We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Montague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid week getaway”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My 6yo daughter Emmie and I had a great stay, Her favorite part was all the time she spent with the chickens and gathering the eggs. She is already asking when we can go back. For myself the stay brought back great memories of my childhood growing up on the farm in Iowa. The house is very clean and nicely appointed and Valerie and John are very welcoming, they make you feel like part of the family and go out of their way to make your stay the best.
Upon checking in She asked Emmie what she liked to eat and she responded with cinnamon rolls and frozen grapes so for breakfast that is what she made special for her.
(the cinnamon rolls are to die for)
While there also check out Lewis farms, a petting farm we spent over 2 hours at and the cleanest farm I have ever seen. As well as I would recommend taking the tour of the dairy operation at Country Dairy. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We were so pleased to be part of your get away and certainly look forward to your return! Thanks for sharing you family recipe...and remember to look into Montague pumpkin roll this October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Amanda's Bequest. We enjoyed the great service and hospitality that Valerie and John gave us at every turn. The accommodations were just right and the bed was very comfortable. We doubt you will every find a more comfortable overall stay than you will experience here. The breakfast were so delicious and a real treat each morning, especially if you are a breakfast lover. You will not leave the table disappointed and without a doubt well satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy11981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you. You both were such a pleasure. It really did feel like friends staying over. As the sign over the door reads, "Enter as Strangers, Leave as Friends" ... your visit was the embodiment of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved staying at Amanda's Bequest! The Inn-Port room was perfect for our family. Our 13 yr. old son enjoyed every minute of our trip. Breakfast is amazing and you better come hungry!
I had a canning experience with Valerie with the Bygone Basics; fun and very educational! Valerie is a wonderful hostess and teacher. I'm so proud of my jars of tomatoes! My husband and son went to town when I was learning to can with Valerie and rented some bikes and had a great time on the bike trails. Everything you could possible want is right here! Farm experience (we loved the bunnies, the chickens, the ducks and the gardens,) the beach, the quaint town with fun shopping. Wonderful choices for dinning. Valerie and John are wonderful host. We felt so at home. They take time to get to know you and truly care about your comfort and take great care in making sure you have all you need. Thanks for a wonderful time! We'll be back:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Oh my goodness! (blushing) What an awesome review. Thank you. Know that we speak fondly of your visit and look forward to you returning in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a lovely, delightful surprise. We stayed 5 nights the week of July 4th, and wish we had stayed longer. We stayed in the Inn-Port room, which accomodated 2 adults and one 5 year old, a perfect amount of space. The only "note" would be that the room's private bathroom is downstairs, but that was not an issue for us. Our daughter adored the Bunnies, chickens and ducks in the yard, and we all loved the gigantic, fresh, hommade breakfasts, the peace and quiet, the campfire, the baked goodies, and the overall warmth of our hosts, Valerie and John. They are beyond fabulous, and like their sign over the door says, we "came as strangers, left as friends". Besides the amazing accomodations, the Lake Michigan beach is the most lovely I have seen (huge dunes, connects to a smaller lake), and the 22 mile Hart-Montague bike path, with a 10-mile new extension is about a 2-minute bike ride from Amanda's Bequest. I highly recommend this for any cyclists--we were amazed at the beauty and smoothness of the PAVED trails (note to self--bring road bike next trip--skinny tires will work better!). Montague is a sweet little town, next to White Lake, with many very reasonable dining options, and lots of ice cream. We feel like both the area and Amanda's Bequest are truly hidden gems, and make for an absolutely perfect getaway. We cannot wait to get back and do some more riding, beachnig, and eating! It is very hard to leave once you stay here, so beware---you may want to try and plan a few extra days if you can! We wish we did!

Room Tip: The Inn Port room is wonderful for families, private bathroom on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagodivermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for this great review! We sure enjoyed your stay and love it when Amanda's Bequest has a family stay. We can't do it anytime, as children are only guests when it is a whole house booking or there are no other guests. But it is a special treat to have a youngster enjoying our ducks, bunnies, and hens.
We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A very comfortable bed, a spacious suite and super friendly hosts - what more could you want! Oh, maybe chickens, ducks and rabbits and the best pie in the world! Valerie supplies local restaurants with her awesome pies. How does John stay in such good shape - keeping the old parsonage looking great!

Room Tip: The 1920's room was more of a suite with a jacuzzi in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you! We were so pleased to have met you and hope to see you again soon. You are right about John staying in shape via working on the parsonage, He is in constant "project" mode. Every time guests make a return visit they are amazed by some new change to the place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Amanda’s Bequest on our way to WI and we were surprised and delighted by the décor and comfort of this beautiful little Inn! Our hosts, Valerie and John made us feel like honored guests in their lovely home. We were able to easily visit a Lake Michigan beach and enjoyed a fine dinner on the shores of White Lake. We appreciated a quiet evening of fellowship sitting by the campfire late into the evening before retiring to our very comfortable room. In the morning we were treated to a scrumptious breakfast! Valerie made everything herself and catered to my vegetarian needs as well as my husband’s love of a hearty NON-vegetarian meal. We felt very pampered and special! I highly recommend Amanda’s Bequest Bed and Breakfast in Montague, Michigan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Such kind words! Thank you for taking the time to do a TA review.
John and I really enjoyed our visit with you as well. It is always extra special when we get time around the fire.
Being a lover of all things fruits, herbs, grains, legumes, and vegetables....cooking vegetarian is a breeze and we are always pleased to know at booking that this eating preference or regime exists so we can plan for it. Thank you for a great stay here at Amanda's Bequest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of four just finished a ten-day trip to Michigan and spent our first two nights at Amanda's Bequest. We had the two upstairs rooms, which were perfect for us. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated, spacious, and well appointed. We had a great deal of privacy up on the second floor, which was good both for us and for other guests. Valerie and John were fantastic hosts; they served up hearty and delicious breakfasts, informed us regarding local sights and restaurants, patiently answered myriad questions about their home and animals from inquisitive adults and children, and even invited us to join them at their campfire. I felt more like a cherished friend than someone passing through. Our girls fell in love with the resident chickens, ducks, and rabbits, so Valerie invited them to help her feed the animals and to collect the lovely brown and green hen's eggs that would end up in our breakfasts. We were blessed with great accommodations throughout our time in Michigan, but the most memorable and special inn was Amanda's Bequest. We hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
What a lovely note. Thank you. We fell in love with your girls! And do look forward to a future visit by your family. The Inn-Port now has bunk-beds and a Queen bed. Also, let your littlest one know, we added a reading light just for her. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
1.3 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
242 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
341 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
340 reviews
18.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5200 Anderson Rd, Montague, MI 49437-1506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B! Located in the city but on 2 acres near beautiful White Lake. Enjoy seasonal activities and events, charming farms, and thriving arts & cultural communities. A unique heritage farm-style stay. Wonderfully comfortable rooms with private baths (one with a jacuzzi), a central parlor/socializing area, as well as the on-site culinary school (Requires preregistration. Contact for more information), a farm garden, strolling forest, biking/hiking/skiing/snowshoeing, flower gardens, and heritage cultural & cuisine experiences; for its guests, and nearby Medberry Park with its light house great public beach and sunset pier stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing