We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly with great views!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Lamoni, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly with great views!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Dunes is a super clean resort. I travel for a living and stay in Marriott and Hilton Hotels and This little hotel was cleaner than many of them. Carpet, walls, linens, windows---all clean and in great repair. From the inside our room looked like new construction. The owners were on site and very helpful and kind. We really wanted a lake view king but they didn't have one when we booked so she put us in a handicap queen on the first floor. Still had a great view of the sunset.

The photos on their website made it look like their beach was small and dingy and after the sand wall there is a drop off. I am including my own photos as this is not true. The beach was 50 steps from our sliding door, much closer than the web photos look. You just cross a driveway (not a road) and a few feet of green lawn. The sand is clean, had volleyball net and benches and swings. The wall is really just a continuation of a boardwalk around silver lake. And if you jump or step down off the wall you are only ankle deep in clear Silver Lake.

If you have to go to Silver Lake (which is not for everyone-think tons of kids activities, happy noisy families, not romance) then this is the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is such a great place to stay. Clearly everyone else knows that too as we were not able to book more nights. This is the cleanest place I have ever stayed. It is beautiful and friendly and quiet. Only downsides, no beach volleyball, restaurant with cocktails and carryout is only open until 10pm. Will definitely go back though. Loved being able to walk or ride bikes around. Bikes are available for cheap right at front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TooSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well, the website and photos look nice, so keep those happy thoughts with you when you get to the "resort". The parking lot was packed, and we didn't want to pay extra for the lake view, so we had a bottom room floor, the window being about a few steps away from the parking lot. So we get to the room and my daughter, who is a bug freak, has to do a bug check. That means pulling back the sheets, lifting the mattress up and seeing what is around. Between the mattress and box spring of one of the queen beds was a bug crawling around. Neat, we put it in one of the styrofoam cups they had. Then we look between the mattress and box spring of the second bed, and by golly, a smaller bug crawling around. Nice. All I can think is that, where there is one.... The two bugs did not look alike, and when we showed them to the front desk, they said they were ants. Hmmm, well, maybe one of them was, but the other one was not as harmless as an ant. The front desk offered to refund our money and called another nearby hotel to see if they had vacancies. They also offered to change the sheets. We decided to stay and have the sheets changed, as we didn't feel our other option would be any better. We made sure to store all our belongings in our vehicle. Didn't want to bring any "ants" home.

The beach by the hotel is pretty with the view of the nearby dunes, but it isn't a sandy type beach that leads into the water, there is a sea wall. The hotel can't really control the town it is in, but be prepared to see lots of jeeps and dune buggy's go by, apparently that is a huge thing there, riding the dunes. And one last thing, save yourself disappointment and drive out of town to eat out, although the local restaurant is providing my family with plenty of humor as we recount our meals there. Think Griswold type vacation here.

Room Tip: I would avoid bottom floor parking lot side, as the windows are headlight level and close to the lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SashaFinnVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel walls are thick so there is little noise between rooms. The resort is on the beach and right near all the family activities. The staff is wonderful. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms have been updated but the rest of the hotel could benefit from some updating. Was told by someone that has been going there for 20 years that he's stayed everywhere in Silver Lake and The Dunes Waterfront Resort is the best place to stay in Silver Lake. Would go back again. The sand is kept clean, the lake water is warm, the beach has picnic tables and swing sets for kids to play on. The beds were a little hard but the pillows were comfortable. The room had refrigerators which is great for convenience for us as we were traveling with small children.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly42201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Shores, MI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Found this hotel/area by accident on the internet. Very happy we found this place. Very clean hotel. We had lake views from the 3rd floor from our private balcony. This hotel is really geared towards family but we had a wonderful time too. The pool is inside which was fine because the deck next to it was outside and perfect for tanning. The views across the lake to the dunes is fabulous as is the beautiful nightly sunsets! Everything, restaurants and souvenir shopping, is within walking distance. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scsflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is my second visit to Silver Lake Sand Dunes and my first time at Dunes Waterfront Resort. Too me, this is the best spot when traveling with kids. My wife booked the room facing the dunes and on the street level. Directly across from where we stayed was the hotel grounds which had swing sets, picnic tables, benches, a long dock and of course sand. We walked or biked to everything in Mears. Our room was clean and had newer carpet. Staff was friendly. I gave the value an average rating, I think it is priced a little high. We are going to look at rent a cabin next time.

The pool on the top floor was nice, and the walk out faces the dunes.

My wife and I enjoyed the evenings watching the Sand Rails go in and out of the ORV park while my kids played.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is the best in town....not much to pick from though. The location is perfect and the 4th floor pool has a great view. We had a parking lot view but it was ok, would do lakeview next time. The dunes are a blast if you have a chance to go rent atv/quad/dune buggy and experience test hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
5.4 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
18.8 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
11.5 mi away
Days Inn Suites
Days Inn Suites
#2 of 11 in Pentwater
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Waterfront Resort

Property: Dunes Waterfront Resort
Address: 1180 N Shore Dr, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-9203
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Waterfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story hotel overlooking Silver Lake and the Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Located in the center of town and close to area restaurants and attractions. Only accommodations in Silver Lake that provide a fire alarm system and sprinkler system for your comfort and safety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dunes Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Waterfront Hotel Mears
Dunes Waterfront Resort Michigan/Mears

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing