We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooms”
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weathervane Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Burton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing rooms”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Me and my husband just stayed this past Saturday and the Weathervane inn was an awesome place to stay. The rooms were really nice, clean and cozy. The jacuzzi was so relaxing and the fireplace was beautiful. I can't wait to be able to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelms81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    85
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
40
171
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel was very nice and the previous reviews on right on the money. We went off season so things were kinda quite around the hotel and town as well. Rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, and perfect size for a couple.

Beds were comfortable, fireplace was romantic, and jetted tub was relaxing.

Breakfast was nice but minimal. Waffles, toast, bagels, yogurt, and cereal. coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day and good coffee as well.

Layout of the rooms a bit weird. All the first floor rooms open right up to the lobby and the breakfast area is basically tables and chairs in the lobby right outside guest rooms. Wasn't loud when were were there but with a full hotel, it could be loud in the mornings. I would recommend booking a room on the second floor if you don't want that much traffic right outside your door.

Room Tip: All rooms had a nice view even city side. Book 2nd floor room for less hallway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xkitykatxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We totally enjoyed our room. It was very cold and snowy outside but our room was toast. The fireplace and jacuzzi were perfect for a winter getaway. We took our two big dogs(which was a lot of fun) and enjoyed walking the paths next to the hotel. It's a very seasonal area and a lot of businesses are down in the winter, but we still found some cute shops and good food. The continental breakfast is well done and the staff was friendly and courteous. I would love to go sometime in the summer months when all the boats are docked outside the hotel. It is a beautiful view lakeside.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have a beautiful view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurelS289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The Jacuzzi tub in our room was awesome and so was the fireplace. The breakfast was pretty good. I would have liked some hot foods but we couldn't complain. There isn't much to do right in town but you don't have to go far. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CarrieAnneSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a great getaway for two. My husband and I drove past there years ago, after a week of camping and said it is good to see independent places still up and running but they need to update. Well they have on the inside. There is a Jacuzzi and fireplace in every room. There is a microwave and mini fridge in lake view rooms as well. We found the rooms also have an IPOD docking station so you can play your favorite place list. Kendra is very helpful in attending to your needs if you forget something or need help with any issue. Brittany made sure we were taken care of as well. When we entered the room, it was clean and warm. In the shower are two shower heads each with three settings. Plenty of hot water. Chocolate Chip cookies were ready both nights at 8 pm. Continental Breakfast included . We decided to bring food from home. Excellent choice, did not have to deal with the snow.Restaurants are near by if you want to eat out. Flat screen TV for watching your favorite show. Bed was comfy. We also had a patio. Groupon is also a good way to go to get excellent pricing. We arrived on Thursday and checked out today. We came home refreshed. We will be coming back in the summer. Lovely addition to Michigan's West Coast.

Room Tip: Lakeside if you want a view, kitchenette if you want to cook more. However if you know how to use a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Annette1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here in the winter in December. I love that each room has a jacuzzi and fireplace, but the fireplace did not work very well due to the heater being on. I'm not sure how that works out...The kitchen appliances were small but neat and useful if you want to cook while you're there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The room and amenities were mostly fine. We did have an issue where our bathroom light broke and found out that the maintenance staff/man had the weekend off and there was no back up so we just had to deal with it.

The Mgmt awful bit was when I returned home and found my cc statement was more than my receipt. When I called, and the front desk girl was rude and kinda lied. Which I guess wasn't her fault, her manager Britt I think was her name, made her tell me there was no manager on site. But eventually they came clean and I spoke to the manager, but I wish I hadn't, she was scary mean, like super horror movie mean, yelling and cursing... So I hung up and emailed. Luckily someone else wrote me back and I dealt with that person.

Really unfortunate cause it was a great weekend and the Hotel was cute but having to deal with them about anything even remotely unpleasant, like an inaccurate charge, was just awful.

I don't care how good fresh baked cookies smell... I'll never go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank AvidTraveler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
13.0 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
434 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
35 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Property: Weathervane Inn
Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing