We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The H Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Midland)(Great Value!)
$76
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Midland(Midland)
$249
$199
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Midland(Midland)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveler rating
1,121
179
45
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,121
179
45
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe zincbeautiful hotelfarmers marketdowntown midlandoxygen barrail trailtable restaurantpere marquettedow gardensfitness centerwould highly recommend this hotelbusiness tripexcellent stayhotel staffweddingdolceamenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,260 - 1,265 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The H was one of the best overall mini vacation experiences my wife and I have had in our 26 years of marriage. We have traveled around the US and Europe and stayed in many nice places and eaten in some exceptional restaurants and the H ranks near the top in our overall best experiences. Very well appointed, everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. You could tell they wanted to be there and their pride showed. The food at both restaurants was incredible. This is a

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your nice review and making the trip from Okemos. We are very proud of our associates and the service they provide. They are what make the H so special. Congrats on 26 years of marriage. Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel with excellent staff services. The location was ideal with the Tridge Park on one side and the Main St of a quaint downtown area. The only regret I had was not enough time to be able to explore the town area. My nieces and I traveled to town for a special Girl Scout event. The reservation made over a month ago separated our group to two floors, but the gentleman manning the desk assured us that they would find a solution and did keep to the original plan of adjoining rooms. There is a wonderful workout room with pool/whirl pool staffed 24 hours. Saturday morning the farmer's market is held in Tridge Park directly behind the hotel. A delightful weekend. Looking forward to returning soon, to see the areas I missed this time.

Room Tip: Renovation is still in progress, so check on room location in relation to the work. We were on the second floor...good location.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be accommodating. Hope you can return soon to enjoy many of the local amenities that we are glad to be so close to here in downtown Midland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Was a initially a little concerned about some of the reviews, however found our stay to flawless. While the hotel is dated in some areas/rooms, renovations are occurring, and while we were in an older room, all furnishings/facilities were in good repair and fully functional. The room was spotless. All staff from check-in, to valet, to housekeeping, to cafe servers were exceptionally friendly, helpful, smiling, and courteous. Felt as if all employees were fully invested in our comfort. Very nice experience, will definitely stay here again while in Midland. Breakfast in cafe was very good, wife/son enjoyed fitness area, finding it to be clean, large, with many machines/free weights and variety of equipment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LansingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. Please visit again. As you mentioned, we look forward to featuring all new guestrooms in early 2013. And really cool televisions too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I live in MI and decided to explore a few cities we had never been before. Midland as our first stop was an adorable little town and the parks are lovely but this hotel was not what we expected for $220 for one night. I would place it on a par with a Holiday Inn I think. Our room was 518. It was clean but it was a joined room and we could hear all of our neighbors noise, plus all of the noise in the hallway the entire night. The doors close heavily of their own volition so there was a lot of sporadic door slamming to startle us out of our slumber as well. The shower had little to no pressure and was much like standing in a light rain. The mattress and pillows were not very comfortable and we both awoke with a stiff back & neck (we are both 30 and have no chronic back issues). Anyway the staff was nice and it was an okay stay but we travel a lot and this was definitely NOT a luxury hotel. It was just a hotel. Also our breakfast at the Cafe Zinc (delicious) was to be included in our room price but I was charged after all. Was able to straighten it out in one phone call but if I was not one to check out my bills I never would have noticed.

Room Tip: I read that they are remodeling so some of our concerns may be addressed shortly but I think the view from the front of the hotel out over the park and the Tridge is probably preferable (odd numbered rooms I think?) as opposed to our view of a roof and a courtyard (even numbered room).
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for the review and your helpful comments. We appreciate you letting us know about your concerns. This helps us understand areas we can improve upon. We are remodeling our rooms as you mentioned and we are updating the hallways and doors which will help with the sound levels from traffic in the hallways. We hope you visit again. Please ask about our options on pillows so we can find one perfect for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Located in Downtown Midland, this upscale Hotel was in a perfect location to enjoy all sorts of things. There are quaint shops downtown, the lovely Tridge park, fall festivals all within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is bright and shiney, with the friendly staff that are most helpful and make your check in and check out a wonderful delight. We didn't eat in the restaurants that are attached to the hotel, but I did hear wonderful things about the food that is served. It was our first time staying here, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the bathroom sparkled. the bed gets an A++ for sleeping comfort. There is parking below the hotel and is free to guests. Take Ashman which is a one way right across Main St. and Park below. Parking is brightly lighted. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIRockHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for visiting the H and your nice review. We hope to see you again. Definitely check out Café Zinc or the Table for a meal (or two)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews