We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all ages!”

Mac Wood's Dune Rides
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a 40 minute tour of the Silver Lake Sand Dunes. We have a vehicle that holds about 20 people that goes on a seven mile trail in the dunes. We stop at Lake Michigan or Silver Lake for a few minutes for pictures and to enjoy the view.
Muncie, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had such a great time. I wish we would have taken the camera, there are opportunities to take pictures...when the driver stops and elaborates on the history of the area. I can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 642SaraD642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    67
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN for EVERYONE!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was my first time taking a dune ride and boy did I feel like a little kid riding a roller coaster! The ride was great and our guide, Walter (awesome older man), was funny and very informative. The ride lasts about 40 minutes and you get a chance to hop off and take pictures overlooking Silver Lake. This is great for the whole family! There were people of all ages (toddlers to grandparents) riding in our car and EVERYONE had a blast! We went the day after the 4th of July and we only had to wait about 10-15 minutes.There are 9 cars that are coming and going, so you definitely don't have to wait long. There is also a gift shop for all your memorabilia needs! The cost was very reasonable (only $17 for an adult) and it is so worth it! Definitely a must-see attraction!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ride over the dunes!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was worried about riding over the dunes but this is a safe and fun ride. We really enjoyed it and enjoyed our driver Weasy! You learn some of the history of the area and get to see some beautiful views

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kool11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“For serious dune lovers!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My great-grandfather was a Mac Woods driver. My family has been taking this ride for five generations. If you love the dunes and beautiful views, this ride is for you.
My favorite part is the nostalgia that goes with this ride. Be sure to visit the small museum exhibiting the old dune scooters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The dune ride was fun, our trip guide, "Deb" did a fantastic job! We enjoyed the experience, it provided a better perspective of what the dunes are and how they were formed. Plus, it was just fun riding the dunes! Finally, the cost was reasonable. I would recommend this for everyone visiting the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lar1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac Wood's Dune Rides also viewed

 

Been to Mac Wood's Dune Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing