, in the room you had a coffee maker and tea, but no kettle to make it with, thats it, no other complaints.
The staff are without doubt the friendliest I've ever met, and all came out to wave us off when we left.
Anyone thats says this place is expensive is crazy, its worth every penny, and we only paid 1200 ZAR a night for it, and got a room each, which was lovely, I can only think, that you'd pay 3 times that in South Africa for the same type of lodge. Go, its worth the visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Arguably one of the more expensive lodges within the National Park but this is an ideally located luxury camp which offers really excellent value for money. We had a good sized, uniquely designed room including a four poster bed and wrap around balcony with outstanding views across a huge saltwater lake. We had a fabulous four course dinner (the best we had in Namibia). Being a couple on a private tour, the staff arranged for a romantic table for two out on the deckling by the pool. Really excellent, friendly service throughout. Really fabulous game viewing – the only reserve in Africa where we have seen elephant, rhino and lion at the same watering hole at the same time! We didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Spectacular location on the edge of the Etosha Pan. Very good staff. Without a/c it can be very hot at this time of year. Would love to come back after the wet season to see the pan filled with water.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: einfach keins buchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lischen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Niet hier logeren
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank yong997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Naddiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
74.1 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,042 reviews
23.8 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
905 reviews
76.7 mi away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#19 of 37 in Etosha National Park
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.8 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#2 of 8 in Etosha National Park
171 reviews
70.7 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
535 reviews
33.8 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#26 of 37 in Etosha National Park
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onkoshi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onkoshi Camp

Address: Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Onkoshi Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Onkoshi Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing