We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great local place”

Schuler's Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For over 100 years, Schuler's Restaurant & Pub has kept it in the family - and beaten the odds. How rare is this achievement? According to Family Business Review more than 30 percent of all family-owned businesses survive into the second generation. Twelve percent will still be viable into the third generation, with three percent of all family businesses operating at the fourth-generation level and beyond. Schuler's, a four-generation, family-owned restaurant in Marshall, Michigan is an institution. Schuler's attributes its longevity to the foresight of our founder and the succeeding family members who have used their entrepreneurial skills to build a 100-year tradition of hospitality and fine dining.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great local place”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

In the mood for a late drink and burger? Stop into the pub. It's a great local place with a good bar menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BettyJ0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    159
    78
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of History”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were needing to find a place to eat on our way through Michigan, Schuler's met the challenge. It is a spacious restaurant, dark walls and paneling with quotes on the rafters.
We have various needs in a dining location - 2 vegetarians (1 adult, 1 child) and a picky child. We were able to find items for all of us. We shared an appetizer, avocado brushetta - it was okay. The kids menu offered a plain burger and fries and macaroni and cheese - perfect. I had the caprese salad-beware it was loaded with big black pepper. My husband had the turkey burger and raved that it was the best burger he has had in a long time.
Pricing is a bit more than an everyday, family restaurant. Check your bill because we were charged separately for the kids drinks that were to have been included in their meal charge (they did remove them when we brought it up).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thazard143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unlikely stop on our way through Michigan”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband had been there previously on a business trip and we were fortunate enough to find it again. It was like stepping into the past with the décor and the servers in their black and white dresses with white aprons. Service was good, food overall was good, one of the steaks was a bit overdone but the rest of the table enjoyed their meals. Cookies on your way out are a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
521 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Historic and quaint restaurant in the heart of Marshall”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner on a quiet night for the restaurant. The food was really good. I had the filet and my wife had the flank steak. The filet was good but the flank steak was exceptional - great flavor. The Caesar salad has a very nice light dressing.

Nice varied wine list with good price ranges. Interesting and classic decor inside. It probably has looked the same for fifty years but in this case, that is a compliment.

We highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
299 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Quaint Lunch Stop”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on the way to Lansing. We ate at Winston's and had a wonderful
roast beef sandwich with au jus and fries. They have a good selection of craft beers on the menu and the Bell's two hearted was on tap and delicious. Enjoyed looking at all the pictures on the wall in the lobby.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolbreeze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schuler's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Marshall, Calhoun County
Marshall, Calhoun County
 
Marshall, Calhoun County
Marshall, Calhoun County
 
Marshall, Calhoun County
Marshall, Calhoun County
 

Been to Schuler's Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing