We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mugsy's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mugsy's
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Monroe
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Good Local Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Recommendation came from a local and they were spot on. Really good burgers and steaks. Done medium rare. Fries were fair, but the vegetables were perfect. Sweet potato soup was tremendous. Fair beer selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
330 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great pit stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the perfect pit stop for us on the way up to Detroit for my son's hockey games. Hits the spot. There is a pool table for the kids to play at. The burgers are excellent. Service very friendly. Its just what you'd want in a local sports bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canal fulton, ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friday fish special was scrumptuous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We dined on a Friday night (had no wait, as we were early). Good ambience and excellent food! The salad was fresh and good-sized and the fish was presented well and was very tasty. Even though it was fried, the "all-you-can-eat" cod was thick and sweet. No complaints here--we will return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiking4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Presentation = Weak, Food = great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

When we arrived, there was water all over the floor from a leaking HVAC duct -- we were told 'oh, that's normal'...? Half way through the meal we had to move the table to stop getting dripped on. So, that is why I say the presentation/preparation was weak and made me think the food was going to be equally bad.

BUT, i was wrong...the food was actually pretty great. Definitely try the chicken chunks or any of the nachos and I think you'll be happy. Definitely recommend the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beer and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The refreshments were clearly our draw. Both the great selection of beers and the excellent service made it worth the while!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twodomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugsy's also viewed

 

Been to Mugsy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing