We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Buffet

Golden Buffet
Ranked #107 of 141 Restaurants in Midland
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I know it is not as authentic, but I liked the variety you can get here. Some of the dishes are good, such as fish fry and sweet meatballs. Do not go there in late evenings as typical buffet food gets stale after a while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for chinese buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great place for chinese buffet. They have many selection of food. Snow crab legs, frog legs, delicious sesame chicken, lots of shrimps. Any thing you can find at a chinese buffet. Great price and good service. I would recommand any chinese food lovers to come here.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aznsirver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best "Chinese buffet" in Midland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

OK, first understand that we are talking about a Chinese buffet restaurant and not a higher-end a' la cart Chinese restaurant like you would find in a major city at a much higher price point. This, and all the other Midland Chinese buffets, are catering to a much different patron than that.

What you get at Golden Buffet is good tasting Americanized Chinese food and other foods at a very good price...a bargain, really and you are waited on by a VERY efficient wait staff that is concentrating on doing a great job of bussing tables and is not trying to schmooze the customers.

For about $6 (lunch) you get a very wide variety of Americanized Chinese food including a very serviceable hot and sour soup (not over-vinegarized like at most of the other Midland places), and all staples competently prepared. And then there is my mixed-heritage favorite, the jalapeno chicken which is just great; wonderfully spicy and tender. The spicy stir fried string beans are very good.

Their breaded fish is a favorite with many and is at least as good as anything you will find at a Long John Silver. The poached salmon filet that they have every day is not Chinese, but boy, is it good. Served on a buffet, but never over-cooked, and always delicious, which is amazing.

On top of that, you get a made-to-order Mongolian BBQ option, at no extra cost, although the sauce slection is not huge or great. They also have two excellent (and I mean excellent) cole slaw salads as well as adequate California rolls.

The desert options range from fresh and canned fruit to OK institutional cakes and edible soft-serve. If you were paying $30, you might have some reason to gripe about the desert offerings, but at $6-$10, this is a screaming bargain, folks.

They also offer carryout at $3.25/lb. which I have often bought when in a hurry and never been disappointed.

Now somebody left a review full of hear-say nonsense about rodents dead and alive. They did not see any such thing, they just heard about it. This is nothing more than an attempt at character assasination of a good restaurant owned and run by folks who are trying to give their customers good food at a very good price and I think it stinks. I have eaten at this restaurant some 100 times and I have never seen or heard of such a thing.

I say agian, this is the best Americanized Chinese buffet in Midland for food taste and variety. Pi's cannot compare on either count (I refuse to go there anymore, it has so regularly disappointed), China Palace has a spicier, and good, but much smaller assortment and they don't keep their trays full very well, in my opinion, Bamboo Garden was better than any other place when Mrs. Chow was still alive and owned it, but now they have a tiny selection that, while pretty good, can hardly be called a buffet (and half the time if you try to order anything other than the standards off the menu, they don't have it - been there, done that, several times). I forget the name of the place at Stadium Plaza, but it's problem is that while it has a wide variety, it is just a bit too Americanized and the food quality is a notch below Golden Buffet.

(When Korea House was still open, it was the best authentic oriental restaurant, by far, in Midland, but they closed, tragically, years ago. Midlanders did not know a good thing when they had it and failed to support it. It is sorely missed by many.)

No, as of now, Golden Buffet, is the best Americanized Chinese buffet of all the buffets in Midland, without question.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank nopcbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

There are a lot of choices which we like. The food was prepared fine. Some dishes we like: a meatball dish with a tasty broth, fried fish fillet, and the mangolian BBQ... They also have crab legs with dinner buffet which is a great bonus since I love seafood. Sometimes the crab legs were not the freshest, but OK.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaleChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do you enjoy rats?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

They have found rats in the kitchen, and dining room. Dead and alive. My friend saw a healthy mouse scurrying through the dining area. I've also heard stories about how there was apparently a big dead rat in the dining area one day at lunch time. My high school is right next to it, so we have a chance to eat there a lot.
I would recommend not eating there, unless you don't believe me, or really don't care.
As for price-it's a pretty good deal. Take out has a better deal since they charge you by the weight. I can get a full course meal for $5. Sometimes not even that.

Helpful?
2 Thank xKissingFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Golden Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing