We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed with hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White House Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mohawk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
DeKalb
1 review
“Very disappointed with hospitality”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were left without heat for quite sometime. We were never offered any compensation of any sort. My family has been going to this motel for many years & well before this management took over. I'm very disappointed how we were treated and not offered anything in return for our bad stay. They were very rude when discussing the issue. Myself nor my family or friends will return to this location. Its worth the extra drive to us to be treated respectful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bustsitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We must reply to this review, at 10:30 at night there was a major power cut in the Keweenaw due to a downed pole, all the guests who were staying here were offered a discount, one guest who had not booked in we telephoned to warn them that we had no power, they did not answer the phone, we waited for them to book in and told them they could try where power was still on, they said it was ok, the power did not return till mid-day the next day. Anyone who left without a discount will get 20% off their next stay (this was only 1 couple) the same as the people who stayed with us. We were not rude and never will be to our guests, this was something outside our control and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We only met Bob during our stay but he was very welcoming and friendly, we had a fantastic day exploring Keweenaw Peninsula based on Bob's excellent recommendations. The motel rooms offer superb value for money with amenities that you wouldn't expect for the price paid. Free wi-fi, cable TV, in room fridge and microwave, heating, hair dryer, even a bowl of sweets! Our room (deer themed) was a good size with 2 comfortable double beds and a full size bathroom. We highly recommend the White House Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are so pleased that having found us on TripAdvisor that we lived up to expectations, It was nice to hear a couple from the U.K. speaking with a familiar accent. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The White House Motel. We strive, to not only offer value for money but to also add the room items that a weary traveler may expect to find in more expensive Motels/Hotels. We are glad that our local tourism information knowledge guided you in the right direction whilst visiting the Keweenaw Peninsula. You will be assured of a warm welcome on a return visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
327 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sis and I were on a 2 day UP drive and chose the White House for our overnight. Wonderful spot on US 41, friendly owners, clean, nice sized rooms at a reasonable rate...what more could you ask for?! The coffee and fresh scones in the morning were a nice way to start the day. You can almost touch the stars up here...and I heard wolves howling in the wee hours; so cool!

Room Tip: We were in #9, but guessing all are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLWfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The White House, thank you for your kind comments that will be most helpful for future TripAdvisor clients visiting our beautiful area. We strive to provide home away from home accommodation at an affordable price. We hope to see you back here soon to further enjoy your experiences in the Keweenaw Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Oh where do I begin. There are so many nice touches that I will just list them.

Owners (only met Bob) very friendly

Nice size room as well as bathroom. Had an actual tub. Most Motels I have stayed in just have a shower only

Very Clean

Had a candy dish on the desk in the room filled with candy for guests to enjoy

Don't you hate when you go out to eat on vacation and bring food back to you room just to find out you don't have anything to eat with. No worries as they had silverware right in the room. I'm not talking plastic I am talking real silverware

Room had a fridge and Microwave

Very Clean

Very Cozy feel. I didn't want to leave the room

There was a guest book on the desk in the room where you can leave comments about your stay as well as read others who have stayed in that room

Lots of towels

Bob the owner actually brought us into the room and explained how the fridge worked (don't hit the light switch because it will turn it off type thing) Nice touch of good service

Beds were comfortable. Great nights sleep. No AC needed. Had the window opened and enjoyed the nice fresh air

No Musty odor

Very Clean

Theme room (we had the wolf room)

Never had a scone and I must say they were pretty good. And homemade to boot

They have the best smelling sheets. You can actually smell the clean. Sounds strange, but stay here and you will see what I am talking about

They had mats at the door to put your boots if traveling in the winter as well as gloves/mittens holders closer to the ground by the heater so they will dry

Had extra pillow and blankets

Didn't need a credit card when making the reservation. Bob just said "I trust you"? Huh never heard of such a thing living in the city

Very Clean

You get where I'm going with this right? Just all the touches were fantastic. I literally did not want to leave

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red70d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Cheri and I thank you so much for your thoughtfully kind comments on your stay with us here at the White House Motel, before purchasing this Motel we travelled extensively across the U.S. looking at a number of Motels to buy, we stayed in Motels for 2 months and with all our experiences we put all our ideas into creating a place you can call home here in the Keweenaw. Cleanliness and comfort were our main priority and we keep adding to make your stay one to remember and in your case we have done that. We thank you again for choosing the white House and we look forward to seeing you here again. Others will thank you for guiding them here through TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautifully themed quaint rooms. Convenient location. Owners friendly and keeps the cost very economical. Made us feel at home. Provides wipe down clothes for bikers. Close to two restaurants. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to make reservations ahead of intended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you Bob for you kind and positive comments here on TripAdvisor we work hard at trying to keep our costs down so that our accommodation can be affordable to most travelers in the U.P. with rising costs of Utilities it gets more difficult. We feel that here in such a beautiful part of the U.S. after a long days drive or a full day of exploring the Keweenaw, a clean, comfortable and affordable room is the perfect way to end the day. Thank you again for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brutus
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As others have said, you cannot beat the value for a good sized, very clean room in an excellent location for touring the area. And the hosts are amazing. We only spoke to Cheri on the phone as she was busy with her Mum while we were there, but we could have spent hours talking to Bob. This place is so friendly and laid back. We called to say we would arrive between 8:00 & 10:00 pm. But they had to step out during that time so they left a note on the office door directing us to our room and said we could ck in later with them when they returned.

The White House restaurant across the street has great food and a traditional country band every Sunday night to which we danced the night away. Food at Slims next door was good too. We had a SUPER time at this dying breed of a true mom and pop motel. We would not stay anywhere else if visiting the area.

We had room # 4 and as stated it was very spacious. It had a microwave, refrigerator and free wifi which were all very much appreciated. Only possible concern might be no air conditioning in heart of summer but we were there over Labor Day weekend and the fan was just fine. The bathroom, while small, has everything you need including a good hot shower with excellent water pressure. If you want a 5 start luxury hotel this is not the place for you, but if you want clean, comfortable, friendly, great value lodging, you cannot beat the White House!

Room Tip: Fishing Room # 4 was cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We thank you so much for your positive comments on our Motel, we are so pleased that your stay was enjoyable, we have heard on TV that themed rooms are not the way to go, like you our guests love them, our Motel is in the heart of a great sporting area of the U.S. so what better than our themed rooms, our thoughts on air conditioning is that we probably need it for about 10-12 days a year, if we install it we would need to increase the daily tariff, this is something we have been striding to avoid, making our rooms affordable on most budgets. Thanks again for staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Okay, I'm not excited about this place because this was the first bed we slept in after 4 nights on Isle Royale....oh no! The White House has to be one of the best values on the Keweenaw peninsula when it comes to hotels. Bob and his wife are the perfect hosts of this 10-room motel. It's truly mom-and-pop because not only are they the owners but the only two employees! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Each have some sort of theme to add a bit of eclectic spice to the place. Our room was #10, the Portugal Room! While there is no free breakfast, Bob cooks up coffee and fresh scones for guests everyday by 8:30. Spend some time sitting out front on a porch swing in front of a fire pit. If you're a bit sporty, grab the cooler and pitch some horseshoes with your friends. The White House Restaurant is right across the highway (no business relationship with this Motel). Book in advance because this place has guests who keep coming back. And by the way...this motel has NO off-season. Snowmobilers and hunters book in advance when the leaves turn brown and fall and get covered with snow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Cheri and I thank you for your comments and are pleased that we were able to offer you a comfortable bed and a place to stay after your trip to Isle Royale, it is so rewarding for us as Motel owners that you and other take time to write on TripAdvisor about your stay, thus making decisions easier for future travelers to this area. thanks again and we hope to see you again soon in the Keweenaw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohawk
6.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
16.2 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
16.0 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Motel

Property: White House Motel
Address: 3606 US Highway 41, Mohawk, MI 49950-9601
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mohawk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are owner operators of this 10 room motel adjacent to US 41, plenty of parking and trailer parking in the winter, showers and tubs in all rooms together with self controlled heating, hair dryers, fridges and microwaves and Free WiFi. There is a Bar and Restaurant opposite with food from 4pm - 9pm and a cafe next door for breakfast, we serve free coffee and home made scones in the office each morning. Our Motel has 10 themed rooms and all are non smoking. The White House Motel is your Home-away-from home in the beautiful Keweenaw. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing