We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Cuisine

Thai Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Menominee
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Thai!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you think a small town can't have good Thai food - think again. I lived in San Francisco and this Thai food is better than any place I tried out there. Excellent! The hot is hot! So take care when ordering!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank badgerfan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Friday fish fry.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a place we went all the time when I was a kid. Now that I have kids I like to take them for a fish fry when we're in town on a Friday. The food is service is very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RHK60859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Thai found where least expected”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This unassuming, and uncreatively named, bistro is quite nice. No need to worry about having all those garish Asain decorations found in most urban Thai restaurants, this place focuses solely on the food and does so with authenticity. I shared the fried mix appetizer and frankly don't know what was what, but it all tasted good, especially with the three provided dipping sauces. My entre was the hot garlic beef, which I asked to be served "Hot minus". Initally, I asked for hot, but was thankfully warned that Hot is REALLY Hot! That's typical of any Thai restaurant elsewhere in the country, but I'd incorrectly assumed that a Thai restaurant here in cheese-land might be tempered down a bit. No, they offer mouth-seering, eye-watering, zim-zimmy hot, Hot, HOT if that's what you're looking for! As it was, my hot-minus order was spot on - just enough of that tasty Thai pepper burn to force me through an entire carafe of water, but no residual burn after the meal was done.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KWRtheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai in the UP?! You Bet!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I never really ate Thai food before I ate from Thai Cuisine so they kind of set my palate. Since then I have eaten at many Thai restaurants, including what was purportedly “The Best” Thai place in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area; none of them are better than Thai Cuisine. Don’t expect cheap eats, but do expect to get what you pay for. Everything I have had from the place is excellent; especially the Devil dishes (try the Devil catfish, not to be missed). We always order an additional container of sticky-rice because we always have leftovers. Hard to believe that this place is in little ‘ole Menominee, MI. If you are thinking about eating in, don’t expect much! The décor is pretty marginal, but homey in a well-worn sort of way. Do, however, expect to get excellent, authentic Thai food as good as anything you will find in major metro areas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Where's the Thai?”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I practically fainted when I discovered there was a Thai restaurant in the Marinette area. I found myself daydreaming about finally finding some great food when we visit. Alas, it was only a dream. The service was very slow, and a little curt, but my priority is the food, so I waited and asked my waitress what she recommended. She assured me the owner was from Thailand and anything I ordered would be the best I ever had. So I ordered my usual when I first try a Thai place, seafood green curry and pad thai. I was informed that it was called pot thai, so that's what I got.

The meal took a LONG time to arrive, and I knew immediately that I was going to be disappointed. There was nothing distinctively Thai in either dish. The vegetables were big chunks of broccoli, carrot, some mushroom, and a few bamboo shoots. There were four shrimp and a couple pieces of clam, and the sauce was the color of beef bouillon. The POT thai amounted to rice noodles with what looked like chunky peanut butter on them.

So I tried the curry. It was very spicy, but other than that, it bared no resemblance to any Thai curry I've ever had. There was a hint of green curry flavor, but almost no coconut, or any other flavor for that matter. The few shrimp were over cooked. The rice was under cooked. The pot thai had no tamarind flavor at all. The portions were small, but what does that matter when the food isn't edible? I asked the waitress if there was a new cook or something, because the food was not good. She became very defensive and told me the owner was the cook. I told her I was from NY, and this was nothing like any Thai food I'd ever had. Her response was that the owner was from Thailand, so I just don't know what real Thai food was supposed to taste like. So, needless to say, I have no need to go back. It was also quite expensive, even if the food had been good.

If you really enjoy Thai food, don't bother going here. It's a waste of money and time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FATMAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cuisine also viewed

Menominee, Upper Peninsula
Menominee, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing