We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefining the Holiday Inn brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midland
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Redefining the Holiday Inn brand”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you haven't stayed in a regular Holiday Inn in a while (like me), your mental picture of Holiday Inn may be one of once reasonably nice middle-of-the road properties that have become very tired and dated over the years, and as such a hotel chain to largely avoid. If the The Midland, MI Holiday Inn is representative of the "new" Holiday Inn, my impression has completely changed. First, the property is very attractive, from the exterior to the public areas to the guest rooms. My room was spacious, modern, comfortable, clean, and well-decorated. The hotel restaurant doubles as a huge, upscale-looking sports bar with a good menu and ample selection of beers and other beverages. Staff at both the front desk and restaurant were personable and helpful. Even the housekeeping staff was remarkably friendly and efficient, going out of their way to cheerfully greet guests they encountered. My only complaint was the very steep price for one night, no doubt a function of strong demand due to a nearby youth soccer tournament that weekend. Seemed like gouging despite the otherwise nice experience. The location near the mall and other businesses was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparcouvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    71
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
37
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We come here every year and have the Grandkids overnight. We love the kids eat free if 12 or under. We also enjoy the E restaurant adjoining so always eat poolside, which is nice and easy and no one has to change clothes. Josie is our favorite waitress! The pool is fairly small, but in the shape of Michigan and they enjoy it a lot. the hot tub is both indoors and outdoors. The beds are nice and the comforter is cozy. the staff is friendly and that includes everyone. if you meet the cleaning staff in the hall they smile and wish you a great day. the check in staff noticed and commented about my granddaughter's new dress outfit and it made her day. there is no breakfast, but apples or oranges available in a basket and free coffee in the lobby. the prices are not cheap. we paid 135 total. it helps that the kids get free meals, which saved us about $20.00. my only complaint is how noisy (and I admit my grandkids contributed to it) the area around the pool can get. there is an adult time in late evening when kids are not allowed to swim so the adults can do so in peace. also, the air in the pool room was very cold compared to our past experiences. It's usually like a sauna in there and we were cold when getting out of the pool trying to eat. If you have kids, this is our place of choice for Midland. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emptywallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We really liked the pool area in this hotel with adjoining sports bar. The rooms were nice and the beds super comfortable. The bathroom was clean and appeared to be recently rennovated. It was also close to stores and walking distance to a walmart. No regrets at all, but we didnt exactly get a great rate, so we might go elsewhere next time for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotzasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had just spent the night before in another Holiday Inn (this one an express) in another town that I was very disappointed in, so wasn't sure what to expect. The staff was amazing, I ordered breakfast to go in the restaurant downstairs and they helped me carry it all up to my family in my room. The rooms were spotless, the décor was modern, clean and very nice. The beds were very comfortable. There is a game room for the kids, a nice indoor pool area with a heated pool and hot tub which is large, half indoors and half outdoors. The restaurant serves decent food at a fair price, very large portions. It was quiet and we were able to sleep well.

The only issue I had was my key to the room quit working, I went downstairs and had it reset, went back to my room and it still didn't work. The clerk at the desk was in training and didn't know that if the key fails twice it usually means you need to reset the lock. Instead she gave me a completely new key to the room, which still didn't work. My room was on the 4th floor, and the elevators are very slow, I went through all these trips up and down with a 4 year old in tow doing the potty dance. Finally another clerk came up with me and reset the lock, it worked after that. She explained to me the clerk was in training and didn't realize this. Otherwise, our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NcTarheelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midland, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
NcTarheelFan,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing us such kind words in your review. Our company strives themselves on providing every guest with the best possible experience to every guest from the minute the arrive in the parking lot to the minute they leave. I am glad that you enjoyed our room decor and cleanliness.

I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your room door. In the next managers meeting will be sure to bring that up as a training point during our front desk orientation. Again, we appreciate you being an IHG Rewards Club member and we hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I Stayed here on business for 2 weeks or so.

-Pro's-

All staff encountered in the 2 weeks were pleasant and flexible with changes.
Decent location for my business.
Pool and game room are nice for relaxing, mini gym is ok.
Clean and safe atmosphere.

-Cons-

Building designers forgot an elevator or two. There's only 1 on each end of the building making for trying to move quickly between floors a bit of a waiting game. Hotel staff at midday use the North end to move carts for cleaning further adding to the problem.
Internet speed. At best it was mediocre for what i expect. At worst it is .7 DL and 1.5 Up. So netflix etc doesn't work well.
This is a holiday inn and not an express so no free breakfast. Dealbreaker for me but i didn't reserve this stay.
This is a mini quirk that added just enough to annoy me about the room. You need to flip a lightswitch at the door to make the switches in the bathroom do anything (Fan, lights). Yea, weird.

Conclusion:

Its not an awful hotel but its not a stellar one either. For my own personal interests the internet speed and the elevator situation really offset the wonderful efforts of the staff and overall niceness of the hotel facility. So i come away from this place with an average rating and if i had the choice myself to reserve a hotel i'd give the Marriott across the street a shot.

Room Tip: Room on the North side will get you closer to the less used elevator and only set of stairs that goe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiveball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Midland, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Fiveball,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 2 week stay in Midland and for providing us with feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered on your stay with us. Our IT Director will be sure to look into the issues regarding internet speed to ensure that we do not encounter this problem in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, July 3-6, 2013, with wife and 6 and 8-year-old daughters. We travel to Midland once or twice a year. In the past, we would stay at The H Hotel downtown. It is a fine hotel and we especially like having breakfast at Zinc Cafe. Last year, The H Hotel was booked one night during our stay so we tried the new Holiday Inn (H.I.). I'm glad we did because this hotel is a better fit for for our family. The rooms are bigger. H.I. offers up to three queens sized beds in a room (see photo). H.I.'s rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, and there is a wide selection of high definition television channels, including the Disney Channel.

My girls like the indoor pool and the indoor/outdoor hot tub. There is a small game room, too. My wife and I like that the restaurant next door, Big E's Sports Bar, serves a full menu from breakfast through late night at the pool and has a remote control call button at each table by the pool. Big E's has its own seating, too, indoors and outdoors, and is a popular evening spot.

The service was efficient and friendly each time we stayed. The room was clean. If you ask at the front desk, they will give you "kids eat free" breakfast coupons.

The location is close to a plethora of stores and chain restaurants including Meijer, Wal-Mart, Target, Starbucks, Bennigan's, Ruby Tuesday, and Olive Garden. There is a newer cinema next door.

Room Tip: This hotel offers rooms with three queen-sized beds. Ask for kids eat free breakfast coupons from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JajaAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great hotel....large and clean rooms. This hotel is right in the heart of all the shopping and activities in Midland. Breakfast not included but the restaurant attached to the hotel had a GREAT breakfast buffet :-). Great pool area as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midland hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#3 of 11 in Midland
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Midland
3.1 mi away
The H Hotel
The H Hotel
#1 of 11 in Midland
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 11 in Midland
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Midland
Residence Inn Midland
#5 of 11 in Midland
96 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midland

Property: Holiday Inn Midland
Address: 810 Cinema Dr, Midland, MI 48642-7290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Midland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Midland
#4 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midland 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midland, Michigan s premier hotel, the brand new full service Holiday Inn of Midland is convenient to access off Eastman Ave. and US 10. If flying into the area, we offer complimentary shuttle service from MBS International Airport. Our Midland hotel features the 'new look' of Holiday Inn hotels.This Midland, MI hotel features a variety of room floor plans that includes in-room whirlpools and a family favorite: rooms with three queen beds. All rooms offer microwaves and refrigerators, as well as free wired/wireless HSIA. Kids of all ages will enjoy the over-sized indoor recreational area with a Michigan-shaped indoor pool, indoor/outdoor spa, game area, and a 24-hour fitness center. Pull up a chair and watch your favorite sporting events at our full service sports bar and grill. Enjoy a wide range of menu offerings seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, dinner and beyond. Have a special event? Our banquet facility is well-equipped to handle anything from the smallest to the largest of gatherings. Midland is home to: Dow Chemical, Dow Corning, MidMichigan Health, Northwood University, Consumers Energy and Quebecor World Pendell Inc. Enjoy shopping adjacent to the Holiday Inn Midland at the Midland Mall. Leisure venues include: Midland Center for the Arts, Hangtime Sports and Loons Baseball at the Dow Diamond. Visit our Holiday Inn Midland, MI the only Midland hotel offering Priority Club Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midland Hotel Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing