We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bread”

Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Menominee
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“bread”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We always stop here when visiting Menominee and walking the harbor area. Their bread is excellent. #25 for me please.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ben55124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tacos! Tacos! Tacos!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for the past 25 years (he's a local, so make that 35 for him). The tacos have maintained their extra-deliciousness over all that time. I'm not so crazy about the subs or ice cream, but my-oh-my those tacos are worth the trip! The hot sauce is amazingly spicy and tasty at the same time. I actually like to get the sauce on top just so it will make the hard shells all soggy; that's when you know you've reached maximum sauce penetration! We travel from Chicago about once a year to visit relatives, but I would seriously make the 5 hour trip just for the tacos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penguinjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hard-shell tacos and hot sauce!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great sandwiches and great tacos! Make sure to order the hot sauce on the side so the shells don't get soggy. Also, make sure you check your bag that your received the hot sauce-the place can get busy and on 2 different occasions they forgot to bag my sauce!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a must have if you are in Menominee”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The subs here are the best. We always get the big one and it feeds all five of us. Taco are great. Hand dip ice. Right across the street is the bay if you want to have picnic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FTMyersDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must stop for Ice Cream and Subs”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Locally we call this the "Sub Shop", eat in or take out, the prices are very reasonable. The list of subs to choose from, or concoct your own is LARGE, takes awhile to choose and they have a nice variety of other menu items, I highly recommend their tacos, very good. Many flavors of ice cream to choose from also. Across the street is the marina so it's nice in warm months to grab a cone and sandwich and sit in the park and watch people and the boats.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

Menominee, Upper Peninsula
Menominee, Upper Peninsula
 
Menominee, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing