We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet hotel - yet close to the action!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Sierra Dunes June 28, 2012. We were very pleasantly surprised to find it just on the edge of town, away from all the noise - but within easy walking distance of all the action.The grounds were nice and well-tended. There was a nice pool, though we did not use it as we arrived later in the evening. We liked the outdoor entrances. It sure beats dragging luggage down long hallways. Our room (a 2Q) was very clean and up to date with furnishings. The beds, though queen-size, were comfortable - which was a blessing, because we are used to our king-sized bed at home. It is very evident that the owners take the comfort and satisfaction of their guests very seriously. From my phone call to inquire about availability to checking in to departing, we were treated wonderfully. The staff was very friendly and professional. [*An added bonus for out stay was that we were able to take advantage of the last day of a special package promotion. With our room, we received 4 tickets to Mac Woods Dune Rides, 2 tickets to do 3 activities at Craig's Cruisers. and 4 coupons for a small soft-serve cone at the Whippy Dip. It made our stay a real bargain by the time we figured in the costs of those package items.] The next time we are in the Silver Lake area, we will surely stay at Sierra Sands. A+ to the owners and staff! We will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. If you prefer not to use the stairs, or are unable to use the stairs, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyingHisCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 349 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at Sierra Sands several times. The owners are very helpful and friendly. The motel is clean and well kept. Close to the dunes and Silver Lake. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited the sand dunes as a side trip while visiting colleges. We had an excellent stay here and would go back. You can see the pride in ownership the family has for their establishment. Everyone was friendly and I felt they cared about our stay at the hotel. We booked the jeep tour package and stayed one night. There was no vacancy however it never felt crowded and there was no noise at all. In fact after dinner we were the only ones in the pool & hot tub. Everything here was clean and well maintained. The microwave and mini fridge were convenient. The breakfast was simple (coffee cake, mini donuts, cheery nut bread and cheeses). The hotel is within walking distance of everything but is far enough off the main drag so it's quiet and more relaxing. The jeep tours depart right next door and I highly recommend you check that out too - loads of fun!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked 4 rooms for 3 nights during July 4th. We were there with friends with 5 kids under the age of 5. The amenities in the hotel and proximity to activities was really good. Unique murals in each room was a nice touch. Only thing i would ask for them to change is to extend the breakfast to 10:30 instead of 9:30AM. Loved their freshly baked breads. There were several families including us who were not able to make it by 9:30AM. It was very hot but the pool/spa were perfect way to spend the evenings. The sand dunes and the soft sand was hard to beat. Very nice experience indeed.

Dont miss the dune rides. we took the macwood's dune rides and all of us, especially kids, loved it.

Room Tip: We got the rooms away from the pool and on the second floor so there wasnt much traffic other than u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuPalako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for the great review and we will definitely look at our breakfast timing. We always love feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

There were 20 family members, in 4 units, in our annual reunion. This was our first visit to Sierra Sands - it won't be our last. The resort was fully booked but the staff were on top of everything and made us feel as though we were their only guests.The place is immaculate. There is nothing that we found fault with. Try it - we don't give a perfect rating lightly. Thank you Sean and Shannon you are doing an amazing job.

Room Tip: Families should try the unit where the children have their own bunk room. The 2 bedroom suite is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank You! We really enjoyed having your whole family here in Silver Lake and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our family weekend vacation to Silver Lake area was perfect because of the convenience and comforts of Sierra Sands Family Lodge. Our large group occupied 6 different rooms and all 13 adults & 10 children had only positive things to say after leaving. It's a quality place run by quality people. Thank you Sean, Shannon, and team.

Room Tip: Having a room close to the pool area / front was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdashmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for the great review and we hope that Silver Lake will become your destination of choice for the family get together. Thanks for posting the pictures they were great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our Texas family of three stayed at the Sierra Sands Family Lodge a couple of weeks ago. This family run business is a shining example of how a business should be run. From our last minute trip planning call to inquire about room availability, where they promised to call us back and they did, to how friendly they were when we checked in or had questions about the area -where to eat, go fishing etc., there's simply a sincere desire to provide friendly service. Heck, they even offered to let my 10 year old son use their fishing equipment.

During our stay the hotel was packed, but the hotel facilities (pool, playground, noise etc) nor the staff providing the the service seemed to suffer from the load -call it right sized and run right. The rooms are NOT clean, they are IMMACULATE. For that matter, the entire place is clean -rooms, pool, hot tub, playground, parking lot. They've even got a nice patio/seating area in from of the hotel -a great place to have your morning coffee while watching 3 beautiful American flags wave in the wind. I could go on and on, but hopefully you get the picture. The Sierra Sands does it right and comes with our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

All we can say is THANK YOU!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
0.6 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
10.6 mi away
Double JJ Resort
Double JJ Resort
#1 of 1 in Rothbury
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range: $59 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Sierra Sands Family Lodge Michigan/Mears

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing