We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not ever again stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Monroe
Gun Barrel City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will not ever again stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The room on first night was warm and no problems. 2nd night different room it was cold inside and heater did not work properly the manager (eric) refused to give me another room and was veru rude and telling me to just quit whinning and go back to my room then maintenance came put another heater in here and still does not work so truck drivers beware this is not a place we should patronize. In fact I will never stay at one of these again also the beds are worn out and stained

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank nitroinjected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    6
    4
    27
See reviews for
8
8
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What you're seeing is not dog poop, there are ferile/wild cats that live in the tall grass outside of the hotel, they are everywhere. We counted 21 different cats, there probably are more. We gave them three chances over the last two years and each time was worse than the last. The third time, we even called and told them we were coming in advance and all I wanted was a room with no issues, they gave us the worst room yet. Nothing worked, the toilet, electrical, TV, phone, etc. Got our money back after writing to management, and will never go back to America's Worst Value again. Absolutely horrible, and seeing they knew we were coming, they could have taken five minutes to look the room over before giving it to us. Went to get towels and had to wait in a long line of people complaining about how bad their rooms were. I'm not a critic or mean to anyone, very easy-going, that's why we gave them more than one chance and even called them before coming. Didn't want the moon, just a decent room. They made no attempt to care, not one bit. Only go here if you have no other alternative. In reading the other posts of different hotels in Monroe, the Quality Inn manager seems very pro-active to come on and reply to guest's stays, whether good or bad reviews, we will give them a shot this next time. With us, all it takes is a good experience, and we'll keep going back. We will try Quality Inn this next time.

Kind regards,

Tom

Room Tip: I took pictures of this place upon arrival in case they wanted to say I caused any damage, but you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monroe hotels

London, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had some business to do in Monroe and got a nice deal through their web site on a large Jacuzzi room. Front desk staff was very helpful recommending local places to eat. El Maguey is just down the road and offers incredible home cooked Mexican Food. Plenty of your typical USA chain joints as well are close by but I wanted no part of that action. My room pretty much matched the photos and there seemed to be a lot of outdoor type people staying there as there were plenty of boats in the parking lot.

Haters should ask themselves what exactly were you expecting for a hotel in this price range ? I did experience a small hiccup with billing but it was corrected later on by their head office. Finally let me just say they have this incredible retro neon sign on the lobby and I was a disappointed it wasn't turned on at night. Perhaps it was broken but it should be repaired if it was cause it's pretty cool

Room Tip: Be cautions you don't select a room that can't be cancelled if you can't make the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went to stay there for the night and ended up checking out 10 minutes later. There was dog poop all over the outside in front of the room, there was pubic hair in the jacuzzi tub, the room was gross in need of cleaning and in general disrepair (missing roof tiles, rattling air conditioner, etc). The room did not even come close to looking like the photo in my opinion. I will never go back there, atleast they refunded our money I will give them that.

Room Tip: If you are not in a pinch pay the little extra for a nicer room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 74Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

After a hot day of running we were grateful for good sized rooms, parking right outside, and comfortable beds. It was easy to find, and the service was friendly. The bathroom was clean and the shower was great. We were very happy to be able to watch the opening ceremony of the Olympics no problem, thanks a lot!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I would just like to say this is one if the better motels available in the Monroe, mI area. I stayed here for several weeks and was completely satisifed with the service and price. The rooms were always kept very clean and breakfast was always well stocked in the morning. There are several restaurants within walking distance and alot of others are just a short drive away. I would highly recommend this Americas best Value ti anyone and plan on visting this summer,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Not sure why the previous post was so unpleasant, we had a great stay and reasonably priced. We (as a family) highly recommend staying here.

This hotel was in a central location, made it easy to get to all my family and friends, it was right off the expressway - totally a plus. It was quiet at night with really comfortable mattresses; we really appreciated that after a long day of driving. Best part is they are right in the middle of a variety of restaurants. We got to eat somewhere different every morning for breakfast.

Now granted, for the reasonable price, the accommodations were not that of the Four Seasons but it did the trick, that's all we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for Jeanne, she was a great help when we crawled in after a long day of driving. She made it so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monroe hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Monroe
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 9 in Monroe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe
Address: 1885 Welcome Way, Monroe, MI 48162-9300
Location: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing