We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big heart in modest circumstances”
Review of White House Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mohawk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We used it as lodging while skiing Mount Bohemia. It seems a typical little, tired motel at the end of the world but inside the room, you see big heart in small details, like decorations making it less impersonal. The rate is very reasonable, the rooms are good size, have a desk, a fridge, and a microwave. The Internet wasn't working the first night when we arrived late but after the reset next morning, it was fast and problem-free.
The owners are great - friendly, warm, easy-going (key in the door waiting for us, without even a CC deposit), with stories to tell. I will certainly come back while visiting the great Mt. Bohemia again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for White House Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stays in to rooms here over the weekend. Rooms are clean and very close to trail 3! Ample parking and free wifi in room. We did smell weed in the hallway but it didn't really bother us. I would recommend this place for easy access to the trial but not much to do in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWAFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review, wish you had informed us about the weed smell, we do not tollerate drugs of any kind at the White House Motel. Thanks once again for staying with us at the White House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were four generations, staying in three rooms. VERY clean rooms, nice little touches such as candies in a dish. The only drawback was no cell service and no phones in the rooms, but otherwise it was perfect for our needs, and a great location for all the places we wanted to go. Hearty breakfast next door, too! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieCaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here many times. It never gets old. Each room is individually decorated with some kind of theme. This year out room was "moose". A personal touch makes every room cozy. Treat yourself to homemade scones and coffee each morning. The gracious hosts will do anything to make you happy and comfortable. Definitely the only place I will stay in the Keweenaw!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The White House Motel was a very nice place to stay. Good sized room with a refrigerator and very clean. The coffee with homemade scones were wonderful. The owners were friendly and the room was reasonably priced. We would stay there any time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen43031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped here while in copper country and so glad we did. The room was absolutely spotless. My wife enjoyed the decor (each room has its own theme.) And the folks that run it are super friendly and helpful. It doesn't even have the annoying quirks that so many older motels have. I heartily recommend to anybody traveling the western U.P. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: You can look at their website at the unique rooms and pick the one you want if you make a reservatio...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was a great small motel. Very clean property quiet and wonderful owners. Rooms were not overly large but were very comfortable. Price was great. The only drawback was that there is no cell service available and the hotel does not have phones in the room. Owners apologized about cell service and said we could use their phone any time we wanted.
Four of us had 2 rooms and stayed for 2 days. Great restaurant next door and across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohawk
6.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
16.4 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
37 reviews
16.2 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
16.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Motel

Address: 3606 US Highway 41, Mohawk, MI 49950-9601
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mohawk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Price Range: $53 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are owner operators of this 10 room motel adjacent to US 41, plenty of parking and trailer parking in the winter, showers and tubs in all rooms together with self controlled heating, hair dryers, fridges and microwaves and Free WiFi. There is a Bar and Restaurant opposite with food from 4pm - 9pm and a cafe next door for breakfast, we serve free coffee and home made scones in the office each morning. Our Motel has 10 themed rooms and all are non smoking. The White House Motel is your Home-away-from home in the beautiful Keweenaw. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing