We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Fashioned Fare”
Review of Slim's Cafe

Slim's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Mohawk
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
LAS VEGAS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Fare”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing stellar, but decent food. We had lunch in this very casual cafe; staff was very nice, food was served fairly quickly, coffee was GREAT. I would not fear stopping here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaneenP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Homemade bread, great coffee, great service, reasonable prices. What more could you want? This was the kind of breakfast that will keep you going till a late lunch. Friendly folks, great bakery to take on the road as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RosieCaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small town value!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Slim's is a great place to enjoy all the breakfast food you remember from growing up. Good coffee and good value for your money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LCMey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
“Two visits, two long waits for average food.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've visited Slim's twice in the past year. I do not live nearby, so I stopped there while passing through the area. The first time, the restaurant was full with only one waitress working. The poor girl ran her behind off and it took over an hour to get a simple lunch (no fault to her). We stopped there again last night. There were 21 customers and again only one waitress. Same old story, same old song and dance. Waited 55 minutes for our food, which was over-over cooked and an example of what you get when the staff is short handed and the service rushed because of it. Our waitress, a young girl of about 16, was excellent. She kept apologizing for things that were obviously not her faulth. She was even running back and forth at times trying to keep up. We were disappointed with our food and our wait. We left the waitress a 30% tip, because she did her best. I hope the owner of this restaurant reads this because they need to put on more help, especially at the busy times like the dinner hour on a Saturday when we were there. WE WILL NOT BE STOPPING BY SLIM'S CAFE ON OUR NEXT TRIP THROUGH.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It's hard to find a really good breakfast joint. Slim's is a fairly good choice. The pancakes are huge and tasty. The oatmeal is more like paste. The biscuits and gravy are greasy. We recommend you stick to the pancakes. I've heard the eggs are good, but I'm allergic to them, so I can't speak from experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank julwisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slim's Cafe also viewed

Mohawk, Upper Peninsula
Eagle River, Upper Peninsula
 
Eagle Harbor, Upper Peninsula
Calumet, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Slim's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing