We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and beautiful.”
Review of National House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Marshall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historical and beautiful.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great staff. They were helpful and knew the area well. They told us about the stores and eateries in the area and gave us a good price range. They carried discounts to some of the restaurants too. The Inn was decorated in antiques and they have kept as much of the original structure as they could. There was an afternoon tea provided and popcorn served in the evening.
We stayed during a really warm week and it was great to be able to walk back to the National House Inn to cool down and get a treat. It overlooks the fountain that is lite up at night.
All in all, a great place, right in town, to stay. Sunday and Monday discounts for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Sunday and Monday night stays have a discounted rate. You can look at the unused rooms. They leave t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank new2t6rvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
59
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

You will feel at home the moment you walk in. The place is amazing to look at and the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. They knew a lot about the area and made some great suggestions as to where to eat and what to see. The rooms are impeccably furnished and the history of the inn seems almost tangible. The breakfast was very good as well. I would stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: We were allowed to walk around and look at any rooms not in use. I would gladly stay in any one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joedub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A very comfortable and enjoyable three-night stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the area and helped us by making restaurant reservations. Breakfast was excellent and we felt right at home. We will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Warm atmosphere, caring innkeepers, great food. What more could we say? Every detail was given to this charming inn which is furnished with lovely antiques both in the bedrooms and the dining room and living area. Plenty of space for small group discussions and late-night snacks to enjoy. The National House Strada for breakfast was a special treat, and they also supplied the recipe to take home. A small gift shop offers quaint souvenirs as a plus. Antiques give this inn a real "homey" and nostalgic feel. Innkeeper Nancy should feel proud of offering her "home" to visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, large B & B. Service was nice. Inn was authentically historical. Very conveniently located and walkable to top attractions such as the Honolulu house and Dark Horse Brewery. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AimedWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Marshall, Michigan is a charming old town well worth exploring, especially during the holidays. The decorations on the old houses are amazing, and the Main Street is all decked out. The best place to stay downtown is National House. Here you are treated like family. We arrived late without a reservation and warmly invited to choose a room from all available ones. We found the only one with a huge bath tub. The decor was elegant and the room had been freshly updated. All the modern amenities are there, too, without disturbing the ambience.

The building is absolutely beautiful and there's lots to explore in the maze-like interior which is a really cool, creaky time capsule. The breakfast may not be as ideal as one hopes for in a B and B today, but it is well selected and the server is very friendly.

We've stayed here many times and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms; they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJNJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This historic inn located in Marshall, MI is worth a stay just to experience stepping back in time. A former stagecoach stop, at 170 years old, it claims to be "the oldest operating bed and breakfast in Michigan." The inn offers 16 rooms. If you want to experience what that might have been like, stay here. If you prefer amenities like a Marriott, this might not be for you.

Marshall, listed as a "small town gem", has specialty shops, antique shops, tidy streets with beautiful homes, a 2-screen movie theater, a beer brewery, several restaurants and eateries, including Schuler's Restaurant, which deserves its own review, and more we didn't have time to explore.

Upon arrival, our first impression at check-in, was of the beautiful fireplace with a wood fire burning in the entry hall. There are several hotel rooms on the first-floor level, a breakfast/dining area, and a small sitting area. Some of the charms of the inn include the squeaky floorboards and stairs, and the narrow hallways. No elevator.

We selected a suite upstairs near the front of the building. It consisted of 2 rooms, one with a queen bed and the 2nd smaller room with a sofa and small TV. Each of the "rooms" had a 1/2 bath (toilet & sink) & the shower is in its own separate room located near the foyer entry. Originally, we figured, this layout was for two individual rooms which shared a shower. At any rate, present day use is as a small suite. This arrangement was very comfortable for us with the exception of the street lights which illuminated the room even with the blinds and curtains closed. Room darkening shades are needed!

The rooms are not oversized or large. The Inn shows it's age -- the walls, floors, and sinks are not perfect and new, but are worn as you would expect in a historic building. This added to the authentic feel. It is clean and tastefully decorated with appropriate decor of the period. Be aware, as another reviewer advised, the inn is located on a busy road, traffic noise is heard.

We found popcorn offered for the taking in the evening, which was a nice touch. We did not stay for tea in the afternoon. Breakfast was good. Service was great. All staff members we dealt with either at check-in or during breakfast were very helpful and friendly. The inn offers wifi. They also sponsor "rate specials". Would consider staying again if passing through this way.

Room Tip: Room in the rear of inn may help with street noise and street light issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#1 of 3 in Marshall
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
11.9 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#3 of 19 in Battle Creek
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Courtyard Battle Creek
Courtyard Battle Creek
#6 of 19 in Battle Creek
85 reviews
11.7 mi away
McCamly Plaza Hotel
McCamly Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Battle Creek
267 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#2 of 19 in Battle Creek
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National House Inn

Property: National House Inn
Address: 102 S Parkview St, Marshall, MI 49068-1495
Location: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Marshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy simple pleasures at The National House Inn. Read a book on the porch, warm by a crackling fire, relax with afternoon tea, enjoy the delicious breakfast, or treasure some "down" time in one of the parlors. We offer all the luxuries of today with the same gracious hospitality first enjoyed by stagecoach travelers some 170 years ago. We are within walking distance of dining, shopping and many attractions in historic Marshall, Michigan. See why the National Trust of Historic Preservation named our town as one of their "Dozen Distinctive Destinations" in the country! We are in a National Historic Landmark District that includes 850 structures. Do you ever wonder where the fast lane ends? You found it! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing