We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, but just missing something...”
Review of Hampton Inn Monroe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Monroe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean hotel, but just missing something...”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This stay was a last minute business trip for me, so rather than my usual hotel, I stayed at the Hampton Inn. Everything about the hotel is clean. From the parking lot to the hotel room.

However, its the little things that always irk me. The toilet flushes are scary; the wireless is slow; the pantry never seemed to be open, the vending machines only take 1 dollar bills and the walls are paper thin. I flew in late and ended up checking around 2am. The hotel was hard to find because you cannot see the small unlit hotel sign on the side of the road. My only other landmark was its next to the Red Lobster Restaurant...of course at 2am that sign is also unlit. I ended up driving past it the entrance, twice!

Like I said, its the little things....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igobytom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    75
    31
    15
    12
See reviews for
72
53
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

First, I'll say I agree with the person who commented on the "thin" floors. We could also hear the people above us walking, but it was not so loud or intrusive that we could not sleep. But with the comfort of the bed nothing could have disturbed us! The mattress was perfect, there were an abundance of pillows, and the blankets were plush and soft. It was a horribly hot day and when we got to the room the A/C was running and it was nice and cool. We had a standard room with a King bed and the the room was HUGE. The bathroom was also big. The flat screen tv, dressers, night stands, and everything else looked like they were very well taken care of, or new. The breakfast options in the morning were great. The front desk person wasn't overly friendly, but not un-friendly by any means. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iris981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We had a room on the second floor and you could hear the guests in the room above walking around. The floors are clearly very thin and this makes for a place to avoid if you want to sleep. We were disturbed by the noise above both late evening and early morning. Apart from this major drawback, the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneSavvyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I stayed at the Hampton in Monroe for the first time and was left with a very favorable impression of the hotel due to the outstanding customer service of Amy at the front desk. I had an issue with my HHonors points which Amy volunteered to straighten out for me. She was a very pleasant and helpful young lady who went beyond the call of duty to help a customer. I travel to Monroe frequently and I will stay there again. The rooms were clean and nice; I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Userrich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We traveled to Monroe for a funeral and my mother ended up in the hospital while we were there. The staff at this hotel was extremely kind, considerate and helpful during our unexpected extended stay. We could not have asked for nicer people! The hotel was clean and the breakfast was good, each morning there were different hot items to choose from. All in all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaspermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament this May. The staff were very accomodating to our group, especially considering we were a group of 17 families with 13 & 14 year old boys! The rooms were clean, large and nicely decorated. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice bonus and had a good selection. Great value for $81.00 per night!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sportymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

The stay was adequate. The room was small but usable. The beds were uncomfortable and seemed smaller than the queen size that they were supposed to be (I didn't measure them, though). The toilet was the noisiest toilet I've ever experienced, anywhere! The pool was tiny and had a grand total of 4 towels there when we used it. Breakfast was good and constantly replenished. Housekeeping staff were friendly. All in all, I'd stay there again since there doesn't seem to be a better alternative in Monroe. The uncomfortable beds would cause me to search for alternatives, though.

  • Liked — Breakfast was decent, replenished, and not crowded.
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_yac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Monroe
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
16.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Monroe

Property: Hampton Inn Monroe
Address: 1565 N Dixie Hwy, Monroe, MI 48162-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Monroe. Whether you are here for work, play or simply to get away from it all, this Monroe, Michigan hotel guarantees you a warm welcome.Our inviting Monroe, MI hotel offers a fantastic range of amenities to help make your stay comfortable and memorable. Start your day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and enjoy free tea and coffee throughout the day. If you’re in a hurry, grab a free Hampton On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Make the most of your leisure time with an energizing workout in the modern fitness center or enjoy a relaxing swim in the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Monroe Hotel Monroe
Monroe Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing