We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Historic Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of National House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Marshall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Historic Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My one night at the National House Inn reminded me of how interesting it is to stay in historic places. My room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. It is definitely not a modern facility although it has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Had a delicious dinner at nearby Schuler's Restaurant. Marshall is a quintessential American community with a main street, interesting shops, and some of the most beautiful historic homes I've seen. I would love to return and spend more time there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 33158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
669 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed at many B&B's and like the warm, comfy feeling felt at most of them. This is definitely the exception; it is very dark in there. I'm guessing the innkeeper is trying to keep with the lighting at the time the Inn was built, but it's gloomy. We just weren't that impressed. Many of the rooms are pretty small, not much room for luggage. The breakfast was o.k. but I'd suggest doing away with the pretty little cups & saucers and putting out actual mugs for coffee and tea. The cups and saucers would be a nice display but inconvenient to actually use. The location is very convenient to downtown, it is a very short walk to restaurants and shops. There are many seating areas within the Inn, there are very small flower gardens in the back of, and in front of, the Inn with a bench and a small table and chairs.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are more expensive but would be worth it, especially if you stay more than one nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We reserved 3 rooms for one night's stay during Marshall's Annual Garden Show in July of 2013 for my grandmother's 95th birthday. All 6 ladies of our family were really looking forward to a relaxing, first time stay at the National House Inn. Unfortunately, it didn't go as planned. After a late dinner at Shuler's Restaurant, we returned back to the inn. It turned out that one of the 3 rooms had a broken showerhead and another had had the air conditioning totally turned off by employees while we were away. We found out from the innkeeper the next morning, that the main control had been shut down by some unknown employee who had access to this panel that controlled 4 other rooms also- so no one in these other rooms had air conditioning all night long either! Our room became 83 degrees in the middle of the night due to 90 degree temps during the days that weekend. Windows don't open and no one downstairs at night to contact. Why in the world would they turn off the air conditioner's main control? We were baffled! We, of course, tried to call for help by searching for the "hidden phone" that is mentioned on the emergency card in every room. We searched for these "hidden phones" in all of our rooms and never found one nor even a simple phone jack in walls behind furniture. Being from out of state, we could not use our cell phones to call the emergency number because there was no area code listed on the emergency card. The next day when we went to talk with the owner, Ms. Bradley, and TRIED to explain our troubles during the night ...she actually stood there and SCOLDED US to our faces for not using the door bell inside the wooden box with lid that is left out on the front counter during the night to alert her nightly employee in an upstairs apartment. We TRIED to explain to her that we were never told about this box when we were being checked in by her employee nor about the onsite nightly employee. We also TRIED to explain to her that we had searched all over our rooms for the "hidden phones" to call for help. She just replied that there really are NO phones in rooms (like the in-room emergency card states). We were baffled at this response. With all this trouble we had had during the night we asked if we could please be compensated a mere 20% off of the regular rate for the 2 rooms. She refused us. We were baffled again. Our conversation about this went on for almost 20 minutes and all she would offer us was a gift cert for a free stay in the future. Why would she not discount us but want us to come back for a free night? I TRIED to explain how that would actually cost her more than just discounting us the 20% that we were requesting. We declined. We have no need or intentions on ever returning to this inn, especially with all the trouble we went through and how rudely we had been treated by Ms. Bradley in her defensive and dismissive way. If you should decide to stay at her inn, first make sure every part of the room is in good working order before dark, then make sure the little box with the door bell is in its place on the front desk (and in good working order), forget looking for in-room phones...they don't really exist she says. ...BAFFLING!!!
Then, if you should still have problems that are not resolved during your stay, be well aware that you will have to come back to this inn again to be compensated for your troubles. The customer is not "always right" here at the National House Inn. All we wanted was 20% off.
REALLY BAFFLING, Ms. Bradley!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the noisy, busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank branbe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great staff. They were helpful and knew the area well. They told us about the stores and eateries in the area and gave us a good price range. They carried discounts to some of the restaurants too. The Inn was decorated in antiques and they have kept as much of the original structure as they could. There was an afternoon tea provided and popcorn served in the evening.
We stayed during a really warm week and it was great to be able to walk back to the National House Inn to cool down and get a treat. It overlooks the fountain that is lite up at night.
All in all, a great place, right in town, to stay. Sunday and Monday discounts for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Sunday and Monday night stays have a discounted rate. You can look at the unused rooms. They leave t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank new2t6rvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

You will feel at home the moment you walk in. The place is amazing to look at and the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. They knew a lot about the area and made some great suggestions as to where to eat and what to see. The rooms are impeccably furnished and the history of the inn seems almost tangible. The breakfast was very good as well. I would stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We were allowed to walk around and look at any rooms not in use. I would gladly stay in any one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joedub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

A very comfortable and enjoyable three-night stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the area and helped us by making restaurant reservations. Breakfast was excellent and we felt right at home. We will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Warm atmosphere, caring innkeepers, great food. What more could we say? Every detail was given to this charming inn which is furnished with lovely antiques both in the bedrooms and the dining room and living area. Plenty of space for small group discussions and late-night snacks to enjoy. The National House Strada for breakfast was a special treat, and they also supplied the recipe to take home. A small gift shop offers quaint souvenirs as a plus. Antiques give this inn a real "homey" and nostalgic feel. Innkeeper Nancy should feel proud of offering her "home" to visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#1 of 3 in Marshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#2 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Battle Creek
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#5 of 19 in Battle Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
11.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Battle Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National House Inn

Property: National House Inn
Address: 102 S Parkview St, Marshall, MI 49068-1495
Location: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Marshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy simple pleasures at The National House Inn. Read a book on the porch, warm by a crackling fire, relax with afternoon tea, enjoy the delicious breakfast, or treasure some "down" time in one of the parlors. We offer all the luxuries of today with the same gracious hospitality first enjoyed by stagecoach travelers some 170 years ago. We are within walking distance of dining, shopping and many attractions in historic Marshall, Michigan. See why the National Trust of Historic Preservation named our town as one of their "Dozen Distinctive Destinations" in the country! We are in a National Historic Landmark District that includes 850 structures. Do you ever wonder where the fast lane ends? You found it! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing