We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Old Channel Inn

Old Channel Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
decatur il
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Have come here every year for the past 23 years, when we are staying in Whitehall at Buzz's Lakeside Inn. A quaint old "inn" with good food and good service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyDecaturil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rustic”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We like to try local places rather than chains and almost always find some good food. This was one such place. It was a busy Saturday evening, but we were seated quickly. It was a little crowded and I'm glad we weren't seated by the salad bar. We had the smelt appetizer which was really good. The London broil and lake perch were also excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boiler-Grad-and-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant Near Lake Michigan Beach in Montague”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Old Channel Inn is a mainstay just outside of Montague, MI. It's been at this location (Lloyd's Landing on Lake Michigan, but no lake view) for many years. The food is average to good. It ranges from sandwiches and burgers to full dinners. Salad bar is usually available during the tourist season. There is also a fully stocked bar. Excellent wait staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JiminAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Near the big lake!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice atmosphere.
You can walk to Lake Michigan from the restaurant. Watch the sunset and walk back for dinner. Food and service are very good. Try the Old Channel Inn Pie!
The parking lot is small and on a busy road.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VanLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice surprise near the lakeshore”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stubled upon this place searching for a place to take pictures of the 8 to 10 foot waves Lake Michigan was having post fall thunderstorm. From the outside this place barely looks open let along a good choice for a meal but as often is the case look are not everything. We found a great variety on the menu friendly service and quaint decor. Clearly this is a place the local and weekenders cherish alike. Great sandwiches will have to try them for dinner next summer for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AAA_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Channel Inn also viewed

Whitehall, Muskegon County
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 
Whitehall, Muskegon County
 
Montague, Muskegon County
 

Been to Old Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing