We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were so impressed with Sierra Sands Family Lodge, that we intend on returning next year for another family vacation. The management and staff were very welcoming and informative. The rooms were clean and well serviced by housekeeping. We enjoyed sitting around the bonfire at night roasting marshmallows. The playground was a nice feature for our grandchildren to run around and play. The pool was clean and the water was warm, the hot-tub was super after a long day of hiking the sand dunes. Every morning fresh coffee and pastries were served in the lobby.
We absolutely loved our stay!!!

Room Tip: We liked being on the 1st floor in the center. It made getting in and out with children much easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaysandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    44
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
250
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were so pleased with our stay at this hotel. We were greeted by a member of the management family who took a great deal of time to answer all our questions about what to do in the area and where to eat. He was tremendously helpful. The hotel is clean and well run and the location is terrific. Although we did not travel with children, I was impressed by all the activities in the area that would keep travelers of all ages happy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Silver Lake Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sierra Sands Lodge was Awesome! The staff were very friendly and very knowledgable about local activities and restaurants. The rooms were clean and I loved the idea of being able to sit around the fire pit at night and make smores with my family and friends. The hotel was close to everything and I loved the availability of bikes if we wanted to bike instead of drive to different locations. We had an awesome time and we're planning our return for 2014.

Room Tip: If your traveling with children, be sure to book the children's suite. Your children will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaW1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to fill out a review! It is great to know that you enjoyed the new fire pits. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoar, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I could not wait to write this review. We came here from Ohio on a referral from a friend and it was EXCELLENT! The lodge is run like a well oiled machine and is spotless. I tend to be OCD and I really appreciated all of the care they take to make the hotel so clean and tidy. We found it to be very quiet and easy to get to. Very close to the Silver Lake Dunes area and all of the family fun. Sean was a wonderful host and takes great care to see that all of his guests are happy. He guided us to restaurants and points of interest during our stay which we enjoyed very much. Highly recommend this hotel. We will return! Thank you Sean.

Room Tip: For larger rooms reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank You very much for the great review! Hope we get the chance to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Sierra Sands Family Lodge was wonderful. Our experience was first rate all the way from the time of the initial reservation through our departure. We were lucky enough to stay in the Kid's Suite. It was perfect! It even had a game system that was a big hit while the kids needed a little down time. The staff, grounds and rooms were all top notch. You can tell they pay a lot attention to details, and hotel guests needs are always met. We will definitely return for more summer fun in the coming years!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Love the title of your post! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Sierra Sands was a completely enjoyable experience for our family. The resort is clean and modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We will certainly stay here again when we return to the Silver Lake area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingbowrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay at the dunes and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We (4 families - 4 rooms) stayed only for one night at the Sierra Sands Family Lodge. The staff was very nice and friendly. They made our 48 hours at Silver Lake relaxing and gave great recommendations around town!!! Rooms were clean!! Thanks Sean for making our stay comfortable - if we pass through Silver Lake again we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for making a quick stop at Sierra Sands and glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
0.6 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
437 reviews
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Hart
10 reviews
10.5 mi away
Double JJ Resort
Double JJ Resort
#1 of 1 in Rothbury
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Property: Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Sierra Sands Family Lodge Michigan/Mears

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing