We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Travelers Dream Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #1 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Business Travelers Dream Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a true find for business travelers. My husband had a business trip to the nuclear plant in the area this past week. Searching online we found the usual options, "The Big Boxes". But this place offered something really unique, a studio home like option. Every picture we viewed online was a perfect match. This owner has it together in offering exactly what they say the have. A beautifully done historic rehabbed building with contemporary units. Very quiet and a type of clean you will find only at home. Had all the features a business traveler needed including breakfast and refreshments stocked daily. This hotel is located in Monroe's downtown. The area is showing a lot of improvements to historic rehabs including the park/river which is less than block from our front door. Plenty of bars and restaurant options within the 3 block radios. This was a refreshing change for a business travel option. The owner and manager should be very proud to offer such a nice option in this community!

Room Tip: We stayed in 302 however we did get a peak at a couple other rooms and those units looks comparable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
35
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last summer for just one night but we loved the property.It was very private and quite we never heard or seen any other guest.I love that it is close to resturants and shops.Its hard to tell from the exterior that it is even a hotel which makes for a nice stay without people coming and going all the time right outside of your room.We will be back,I cannot wait.Hopefully for more than one night next time.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room off of the ground floor so that your window is not directly on the street.But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Staying at Hotel Sterling was fantastic. It was a unique in the fact that it wasn’t staffed but everything went smoothly. Key code to get into bldg is sent via email. Envelope w/your room keys waiting for you on desk in entrance way.

I rated all areas as "excellent", but for sleep quality I knocked that down a notch b/c there was a room a couple doors down from us that had about 15 people in it, partying, singing, and blaring music until about 3am and since the place isnt staffed, theres no one to regulate.

The decor was modern.contemporary.clean. There was a microwave and frig. I LOVED that there was a basket of complimentary breakfast items along w/drinks in the frig. Most places charge you $5 for opening a water but not here. Its all included. There was fresh fruit, oatmeal, granola bars, cereal, milk, pop, juice....etc. Something for everyone.

Downtown Monroe isnt that big and this place is right downtown so everything is pretty much within walking distance, which was convenient. I took my BF here to surprise him for his 33rd b-day. We live in Toledo and saw this place featured on some TV show as a cool place to visit. We both had a great time and were very pleased overall. I have already recommended this place to family and friends. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you parallel park in front of hotel, you will be able to see your vehicle from room 302. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel was clean, beautiful, well maintained, and Debbie was extremely helpful! We loved this place and intend to stay there again. I would recommend this to everyone staying in Monroe, but make sure to call and set up your reservation a day or two early. They are a very small boutique hotel and keep limited staff which ultimately makes it extremely affordable. You won't regret staying here at all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayAndAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKees Rocks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I didn't want to stay in another "chain type" hotel, and I decided to try the Hotel Sterling .What a great decision. This hotel is a gem. Spacious, tastefully decorated down to small details, business traveller friendly, complimentary drinks and snacks. I wouldn't have been any more comfortable in my own home. Staying at The Sterling took the edge off of an untimely business trip just 2 days before the New Year.
My only regret is that I didn't get to meet the owners, and personally tell them what a great hotel they have. I am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I grew up in Monroe, MI so I was real curious to see this Hotel. It was just what I expected with all the wonderful reviews---FANTASTIC! We stayed in Room #204 "Avenue" which had a king-size bed and a seperate "step-down" "Living room" which had its own TV, and a large La-Z-Boy pullout sofa, very large table and 2 chairs, microwave, refrigerator (with beverages) and lots of breakfast foods. We got the "Downtown Night out Package" which included a $50 gift card at Monroe Street Grill (fabulous restaurant) and a $10 gift card at a local pub. That package was $155 plus tax. That was a "Deal" because the room rates without the Downtown Night Out Package;
Skyway Suite- $95.00 plus tax
Metropolitan/ Curbside Suites- $112.00 plus tax
Avenue Suite- $125.00 plus tax.

We will definitely stay there again. I didn't have time to take advantage of the SPA next door but their services were quite extensive and fairly-priced.

Room Tip: Not a lot of view being downtown but if you want to see some of downtown get a room on 2nd or 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndchildhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was so pleasantly pleased to pull up to the great little hotel in between Detroit and Toledo. Contemporary, clean, spacious and very private. The room I stayed in was absolutley the best hotel I've been in during my travels. It was so quite and peaceful that I could get a lot of work done as well as enjoy my down time. The ceilings were nice and high so that I didn't even feel like I was in a hotel, it felt like I was in a condo! Look online to see how new the rooms really are! I would also suggest eating right down the street at the Monroe Street Grill - so wonderful I ate there both nights and didn't even try any other restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are different floor plans but you cannot go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroe hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 9 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Property: Hotel Sterling
Address: 109 W Front St, Monroe, MI 48161-2338
Location: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Monroe's finest accommodations. Suites feature hardwood flooring, leather furniture, marble bath and bar with refrigerator/sink/microwave. Contemporary, first class finishes. Hotel located in Downtown within walking distance to variety of lounges and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing