We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole reason we chose this hotel, was for the indoor...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Monroe
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The whole reason we chose this hotel, was for the indoor heated pool and fitness room. The fitness room had broken equipment so we were unable to use. No ice machines in the hotel were working, we needed ice bad. And upon check in, the computer was not working properly and I could not access my Wyndhams account to receive my rewards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 505 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank MaryJ613
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Marina A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having read the reviews, we went through the McDonald's parking lot to avoid the first half of the access road. We had difficulty finding a place to park after check-in (more on that later). When we got to the room, I was disappointed with how small the room was. Wallpaper was peeling, there were large water stains on the ceiling, the subfloor was very uneven under the carpeting and, between the color variations on the walls and the old holes, you could tell the room had at some point been rearranged. There was one floor lamp in the back corner of the room and a small lamp between the beds - it could have used some more lighting. The beds were clean and comfortable. There was an iron/board, hairdryer, fridge/freezer and microwave and a table shoved in the corner with two chairs, an armchair in the other corner and the usual dresser with TV on top. The sink is outside of the bathroom, which is always a help when craming four people in one room.

In the morning, I was surpised by the huge continental breakfast. Sylvia was very pleasant and interacted a good bit with my kids...it totally made up for the disappointment of the night before. We spent some time in the pool on the first morning. It was nice enough, but very heavily chlorinated. The pool towels are not much more than rags, so take your own! Although the pool is open 24hrs, no kids under age 18 after 10 PM. It would have been nice to know this ahead of time (more on this later as well), so keep this in mind if you're traveling with kids.

The negatives:

The access road. It is not an exaggeration to say you could lose a minivan in the largest of the craters - and you could total a vehicle in the smallest.

When we arrived Friday night, there were lots of boats. There are only a handful of parking spaces in the front of the hotel, three of which were taken up by an unhitched boat and the truck. The yard on the left front of the building was full of them and the entrance to the lot on that side was nearly blocked by them. There were a couple parked long ways in the back of this lot, effectively blocking access to parking spots in the front against the building. There were extension cords run from every boat to one outlet on the end of the building leaving a tangled mess of cords in the lot and across the sidewalks. They were there until Sunday.

None of the exterior doors are locked at all - except for the pool entrance facing the front of the hotel. The key card systems are there but not working/used.

The road noise in the side lot is deafening. You have to yell to be heard at all hours. Our room did not face this side, so I don't know if it is disturbing in the rooms that do face that way - but we did hear train whistles in our room a good bit throughout the night.

There is a Room Code of Conduct in each room, which is a printed, laminated sheet of paper. Most of the rules deal with noise and disturbances - and it indicates they have had a problem with noise at night. Be warned!

Probably 75% of the people using the pool throughout the weekend were not hotel guests. We watched a number of people coming in and out of the pool from/to the parking lot and changing in the pool-side bathroom. There were a number of kids who were staying at the hotel - so with the added numbers, it got pretty crowded and noisy at times. Some of the kids were not accompanied by an adult to the pool area, and some weren't supervised even if there was an adult with them. Another mother commented she found a child asleep in the hot tub. A father was teaching his son how to dive into the pool (the deepest part is 5 ft)!

The people staying in the room next to us apparently invited their entire family to the hotel. The kids were either in the room or in the pool, while the adults were in the parking lot smoking - and it surely did not smell like cigarettes. This was during the day, though, so at least the noise didn't bother us.

This was a family trip as well as an event for my husband, so he spent the day Saturday at the event. Another event participant stayed at the Baymont and commented that they, too, were disappointed with the hotel and had expected more. When they checked in, they also experienced someone standing outside one of the rear entrances smoking something other than cigarettes.

But the real kick in the teeth came Saturday night. The kids had waited all day to swim with their dad. When we checked in - advising two adults and two kids - we were told the pool was open 24 hours. So when the event ran over and we got back to the hotel later than we wanted to, it was about 10PM til we made it to the pool. Everyone who had been at the pool were leaving or already gone - the last dozen or so heading to their cars in the parking lot. As my husband neared the entrance to the pool area, Sally at the front desk snapped that kids are not allowed in the pool after 10PM. Not being one to put up with such rude behavior, my husband ignored her. There was no one else in the pool area and the kids were quiet. About five minutes later, Sally comes in to the pool area and starts yelling at my kids to get out of the pool and yelling at my husband. He was very polite and reasonable in his argument that we were told it was open 24 hours with no stipulations or exceptions, and that the kids have waited all day to swim with him, they are being quiet, etc. She continued to speak to him in an unprofessional manner and my husband asked for the manager. There are no managers on duty during the weekends! He finally advised her that he would be calling the manager, corporate, Wyndham Rewards and writing a review on Trip Advisor - and all of a sudden, my husband became "Sir." As in "It's hotel policy, SIR."

When she finally left the pool area, another guest was waiting at the front desk. Sally walked away from the pool area shaking her head and then started yelling and gesturing wildly at the man at the front desk. This is not at all what I would consider professional behavior nor good customer service.

We ended up speaking to another family staying at the hotel who had a similar experience with Sally AND witnessed her rude behavior towards others during the course of their stay. In their case, they were told by the clerk at check-in the kids could stay in the pool as long as they were quiet. They were in the pool until midnight on Friday.

Upon return to our room, I re-read the "Conduct" rules and still found nothing regarding the no kids after 10 PM that Sally says is "hotel policy." I then noticed another laminated sheet of typed paper titled "room channel guide" and at the bottom of this page, mixed in with a couple other one line directives is the statement that kids under 18 are not permitted in the pool after 10 PM.

Had we known this rule ahead of time, there would not have been a problem. Had this rule been printed in a prominant location, there would not have been a problem. It was only because I was looking for the rule that I found it at all - who the heck reads the channel guide? The "conduct" rules indicated we should follow the rules posted in the pool area - but some of the rules in the pool area contradicted rules in the "conduct" rules. Considering our experiences and conversations, I would say that rules in this establishment are arbitrary. If they are not meant to be arbitrary, then perhaps management is inept.

At this point, it is difficult to say whether we would consider this place for our next trip. If I pretend the incident with Sally didn't happen, yes, we probably would if the kids were along. However, the incident pretty much ruined an otherwise fabulous day in the Monroe area. When I couple that with the obvious management issues, potential safety/security issues and potential noise issues...I think we'll just plan our trips with the kids for the summer time when we can stay at the Red Roof for a lower price and use the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrid96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Monroe
125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 8 in Monroe
280 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
15.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe

Address: 14774 Laplaisance Rd, Monroe, MI 48161-3824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range: $63 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Monroe
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe Hotel Monroe
Baymont Inn Monroe
Monroe Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing