We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great service”
Review of Obrien's Restaurant - CLOSED

Obrien's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
“Amazing food, great service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I heard about this from a nearby tubing company. We spent the day tubing down the Au Sable river and wanted to go out for dinner. From the moment we sat down to the moment we left, we were amazed at how friendly the service was and how fresh the food tasted. We got there right when they opened for the night so the bread was fresh out of the oven. the homemade butter to go with it as the best I've ever had. I would definitely go here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Experience - Charming, Warm, Hospitable”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Song Bird Inn O'Briens is a hidden rare gem. I and my companions experienced one of the most delightful dining experiences in a very very long time. The service was warm, friendly and generous. The food was remarkably delicious...completely unexpected... from the homemade breads to the pre-dinner yummies of sweet and spicy pickles, coleslaw and homemade applesauce to our main entries. You will not be sorry to stop and take in a meal... well worth your time and money! Thanks ladies for the complimentary Key Lime Pie...a must have in the future...the house recipe was undescribably heavenly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Quite place and the breakfest is the best. We eat there often when we go up north. Smakk and easy to find.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melanie48111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plan ahead and make a reservation--you'll be glad you did!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I have a cabin in McKinley and have been driving by O'Brien's for several years and never went there. We had read and heard good things about it so we finally made reservations for Saturday, June 30, 2012. Everything was exactly how previous reviewers have described, including the warm and friendly service, the delicious entree specials and the romantic and cozy covered outdoor seating area. Even though we weren't celebrating any particular occasion or anything, the whole evening just felt "special". This is no ordinary dining experience, and we would be proud and pleased to bring any friends or family there, especially the ones with highly discriminating tastes! Who knew such a gem could be found in Mio, Michigan?! Our only suggestion for improvement might be for them to include some offerings from local (Rose City) wineries on their somewhat standard wine list. That would make it a truly special and memorable experience for anyone. It's really too bad that the owners want to sell the place and get out of the business...they are gifted and knowledgeable about running a successful restaurant. You've got to treat yourself to this place...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mio, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and Delicious”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This adorable little restaurant is a diamond in the rough! The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the food is just delicious! My favorite part is the bread basket and the relish tray brought to each table, it reminds me of being at grandmas house! Love it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyPanda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing