We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Corporate Travel”
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weathervane Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This was a great hotel for us buisness travelers. It was nice to stay at a hotel other than a typical chain hotel for buisness travel. Staff was very friendly and continental breakfast was better than the standard. Having wireless internet through the hotel was a plus and the rooms are clean and confortable. I will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank buisness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Weathervane Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

What a great place! I found this place online randomly and it is a true gem! Prices are very reasonable and the room was clean, modern and comfortable. How nice it was to wake up and sit on our porch facing the lake and then go in and sit by the fireplace. I would absolutely return here when I go back to the Whitehall area. The staff was helpful and courteous and the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JN1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Found this place through a cupon book! It's what my wife and I needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The place is small but knows how to run a business and make guests feel special. We got the Romantic Package (Champagne, ow!). Fireplace looked nice but didn't have access to it since since it was still warmish at night. Jacuzzi was terrific. Balcony's cool if you don't mind other guest right next to you (each balcony only seperated by rails).
The little towns of Whitehall and Montague are right across from each other and the picturesque one-street kind. Had a nice time strolling around into the stores.

Overall, a great place to just get away.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BARBERUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The place was very clean, the double shower was an experience to remember. The hot tub was clean and relaxing. Had a great time, plenty of places to eat at in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank racegirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I found this hotel online while looking for an anniversary getaway. It turned out to be better than I expected. The room was HUGE, clean and well-decorated, with a jacuzzi, gas fireplace, sofa, kitchenette, and balcony overlooking White Lake, all for under $100 including tax. There was a nice continental breakfast with waffles and fresh-baked cookies in the evening, also free movies to play in your room. There was a room where you could play games or use a computer. The staff was super-friendly too. No pool, but that was okay with us. Overall, a great stay. It's kind of a quite area in the off-season, so you might want to do a little research ahead of time for activities or if you want to find a nice restaurant (altho Muskegon and Ludington aren't that far away). There are a couple of shops with bike and kayak rentals adjacent to the hotel.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank flyakuyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Reserved a room at the Weathervane Inn in June. Called to reconfirm the night before arrival. When we got to the Inn was told our room had been given to someone else. They had the paper work for our reservation. Our name had been crossed out. There was no manager on the premise. We were forced to take a room at another motel for considerably more money. Days later, after repeated attempts to reach a manager, we were contacted by the Weathervane Inn and told they had no record of our reservation. Their refusal to acknowledge any responsibility in this matter was disappointing. We had to involve the owner to receive compensation. Needless to say, would not recommend staying at the Weathervane.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
6  Thank UM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

We used the Weathervane Inn as our base while we explored the local sights. Laughed hysterically at the enormous jacuzzi not 4 ft from the entrance door, w/you had to walk around to get to the toilet. But all the furnishings were in top shape and the in-room microwave.refrigerator and hotplate were a superb gesture. There was a toilet/shower combo around the corner from the 5x6ft square jacuzzi - which did work well, thanks... although we could have done w/o the full-length mirror against the tub! What a hoot.
The young staff were polite and very helpful. HINT - before you ask the desk for a winepull or other necessities, check the drawers of the cabinets in your room. They have many useful items for travelers. A nice danish, bagels, boiled eggs, cereal and fresh fruit buffet brkfst kept us from having to go out on rainy mornings. Highly recommend for families but we slept soundly even with couples playing cards in the hall/lobby. I would try for one of the B&B's in the area next time as they were full when we made our trip. But a safe, clean, comfortable place to stay in the White Lake area that we will recommend to others. Price is reasonable for the area and what is provided.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kansachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
13.0 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
21.6 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
362 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
19.9 mi away
The Harrington Inn
The Harrington Inn
#1 of 1 in Fremont
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range: $112 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing