We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Inn”
Review of National House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Marshall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed for one night in early November this year and had a wonderful stay in the Ketchum Suite. We arrived later in the evening (after dinner at Schuler's down the street) and were quickly and efficiently welcomed and shown to our room. As requested, a pack-n-play was waiting for our 1 year old daughter and although this is not the most modern pack-n-play out there (some assembly required) it was more than sufficient for the evening. The room was decorated (almost crowded) with interesting antiques (the 1830's cradle and antique steamer trunk were particularly interesting) and the main bathroom, although a bit cozy was very nice. Breakfast was wonderful and included fruit, a cherry breakfast tart, quiche, a waffle station, hard (maybe soft) boiled eggs and a variety of toast and cereals. The staff could not have been more welcoming to our daughter (she was treated like royalty, right up to the "antique" high chair at breakfast). Parents, please note that antique means no straps and breakfast would have been more challenging if she had been a little fidgety.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuckeyeFamily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for National House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2008

The National House Inn was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are all different and quite charming. The common areas are comfortable and cozy. From the woodburning fireplace in the "lobby" to the dining area and the outdoor garden area, everything was perfect. I loved the tea in the afternoon and the breakfast in the morning was good. Marshall is a lovely little town with quaint shops and beautiful architecture. I would recommend the National House Inn and Marshall for a long weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Happy_in_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

We and our relatives occupied five rooms at the inn recently while attending our daughter's graduation from a nearby college. We knew we would have find meticulously kept rooms in a great historic structure, as we have stayed there on other occasions while visiting our college student. The National House is a 1835 stagecoach stop restored in 1976. We have stayed in six of the inn's 16 rooms at various times and have always been happy with the historic character and comfort of the lodgings. The inn is decorated in Early American in the public areas, and the rooms are Early American, Victorian and country. The inn is in the middle of more than 100 other historic structures, mosly houses, in Marshall--walking the streets is like strolling through a living museum of residential architecture (and be sure to check out the Honolulu House). The house is set in a nice garden and faces a fountain in the town's central park. Barbara, the owner, is very welcoming and a real enthusiast about the inn and Marshall. Other staff members are also friendly and helpful. Staying there is a memorable experience. A gem.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2006

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at this wonderful little Inn in the centre of downtown Marshall. Barbara, the effusive hostess, welcomes you as if you are her personal houseguests. And it really feels like you are at home.
The rooms are all individually furnished in a traditional style, which may not suit the corporate hotel guest. We stayed in a suite the first time, with one double room, a sitting room (with sofa bed) two toilets and basins, and a separate shower. We would have liked a proper bath, but we were only there for two nights. When we were leaving, Barbara invited us to look in the other rooms (if the door is open, no guests are staying!) so we could choose something different next time! We had a wonderful time inspecting all the rooms on the 1st floor which were each unique. For our second stay (the one which is the subject of this review) we chose a double room on the 1st floor, on the corner with a claw foot tub - with views of the fountain. It was gorgeous!
Your room rate includes breakfasts, which Barbara personally supervises. Nothing is too much trouble for her. You can make your own waffles, and there are cereals, fruit and all sorts of goodies. If you come back to the Inn after a long day out, Barbara will make you a refreshing and reviving cup of tea. And in the evening, there is a bowl of freshly popped corn in the entrance hall - just waiting for you to dig in!!
If you want something different to the Holiday Inns of this world, stay at the National House Inn. Tell Barbara that the English couple (whose daughter lives in Marshall) sent you! You will be sure of a great welcome and a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zillion52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#1 of 3 in Marshall
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#5 of 19 in Battle Creek
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#3 of 19 in Battle Creek
302 reviews
11.7 mi away
McCamly Plaza Hotel
McCamly Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Battle Creek
269 reviews
10.6 mi away
Courtyard Battle Creek
Courtyard Battle Creek
#7 of 19 in Battle Creek
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National House Inn

Address: 102 S Parkview St, Marshall, MI 49068-1495
Location: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Marshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall
Price Range: $95 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy simple pleasures at The National House Inn. Read a book on the porch, warm by a crackling fire, relax with afternoon tea, enjoy the delicious breakfast, or treasure some "down" time in one of the parlors. We offer all the luxuries of today with the same gracious hospitality first enjoyed by stagecoach travelers some 170 years ago. We are within walking distance of dining, shopping and many attractions in historic Marshall, Michigan. See why the National Trust of Historic Preservation named our town as one of their "Dozen Distinctive Destinations" in the country! We are in a National Historic Landmark District that includes 850 structures. Do you ever wonder where the fast lane ends? You found it! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing