We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is a must in Namibia!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onguma Treetop Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onguma Treetop Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is a must in Namibia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

One of the best lodges in Namibia, in the world! The service is the best of all, they are all so nice and will make everything for you to feel comfortable. The tree top tents are unbelievable, they are open bedrooms so you hear all the nature's sounds: GREAT SWEAT DREAMS!
From your bed you can watch the animals drink water from the waterfront, wow!
For dinner they set up a lovely table under the stars, great food, a really nice experience. We stayed only 1 night and would like to stayed there at least 3. We visited the luxury tents inside Onguma and also they look amazing! You definitevely should try this place!!!
Our guide was the best, explaining everything about nature. He prepared a wonderful picnic for the sunset!
And the best, the open air shower with hot water UNREAL!

Room Tip: tree top camp (all rooms are the same, expectacular) or you can try the luxury tent camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
83
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in Onguma in Sept 2011 as part of our trip to Namibia. We simply loved the treetop camp - the views, food, rooms and hospitality couldn't be faulted. Quite how they serve the standard of food in what feels like the middle of nowhere I just don't know! We went for an early evening trip and while we were out our guide received a call telling him to get somewhere quick - we were all excited about what it could be - turned out it was a male cheetah resting behind a termite mound. This was just icing on the cake for us...we absolutely loved it...

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms and each one could be classified as a 'suite' - all fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshirelittleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have stayed in dozens of lodges & camps in southern Africa and this one is an absolute Gem. It is basically a row of seven separate 'huts' suspended on stilts and joined by raised walkways arranged around a watering hole. The central hut is a large communal dining facility and the other six are double room accommodation with a shower. Each hut has an open side with a balcony facing the watering hole and which cannot be seen by anyone else either from the camp or elsewhere. We arrived in the evening and after wonderful food and a beverage or two got an early night. I was woken by my wife (who had lost her contact lenses) nudging me, waving vaguely towards the watering hole and muttering about blurred images and strange noises. When I opened my eyes (and found Mrs J's glasses) we could see the water hole teeming with life a few yards from our bed and could enjoy the view and our breakfast without having to move an inch. This is a marvellous way to wake up!

We stayed for several days and enjoyed guided safari drives into Etosha, several wonderful meals and watching a variety of wildlife at far closer ranges than is normally possible; on several occasions they were under our hut! It’s peaceful, friendly, intimate and pretty romantic too; we will certainly go back when next we are able.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weisenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Close to the Namutoni gate of Etosha National Parc, unique location within a private game reserve and overlooking (10 m distance) one of the best frequented waterholes of the region. Defilé of hundreds of antilopes, zebras, birds during the day. Absolute private and privileged service, luxurious but authentic accommodation. A dream of a bush lodge but still down to earth. Felt more than being guests and were treated with utmost attention by all of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huvevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

A whole different experience to the Tented Camp which we had been to immediately preceding this stay, Treetops is the perfect place for a small group / couples escape with only 4 two-person 'bungalows' available. This just added to the sense of isolation and escapism we experienced and the very size of the place added wonderfully to the excellent very personal attention we received from David and the staff.
Rooms are half-wood /canvas front and are quite small, but come with electric and an external geyser-heated outdoor shower - mosquito nets are provided here. The bungalow opens onto a small verandah and a view of the reed-beds and waterhole -as we were there in the dry season, we were blessed with a large range of visiting animals from the surrounding game reserve, but also a large resident hornbill population. There is a 20 minute gravel drive to the park entrance, but this is still probably one of the closest lodges to the park itself and we were able to visit both of the other Onguma properties for sundowners with no problems too.
As might be expected for such a small but initmate camp, this is one level of service down from the Tented Camp, but it is even more personalized - one highlight was the dinners prepared by Chef Erasmus right in front of us on a standard hob - outstanding! No pool here but not missed at all - the memory of the lantern-lit elevated wooden walkway will linger long.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

When we went to this camp in August, I was a bit worried because it had been so long since there’d been a review of the lodge. Fortunately, my worry was for nothing because this was one of the highlights of our Namibia trip (truth be told, there were many highlights!) The accommodations were just what I wanted, “rustic” enough to appreciate the wilderness environment, while being “pampered” at the same time. The tents were very clean (the occasional ant or spider couldn’t be helped given we kept our tent “open” for most of the visit), the bathrooms were spotless, and attention was given to even the smallest of detail, like various soaps, lotions, and even spray for our toilet room. With only 4 tents you are almost guaranteed to have a quiet visit and with the number of Onguma staff available, you will be catered to whatever your needs might be. Even with the other tents occupied, they are placed in such a way that privacy is always available once in your own tent. And the food…absolutely delicious! Starting with a hearty breakfast of cereal, yogurts, fruits, and if you’d prefer something more, eggs to your liking. For dinners, Simon prepared various game meats like kudu and oryx, and always made sure to have a soup, starch, and vegetable accompaniment (they asked if we were vegetarians, so I’m sure they had good options for those who are.) Although, while lunches were good they weren’t as substantial as I would have expected (with one exception: on our departure date, they were kind enough to pack us a delicious “brown bag” to take with us on the road.) One concern I’ve read on other sites is that Onguma Tree Top is not located in the park and therefore you don’t see quite as much. While this is true, to be honest, if you are really looking for a great safari destination full of wildlife, Etosha is probably not your place, anyway. Overall, this was a great way to end our trip and we’re extremely happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillEyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This is a small, intimate lodge with only 4 chalets ensuring great service and an intimate setting. The food was fantastic, get Simon to do the Eland for you when you are there, it was just about the best meal we had in the 3 weeks we were in Namibia. The lodge is close enough to Etosha that it's only a short drive through the private reserve and you get to see game on the way to and from Etosha. We were lucky enough to be the only guests there for one night and we were spoiled rotten.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etosha National Park
0.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 14 in Outjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onguma Treetop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onguma Treetop Camp

Property: Onguma Treetop Camp
Address: Namutoni Gate Etosha national park, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Onguma Treetop Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onguma Treetop Camp is a small and intimate camp, especially designed for those travellers who would like to truly experience the bush in all its raw splendour. This is where guests are able to come and relax for a few days in the midst of their busy travelling schedule, and just breathe in the aromas of the bush and take in all the wildness that this place has to offer. The Camp is built on wooden stilts amongst the tree tops with full views over one of the most beautiful watering holes on Onguma Game Reserve. The Camp consists of 4 thatched rooms with canvas walls, a dining room and a main complex. Ideal for small family groups or friends travelling together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing