We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Dunes Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Napoleon, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Sand Dunes Trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our whole experience was absolutely AWFUL! The staff was rude, the room reaked of rag weed, the not quiet at all, they moved us to another room but the non-smoking room reaked of cigeratte smoke. They told us the pool was heated and it wasnt. Will never stay here again or reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We did apologize several times for the smell that was in your room. Unfortunately the prior guest spilled a half gallon of milk on the carpet and cleaned it themselves with out letting us know. We discovered the smell during turnover and had the carpet professionally cleaned. After the cleaning the smell dissipated and we felt the issue had been resolved, unfortunately we were wrong. We do however, feel that we were more than accommodating. We discounted your first nights stay because we had no vacancy and couldn't provide you a new room and offered two options for the second night of your stay; To stay in your existing room, and we would have the carpets cleaned professionally again and would discount the second night, or we could move you to an alternate room for the second night of your stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience and how it impacted your vacation.

Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    42
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
234
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I are accustomed to usually staying at larger, name brand resort-style hotels with amenities on site. This simple, two-story, exterior corridor hotel was a change, but not a disappointment. The rooms were very clean (and it suprised me to see two teenage? girls as the housekeeping staff. Kudos to them for attention to detail!) Our standard room wasn't exceptionally large, but it had everything we required. The hotel itself is in a relaxing location with no near neighboors. The pool is sufficiently large, and even though the property was booked solid when we were there, we almost always had it to ourselves. There is a small playground for the kids (all sand underneath, what else?), a small basketball area (1 hoop), a couple fire pits, and several grills and picnic tables. Firewood is plentiful and cheap nearby. The morning "breakfast" was extremely limited, mostly doughnut holes and more bite-size snacks. Juice boxes are .50.
The front desk staff are extremely gracious and helpful. Sean was always available to answer a need. Pam had some great ideas and specific tips about what to visit and where.

Here's a few TIPS about the area: MUST see Little Sable Lighthouse at sunset and let the kids climb the small dune there. I don't recommend the Sand Castle Restaurant--the food was marginal and overpriced, especially the perch. My sons each got 3 puny scraps of perch for $7.45 apiece, no sides, nothing else. It wasn't even a snack for these hungry boys. We took a kayak across Silver Lake, but it was an effort that took at least 35 mins. I'm not an athlete and my tween daughter didn't contribute much in the way of rowing, but it was nice to be able to pick a spot on the beach at the dunes and have your choice of hills because very few people came across the lake. The wind can pick up, too, and make the return trip a struggle after hiking up the dunes. Have fun!! Oh, rent a bike at Woodshed Bike Shop on 56th. The owners are friendly and you can hit the trail into the forest. Head north into Mears if you want to see any signs of civilization.

Room Tip: I liked the side not facing the lake area. It was quieter and no direct cookouts going on. The sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestmom51048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank You very much for your review, I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the housekeepers they do work hard and take lots of pride in what they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Sierra Sands was close to restrants; amusments and the dunes but far enough to be quiet.
A second floor room is perfered; less noise from above. Beds were very confortable. Pool was clean with many tables and chairs; also had a very nice fire pit to sit around in evening. A small breakfast of donuts and pastries were available in morning..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suecritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in the Silver Lake Sand Dunes area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent place to stay while at Silver Lake. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and updated. The hotel is walking distance to shopping, eating, and boat and dune buggy rentals. The breakfast buffet is fresh, clean and delicious. The only downside is if you have Verizon service there is virtually no signal throughout the entire area Silver Lake area. That is no way a knock on the hotel (obviously) but just something to expect if you plan to visit the area.

Room Tip: We would have stayed in a suite with 4 people but it was not available. The standard rooms are dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Sierra Sands last weekend and are certainly glad that we chose this place! I had two teenagers and a 6 year old and it was the perfect place. We were right next to Wild Bill's Quad Rentals and in short walking distance to the downtown. The pool was outside and really nice. The rooms were always clean...and that's hard with all of the sand! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank You for the review and glad you and your family had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Everything in the other reviews is 100% accurate. This is by far the cleanest, friendliest place ever. Sean, thanks again for another great stay. I just can't say enough about Sierra Sands. Just a perfect place. Will continue to be the only place in Silver Lake we will stay...or we just won't go! Enjoy your potatoes and thanks again!!

Room Tip: Any and all rooms are great. Immaculate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babydollkc721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
As always great to have you back again this year and the potato's were awesome! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This the first place we ever stayed at in the Silver Lake and Sand Dune area. It is probably the only place we ever will stay at in the future. We were there July 14-17. I'm not sure where to begin. First off, Sierra Sands is impeccable, from the rooms, property, owners, staff, pool, and every other aspect. We stayed in the family suite w/2 bedrooms, living area, full kitchen, dining area, and full bath with shower and tub. Could sleep 8 comfortably with 2 fold out sofas in living space. Large flat screen T.V. in living area w/smaller flat screens in each bedroom. The kitchen is so well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils that we had guessing games during our stay, to try and guess of something not there. We didn't come up with many. The suite was immaculate on arrival and stayed that way throughout the week, with the help of the hardworking, courteous housekeeping staff. The décor was tasteful and new, the room freshly painted and bright. Updated throughout. The landscaping and outdoors was kept up perfectly. Sean was one of the hardest working and friendliest innkeepers I've ever met. Always cheerful and ready to answer questions on the area. Beaches, golfing, restaurants, directions to anywhere and etc. etc. etc. The location was perfect. Near everything, but far enough for quiet. A small patio in front was perfect for coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. With the best landscaping to add to the privacy from the road. The out side staff for the grounds and the pool area were always cleaning, digging, planting, weeding behind the scenes. The pool and hot tub were crystal clear and refreshing. It was 90 degrees plus, everyday we were there, and we had a fabulous stay. Swimming, golfing, hiking, biking, horse back riding, dune rides, light house and much more, all within minutes. I want to thank Sean, his family, and his whole staff for an absolutely wonderful experience and family vacation. We will definitely be back. Sierra Sands is definitely NOT a cookie cutter motel/lodge. Dave P. and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethewave5851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
All I can say is Thanks! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
4.8 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
19.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
20.5 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Property: Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Sierra Sands Family Lodge Michigan/Mears

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing