We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Monroe's Original Hot Dog
Ranked #11 of 131 Restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hot dogs are awesome. Service is good and quick. They specialialize in hot dogs and chili dogs only, no fries, onion rings or hamburgers, a good old fashion drive in.This hot dog joint is truly a blast from the past!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CO2LE2TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maybee, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old School Fast Food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Best Coney Dogs in the area! This is a old fashioned drive in with curb service. The only food on the menu are hot dogs, root beer, and chips. The chili on the coneys is a bit on the sweet side and the dogs are always steaming hot. Root beer is served in a heavy glass mug and is always ice cold. This is my favorite fast lunch spot in Monroe. BTW, the hot dog stand has been here for about 73 years and it has been known as Monroe's Original Hot Dog for over 40 years. Oh, and if you like them on Facebook, they are always posting specials just for their Facebook fans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGRountree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
“Best chilli dogs and home made root beer anywhere!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

While visiting Monroe my friends had told me that we had to try this hot dog stand. I can see why! These were the best chilli dogs i have ever eaten and the ice cold home made root beer in the frosted mug was amazing. They were so good that after we ate we ordered 8 to go and a half gallon of root beer. I would recommend to everyone who lives or visits Monroe to go to this place. Truly the Best anywhere!! and inexpensive too!! A great bargain!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zz123434705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place in monroe”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

great chili dogs, fries and service. we have been trying to eat locally to support local food venues. This is a must.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute place, great floats.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The chili dogs are ok....i would prefer if they had cheese. The rootbeer floats on the other hand are delicious! Quick service right to your car.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monroe's Original Hot Dog also viewed

 

Been to Monroe's Original Hot Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing