We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weathervane Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over the holidays while visiting our family which is scattered all over west Michigan. The rooms are clean and cozy, the staff is friendly. They're pet friendly which is amust for us and they worked with us on our rate. Duck Lake State Park is close and good food and pubs are just minutes away! Mind your Ps and Qs, though, if youre driving late-night as the Whitehall and Montague police seem to not have much to do. I would definitely recommend the Weathervane Inn to a friend.

Room Tip: Spring for a lake view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Weathervane Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 251 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed overnight during a beautiful Fall weekend. Convenient location was great as we were able to walk over to the Farmers Market and hit a couple antique shops in town. Also played golf at the Old Channel Trail and rode the bike path. Room was nice and front desk promptly helped us turn on the fireplace. Continental breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went with my wife for an overnight get away. This hotel simply had to many issues for me to recommend to anyone to stay here. I will start with the good. Nice location. Relatively clean. Now the bad. Do not book the couples massage as 1. It is not truly a couples massage. 2. No one ever showed to actually give us the massage. Management only commented that they were working on it and would let us know. Well they never got back to us. The room was about 90 degree's when we arrived, the fireplace was off (and as it turns out was non functional) and so was the heater. Contacted the front desk about the issue and was simply told that most people have the problem of the room being to cold. We had to open the door to the balcony to maintain a comfortable temperature in the room. Now keep in mind we visited in December. Wireless Internet was not working. No coffee maker in the room. Our "Lake View" room was to me not a true lake view as you had to be out on the deck to see the lake. The walls are very thin so if the room next to you decides to run the hot tub all night you will know about it all to well. The refrigerator in the room also emitted a high pitched noise when running so had to be unplugged. While recently renovated the repairs \ updates seemed to have been done by an amateur. The TV for example was hung crooked, very crooked, that level of craftsman ship seemed to be echoed with all the renovation work. To top it off the milk they served at breakfast was spoiled, VERY spoiled. Sadly my wife didn't smell it before she took a drink and it made her throw up. Kinda made us question the quality \ safety of the rest of the food. So if your into a noisy, non climate controlled hotel that doesn't follow up and serves spoiled food this is the place for you. Defiantly not worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Weathervane Inn last weekend and loved it. It was our first time and we stayed in a room with a beautiful fireplace and swivel television. Our favorite part was the oversized large jacuzzi in the room. We used that frequently as we stayed for a few days to just relax and unwind after a busy and stressful few months. The room also had a beautiful view of the lake with a nice balcony overlooking it. It was off season and it was slower, but I think that only made out stay even better. We recommend the Weathervane Inn as my wife and I will both look to make it a tradition to stay there each year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 223.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a great time--loved it! If you want to take your dog with you--these folks are very welcoming--the room had everything we wanted and needed. So close to nice beaches and parks. I'll bet this place is hopping in the summer! The room was equipped for romance--comfy king sized bed and a warm glowing gas fireplace. Jacuzzi tub and oversized towels, plus the double shower head shower--hello... :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for our anniversary. Our room had no view but was clean and nice. Staff was very freindly and helpful. Weather was cold and rainy all weekend but we really enjoyed our stay. We will go again. Very nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I visited the Weathervane in for two nights on November 2 and November 3, 2012. I purchased a Groupon for this stay which was quite a deal. We had a lovely room facing the lake which consisted of a beautiful fireplace and jacuzzi. The room was exceptionally clean and the furniture was very nice. I had read some bad reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this hotel. I would like to advise future guests this place is fabulous. The quaint little town has many nice shops. There are also many nice restaurants to try where the food is great. One of our favorites was the Harborview Restaurant. We loved our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Lakeview rooms are beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetravelers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
13.0 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
21.6 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
362 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
19.9 mi away
The Harrington Inn
The Harrington Inn
#1 of 1 in Fremont
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range: $112 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing