We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, okay food”
Review of Tavern on McGillen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tavern on McGillen
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Mattawan
Cuisines: American
Description: New restaurant by the owners of The Craftsman Chophouse, East Egg, Mission Pointe. Add it so I can review it!
Restaurant details
Description: New restaurant by the owners of The Craftsman Chophouse, East Egg, Mission Pointe. Add it so I can review it!
1 review
“Nice setting, okay food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My family and I dined here Saturday May 10. Friendly fast service, reasonable prices, wonderful overlooking the Koi pond! The music was a bit loud and decor is sterile and bland. Nonetheless this is a very nice restaurant in Mattawan.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Olive, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our party of five enjoyed a variety of food. The sizzler was very good and the price was reasonable. The atmosphere is a little boring, but, overall, we had a good dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyB399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

A fun little place for good food and drinks with the family or with friends. The specials are creative and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and the cocktails are great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice place and great food”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Tonight was the Roast Pork Loin special for $11.99. It was excellent tasting and a very large portion that came with a choice of two sides.

The restaurant was attractive and the atmosphere was fine. It was pretty crowded and they ran out of menus (that should probably never happen, but they found us some in a couple minutes).

The waiter was fine as was the hostess.

I think my Manhattan was $4.95 which I thought was reasonable.

We will definitely dine there often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Place That Doesn't Know What It Is”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A beautiful building in a lovely setting, but step inside and wham. You are hit by nothing. The biggest statement in the place is a fake tree with Christmas lights. That tells me this place is going to be bad. And TV's. no, no, no, no. This should be fine dining...good dining, fun dining,but what is it? There was bad, bad music from another era also setting the mood.

It wasn't too bad. The staff was very charming and service was good. The food was fine. Menu could use some updating and some lighter, fresher, hipper choices.

The paint is so dreary (grandma's bedroom blue) and the whole place just looked neglected and not clean or loved, so we didn't love it. It could be romantic, hip and in if the music changed and the food was fresh and wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassimoLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on McGillen also viewed

Mattawan, Van Buren County
Mattawan, Van Buren County
 
Mattawan, Van Buren County
 

Been to Tavern on McGillen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing