We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tridge

The Tridge
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,278 reviews
492 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,377 helpful votes
“Unique...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have visited the park and the adjoining Tridge on many occasions. We attempted to picnic here on a week day evening recently, but it was really busy, so we just walked around a bit, then headed to another nearby park. There is a boat launch located near the base of the bridge (not sure you can still rent canoes), along with many picnic tables, and benches. A concert takes place here every week, on a spacious, grassy lawn area.

Crossing The Tridge (3 legged bridge) takes you to a large sport field, playground and more picnic grounds. If you go left, a dirt path takes you along the river. It is unique and it is the only one I have ever seen. Very popular to the area, located right behind downtown Midland and within walking distance of other contiguous parks, the farmer's market and the Rail Trail. Large parking area, trash cans, bathrooms.

The river is very low this year, and always looks dirty. I don't believe it is polluted at this point in the river (its above Dow Chemical) that much, though it looks it. There are a lot of snags in the river, in case you would like to canoe it, and it is shallow. It still is a pretty area and locals are proud of it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    55
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique vistas and surrounding activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The tridge is a bridge crossing the junction of two rivers, so has three legs, not two. It's located just south of the center of Midland. In addition to a "unique place to visit", it also has a nearby splash park and connects to a picnic area and a skateboarding park

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“OK for the View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Tridge is just a brown bridge in downtown Midland. There are 3 sides to it, hence the name. The flowers look nice and it is lit at night. There is a farmers market on Saturday and Wednesday mornings. Also a boat launch. The water is quite yuk and looks polluted. It is a thick brown color, and not recommended for swimming. The area nearby has a spray pool for little kids to cool off and a walking trail. Lots of dogs at times and families welcome. There is also a Thursday nite concert series free to the public.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sassytoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Tridge, a Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is an amazing site to behold, the genius of it all is remarkable. I had been before but took a friend to see it this time and we both enjoyed it and it was a pleasure to walk on the Tridge and walk in the park and just sit a spell.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,301 reviews
643 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 739 helpful votes
“Loved the Tridge, park, splash area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Midland has a wonderful park in town, we'd never seen a Tridge and it really special to see it from each side, on top and underneath. The open spaces around it are lovely. So happy our friends took us to see it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tridge also viewed

 

Been to The Tridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing