We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing stop”
Review of Whippy Dip

Whippy Dip
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Refreshing stop”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

After a ride on the dunes, we needed a little cold refreshment so we stopped at the Whippy Dip. The ice cream was yummy. They have a nice little seating area with picnic tables under a big tree. What a pleasant place to sit & eat an afternoon treat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sondra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice chilly treats.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stopped here afer riding with the Mack Woods dune cruise. Very tasty and delicious. Really hit the spot timing was perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Fun Treat!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My kids loved the ice cream here. They had a huge selection of ice cream flavors and creations. We even enjoyed the fried asparagus. It's also right next door to Mac Woods Dune Rides, so it's a great place to stop for a treat after your ride on the dunes!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sexie-Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hudson Valley
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We didn't have a good experience when we went to Whippy Dip for lunch and ice cream. We ordered pizza, hot dogs, chicken, fries and shakes. The chicken was pretty good but everything else was fair to poor. The store is staffed by 3-4 unsupervised high school kids that really don't care about the product you are paying for and the service they are providing.

I don't recommend eating lunch there, but suppose it might be worth a quick stop for ice cream after the Mac Wood tour which is right next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great ice cream!! The Carmel Apple Sundae is HUGE even for a small! But it was yummy to the last bite!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whippy Dip also viewed

 

Been to Whippy Dip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing