We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a memorable stay”
Review of Onguma the Fort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onguma the Fort
Certificate of Excellence
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a memorable stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Excellent welcoming staff, very good food, and the surprise: The singing and Dancing Staff of the Hotel for Dinner - we very much appreciated EVERYTHING - politeness, forthcoming, quality of food, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
161
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in March 2012 and absolutely loved it! The lodge is built in the Moroccan style with water features and towers, like a real fort. The reception was amazing, we had our hands washed and enjoyed a welcome drink. The views from the main area are great, there's a busy waterhole directly in front of the lodge where we saw zebra, giraffe and wildebeest come to drink.

The rooms were so luxurious, huge bed with mosquito net, well-equipped bathroom with his and hers basins, patio with outdoor shower and just so much attention to detail. Complimentary sherry in the rooms, special towels to clean your shoes (so you don't mess up the white ones), at turndown we received a rolled up page with an African tale printed on it and placed on the bed.

And now for the food: again, incredible! I'm talking fine dining here, the presentation is excellent and the dinners were 4 course, lunches 3 course with an extensive buffet for breakfast. There's a wine cellar and you can choose your own wines if you'd like. Stephan, the manager was great and presented a tasting comprising mostly of South African wines. We really looked forward to mealtimes here!

Our game drives were great, not fantastic game viewing as it was the rainy season with lots of water around. But loved the sundowners at a scenic spot. The lodge has a lovely pool with sun loungers - there's even a cocktail bar with tables and chairs placed inside the shallow pool! In short, will not hesitate to recommend this to everyone I know. Excellent service - excellent food - luxurious rooms - an insanely capable management team. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Meerkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

It is a fantastic place where you will feel totally spoilt. The best sundowner in all of Namibia, magical sunset and the most attentive staff ever-our game drive host was a bit shy, but knew a lot and intrigued us about the termites-such a great story. The manager, Stephen was the top notch, he'll go far I'm sure, nothing was too difficult for him, he shared his favourite wines with us and spoilt us by his cooking-when the main cook was injured. The magical setting, you sip on your cocktail while you look-from the comfort of the terrace- at the waterhole, the beautiful small castles (so to speak) that we've stayed in and its decor, the complimentary sherry in the room-everything was plain perfect. Would go back tomorrow! Worth it-spoil yourself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLouCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Great location, brilliant and helpful staff, but manager was the top of the cake. Always on our service and when a cook had an accident – injured a finger, he helped and prepared the meals - very inspiring approach. Game drive was the best; in one day we had a chance to see 4 of the Big 5.
Accommodation – the best in our Namibia vacation. If was worth of every penny.
Food - close to the best.

Room Tip: The room at the end, there are 2 on each side of the main building. Last night there I have heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikiNicosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I did a self drive through Namibia and When we arrived at the The Fort in Oguma we were welcomed by Bronwyn who showed us round and escorted us to our room.

A great room with lots of space and a view to die for. We wil never forget the male lions roaring at night in front of our room, the bush sounds, the smells.

Since you are in the bush (and the animals are VERY real there) you have to take the car after sunset if you go to the restaurant in the main building. Unless you feel the sudden urge to play Tarzan, don't walk in the dark all by yourself!

The Fort in Onguma is VERY well managed and all credit goes to both Bronwyn and Stefan. They absolutely went the extra mile. Very discretely they make their presence felt and you actually feel they really manage the place. Having said that, the entire staff deserves a great compliment! They all made us feel very special and welcome!

The food is great and believe it or not, the wine cellar alone in the Fort will make us come back. Surrounded by herds of Impala and Zebra who come to drink from the well in front of The Fort at night, we will never forget these moments whilst sipping our wines.

The game drives too were really, really great. David, our ranger proved to be a very, very knowledgeable guide we learned to love so much. The things he knew, not just about the animals, but also about plants and trees were mind blowing.

After Onguma my wife and I went to several other lodges in Etosha but very few lived up to the standard of The Fort.


We cannot recommend it enough!

Thank you Bronwyn and Stefan!




  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zucchero8591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just returned from my annual visit to Namibia and The Fort remains my favourite lodge. The spectacular design, decor and setting capture the spirit of Namibia and bring me back; but this year's visit was exceptional. Stephan and his wife - the enthusiastic and engaging new managers - went out of their way to provide individual attention. The food and wines were superb - creative cuisine (Hail to the Chef). Our guide, Rector (formerly of Lianshulu in the Caprivi) took us on an outstanding game drive. Overall, the experience couldn't have been better.

Colleen Braun in Calgary

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Fort 'experience' was a treat from start to finish. An Afro/Moroccan/India themed lodge and rooms were simply spectacular!

On a wonderful spot overlooking a well visited waterhole was THE highlight of a trip to Namibia. The meals were wonderful, common areas were specious, the interior design was meticulous and the staff a treat. No problem (though there weren't any!) would have fazed our host Newman who just made everything a very special experience. From a private dinner on our balcony with champagne and nibbles...was VERY tough to leave. Immanuel the chef is passionate, skilled and creative.

The game guides were knowledgeable and made the drives 'fly by'. The pool (including table and chairs in a shallow pool to cool off with a nice Pimms was a refreshing treat.

I could keep rattling on...it was amazing!

Room Tip: Lash out and get the Fort Suite...magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
5.4 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
778 reviews
87.3 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
902 reviews
84.3 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
290 reviews
12.5 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
193 reviews
99.7 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#4 of 8 in Etosha National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onguma the Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onguma the Fort

Property: Onguma the Fort
Address: Onguma Private Reserve | Near Etosha National Park, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Onguma the Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Fort is unlike any other, the only one of its kind in Namibia, built in exactly the right spot to give our guests probably one of the best sunset views in the whole of Namibia. Overlooking the beautiful scarceness of the Etosha Pans, decorated only with its wild animals and hundreds of Camel Thorn trees that dot the landscape. Accommodation consists of twelve Bush Suites with fire places for the winter months and air coolers for the summer months. Each suite has an indoor and outdoor shower. The one and only Fort Suite is situated inside the Main Tower of the main complex. It has a large beautifully designed bedroom that leads into a lounge area and out onto a private viewing deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Onguma the Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onguma The Fort Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing