We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All time best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinn-Chinn

Chinn-Chinn
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Mattawan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All time best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Best Asian food ever! Every time we go I am always impressed with taste and quantities of food for the price! This is gourmet Asian food in generous portions tucked away in the tiny village of Mattawan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    24
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We seriously LOVE Chinn Chinn's. We've gone several times and yes, sometimes we have had long wait times but the food is always top notch and the wait staff is great as well. They accommodate families with children and always interact with our kids when we're there. It's our favorite restaurant in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venus1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow. So-o good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend. Had never heard of it. We live two hours from it. At 7:00 on a Saturday night we had to wait about half an hour, maybe forty-five minutes, to be seated.

I'm not sure which was better: the service or the food. Very personable and knowledgeable waiter - which helped with our dietary needs/wants. The decor is nothing to get excited about, but, really when we were enjoying our food we could not have cared.

We have already told another person, who does live in that area, to give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WantsAnUpgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“May Be Best Food Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

...and the service is wonderful.
Loved the Bean Curd and also the vegetable Medley. We started with fantastic spring rolls. Friends had the Kung Pao Beef and was thrilled.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MassimoLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“original concept, delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant is very popular and fills up quickly both at lunch and dinner, so my local colleagues were right to insist on getting there as soon as possible after the door opens.

You can order specials of the day or standard dishes such as those mentioned in other reviews, but I liked the simple yet original concept of picking a base (beef, chicken, pork, shrimp, or begetarian with or without tofu), a sauce (lots to choose from), a degree of spiciness on a scale from 1 to 10, and two sides (these include soup, rice, noodles, and fruit salad).

My sweet and sour soup, shrimp in hot (level 9) coconut curry sauce and cool sesame noodles were bursting with fresh flavours and subtle aromas. Crackers with sweet chilli sauce are served as appetizers and are complimentary, as is tea.

I'm told this restaurant used to be in downtown Kalamazoo and moved to Mattawan, where its fans continue to flock despite the distance, and I totally understand them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinn-Chinn also viewed

 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Chinn-Chinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing