We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen a roman town like that before!”
Review of Leptis Magna

Leptis Magna
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Al Khums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best preserved Roman cities is situated on the Mediterranean Sea.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never seen a roman town like that before!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

very interesting, loved the arch, the roads, the roman baths. dont forget to see the ampitheatre , a bit away from the main site where they used to send the wild animals to kill criminals/christians etc- gruesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eebyegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Leptis is one of the 3 Roman cities of the "Regio Tripolitana" (region of 3 cities), the other 2 being Sabratha and Tripoli. I recommend that Leptis should be the final stop of your Regio Tripolitana visit.

Leptis is simply stunning. You have the old forum with the market place near by in which you can still see the different shapes of the stands where goods were put to be sold. You can imagine that some of the stone was shaped in a particular way to lay down fish, others to hold fruit/vegetables, etc. Then the new forum is spectacular! The size of it is just breath taking. When walking from the new forum into the church, take the door on the left and stop for a few minutes to admire the design of the columns.

Also it is worth going to the light-houses and to cross the beach to see part of the harbour. You can still see where the boats would tie themselves to the sides of the dock. I would also recommend to eat (you have to bring your own food) on the beach which is isolated and take in the air breathe before walking along the road where all the columns used to once stand.

Another place where one can eat is near the circus. there are a few columns lying on the ground under a few tress with views of the sea. It is worth taking the care to the circus as it is very well preserved (a lot better than the one in Sabratha)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Luisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Classical Roman ruins - hors competition”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a fantastic place I visited some 30 years ago, but given the amount of tourists in this area it most likely hasn't changed much since then. For it hasn't for the last 2000 years. After a visit to Leptis Magna, one does not get much impressed by Colosseum or Acropolis: these much reduced European sites are dwarfed by the scale and the degree of integrity of Leptis Magna, which is probably best compared to the Pompei site near Napoli.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What did the Romans ever do for...Oh I see”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow as adventures go this was a big one. I visited Libya as my brother worked out there. I found the people lovely and Leptis being the highlight. As you would expect it was very quiet and being able to touch, see and smell the artefacts was wonderful. We got to shout from the amphitheatre and walk in and around the coliseum. I hope people get to view this ancient masterpiece in the future.My visit was in 2009 not April 2012.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartncfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Must-see when in Libya”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went to Leptis Magna with my friends November 2011 as one local friend highly recommended it, we didn't have an idea that our eyes are in for a rare treat of looking right through history 2000 years back. I have been to Cyrene too, and it is packed with history too but Leptis Magna is something that can compare to what Rome boasts as only Leptis is far more reserved and quietly magnificent. When i first set my eyes on it, i knew that Libya has more to offer than what I often hear on the news these days. If you are visiting Libya or traveling in Tripoli never miss this rare chance of seeing one of the most beautiful ruins of ancient history.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank freeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leptis Magna also viewed

Tripoli, Tripoli District
Sabratah, al-Zawiyah District
 
Ghadamis, Nalut District
Al Bayda, Al Jabal Al Akhdar District
 

Been to Leptis Magna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing