We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge
Reviewed February 8, 2014

First, If you are looking for 5 stars hotels .stop reading and try Helnan El-Fayoum :)

I stayed their for one day, the hotel is ecolodge, rooms are very nice and clean.
Food are perfect, you can order Egyptian traditional food like ducks ,chicken , Feter ,.........
enjoy the nature.If you want to test the real life of Fayoum, you must go their.

Room Tip: select rooms in the upper level.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Me and my friend spent one night here in January to escape Cairo for a while. The lodge area was nice and peaceful and the rooms were very basic but clean, although one of the mattresses was old and not so comfortable. The room and the restaurant were both quite cold in the evening but we were given extra blankets for the night so we did not have problems sleeping. The owner was very friendly. The food we had was quite ok, nothing special. They did not have everything on the menu. In the evening we had delicious food prepared by Heba El Ghoneimy who sometimes cooks there on weekends. Otherwise not much to do in the evening. The hotel staff was very helpful in organizing an excursion to the desert and overall friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yngvild A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were planning to stayfor 2 nights for new year's eve.... we ended up leaving the next day. at first they put us in a room, where the bathroom is open to the room, there was pee smell coming out from the bathroom to the room... room was full of ants everywhere, bed sheets and pillows colors had turned from white to beige from how unclean and old the sheets were.
we were begging for them to change us to another room, and then they did, they placed us in a somewhat cleaner room however the sound isolation was terrible as we could hear the people in the room above us talking and sneezing and coughing all night (and that's excluding their trips to the bathrooms and party habits for new years)
the next morning we were hoping to end this with a nice breakfast and head home, but the food was just terrible.. (which we heard was supposedly nice)....
definitely not a thing to repeat for us.

Room Tip: do not use the old rooms near the cafeteria on the right side, ask for the rooms with ceramic floors...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent two days (and one night) and we left thinking that I could have been better. The place is clean and have a several comfortable spaces to relax -especially the area behind the Syrian Restaurant, which didn't seem to be a restaurant but a room full tables- but we found that the restaurant menu and bathroom maintenance could improve significantly.
Enjoying food is, lets be honest here, very important when you are on vacation. The menu here is all about Egyptian food, which could be great if all the items listed in it were available. Another thing, and that is us being picky, the food didn't seem to be consistent in terms of portions and presentation. It is too bad they didn't have any fresh juices when this is one of the things I like the most about Egypt. Their meat was delicious though. Big portions cooked to perfection.
It is nice that they have a pool but it pretty small and not relaxing when it has to be shared with more that 10 people. Also, there was a broken plastic rim following the edge of pool that caused a minor cut in my hand.
The bedroom are simple but totally fine.
They can arrange a private taxi from Cairo to the camp for about 200-250 EGP, which I recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriolCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For all of you that are interested to experience the local style of a country...I´d really recommend you to go there! The owner of this BEAUTIFUL eco-lodge is such a wonderful person. We had hours of conversations with him, who is an egyptian (I think originally he was from somewhere else, but don´t remember exactly) author who wrote several books and is still doing and has also a very interesting opinion about the current political activities.

The place itself is simply beautiful, adorable! The food was fantastic (had fish with rice...hmm..tasty!!) and the breakfast was also deliciouse...and I dont wanna mention how incredibly cheap it was.

One of the best things I did during my stay in egypt.

Warmly recommend this place - from the bottom of my heart :)
Cheers,
Aslihan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aslihan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great experience with great food only defect is the water it's not always in good flow and pressure,I would prefer if organize tours to wady el rayan and other near by places. great place and good work

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sameha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've been there of lunch & relaxing after a long trip day, we had a nice lunch in an authentic atmosphere & friendly crew, we really had a good time :)
The place has a nice bazaar for local products & nice rooms to stay the night. I loved the place
The only comment I have is that the food menu needs to have more variety

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShahyRadwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Fayyum hotels
17.5 mi away
Helnan Auberge Fayoum
Helnan Auberge Fayoum
#3 of 4 in Al Fayyum
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Byoum Lakeside Hotel
Byoum Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 4 in Al Fayyum
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazib Inn Resort & Spa
Lazib Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Al Fayyum
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kom El Dikka Agri Lodge
Kom El Dikka Agri Lodge
#1 of 11 in Al Fayyum
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge

Address: Tunis Village, Al Fayyum 11115, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Al Fayyum Governorate > Al Fayyum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Al Fayyum
Price Range: $19 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zad El Mosafer Ecolodge Egypt/Al Fayyum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing