We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont order the fish”

Open Hearth Grille & Bar
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rothbury
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“dont order the fish”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice atmosphere, staff pleasant, clean place. Don't order the fish, it had so many bones I couldn't even eat it. They didn't seem to care when told about it. The waitress just smiled and said "oh, IM sorry". not sure if that's how they would normally handle it or if it was just that waitress.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    51
    31
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Casual”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The food was very good and priced right. Service was spot on and, as busy as the restaurant was, our server was always there when we needed her. Dessert was ok. A good place to go in Mears.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigfatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nooksack, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Soggy Perch”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I ordered the perch fillets. They were breaded with corn bread, which I really like. However, they were quite soggy and greasy. My wife ordered the "Sizzler Steak". When she asked the server what the cut of meat was, the server didn't know. (Turned out to be a sirloin.) My wife likes her steak well done. It was cooked to that degree of finish, but was void of flavor. Good beer on tap, service was okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephJFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place in Mears”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Service was casual but food was very good and price was very good! Not many good places in Mears, however this place was definitely good and will be back for sure!! The atmosphere and decor is really nice! Desserts sounded great but we were so full from lunch that we missed out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
529 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“A definite improvement over years past”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We haven't been here in about six years. The cooking and service have definitely improved. And the prices are right. We had a very good dinner comprised of steak, salad, and nicely cooked veggies for less than $15.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Hearth Grille & Bar also viewed

 
Hart, Oceana County
 
Hart, Oceana County
Pentwater, Oceana County
 

Been to Open Hearth Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing