We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cornwell's is much more than just Turkey”

Cornwell's Turkeyville USA
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Marshall
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Marshall, MI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cornwell's is much more than just Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

While traveling through South-central Michigan, on business or for vacation, a stop should be planed for Historic Marshall, Michigan. While there are many things to see and do in Marshall, just six miles to the north of I-69 Exit 42, is Cornwell's Turkeyville U.S.A. This is one of the most unique stops of any in Michigan or the Midwest! The restaurant was established in 1947 by Wayne Cornwell and is now bing run by his children and their families.

This is a stop that requires at least a couple of ours to see and do all that is there. In the main building, besides the restaurant, that can serve turkey more different ways than you could imagine, there is a huge gift shop, and ice cream shop, and a video game room. Outside there are other shops, a miniture raliroad, the actual turkey farm, and the more recent addition of a full service campground with a top-notch pool area - open to the public.

If you have time to spend in the area, they also have a dinner theatre with famous Broadway shows put on by local and regional talent, and, of course, a turkey dinner included. During the course of the year, there are many events that include craft shows, flea markets, conventions, car shows, and every Wednesday night during the summer is 'Bike Night' with entertainment. If you would like even more information, they have a website: www.turkeyville.com

There is so much to see and do that you may have to make this a stop more than once when traveling through this part of Michigan. Come for the Turkey, stay for the Fun!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank scubahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    24
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
312 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Age is showing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is ready for retirement. It reeks of old age and the food is poor. Seems like it is hanging on for dear life.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've heard about Turkeyville for years and finally had the opportunity to try it and it was a major disappointment!! The turkey was dry and tasteless, potatoes if not from a box sure tasted like it, dressing just ok. The highlight was the cranberries which came in a teeny-tiny cup and the gravy was decent. At least I don't have to wonder about it anymore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All turkey all the time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I live close to Cornwell's, so it's a regular stop for dinner. We usually eat in, but do take out on occasion. Once or twice a year we'll come for one of the flea markets or craft shows. The menu is all turkey, prepared in many different ways. My family's favorites are the turkey hot plate and the sloppy toms. We often end the meal with a slice of pie. I can't say I have ever been disappointed with the food. I've been eating here regularly for over 20 years, so that says something!

The place has looked exactly the same as far back as I can remember. I'd say some updating would be in order. The dining room is dark, but always clean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieLove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Weird Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

You walk into what appears to be the ice cream shop with no indication of where to go into the restaurant and how it works. It is dark and we had to ask how it worked. Didn't see any waitresses running around. It apparently was a cafeteria style where you went to the board and then went down a conveyor-type system and told them what you wanted, etc. If you want to be served, this is not the place to go. Felt like being in high school cafeteria. The barn-like atmosphere was ok with the variety of signs on the wall and the Halloween decorations. Will not be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank karend924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornwell's Turkeyville USA also viewed

 
Marshall, Calhoun County
Marshall, Calhoun County
 
Marshall, Calhoun County
Marshall, Calhoun County
 

Been to Cornwell's Turkeyville USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing