We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marshall
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed December 21, 2008

I go into the Battle Creek area 4 times a year on business and have yet to find a decent place to stay. . .or rather, a place that I would stay more than once. I ventured into the Marshall area last year and stayed at the Quality Inn...and this year thought I'd try the Holiday Inn Express. Let me just say, the hunt continues.

Location: right off the highway, with a truck stop and a 50's diner style Denny's within walking distance. Hotel is a few short miles from Marshall...famous for Shuller's resturant and pub...a must visit if you're in the area...the whipped cheese is to die for. Very cute town with lots of 'cute' shops.

Price: I negotiated the price from $109.00 to $89.00 - just ask!

Rooms: The heat hadn't been turned on, so it was freezing for a bit while I got settled. Bathroom was clean. Beds were covered in crumbs...and in one of the beds, there were lots of little black hairs. Eeck! Lots of pillows. Small TV, radio/alarm didn't work. Plenty of towels. Free USA Today at the door before dawn. Coffee maker.

Breakfast: Funny, when we stay at a hotel with a FREE breakfast...something convinces us that we have to eat there just because it's free. I'm guilty of this too...my Dutch-ness! The milk was dated to expire the next day and we asked if there was milk in the back that might be a bit more fresh. The breakfast lady informed us that we had one more day before the milk officially went "bad". Okay, how 'bout the brown mushy bananas? Or the rock hard muffins...even the bagels were bricks! We drank our breakfast that day as the cranberry juice and coffee were winners. : ) Nice big TV in breakfast area.

Pool: Didn't go in...but not once in my 3 day stay did I see anyone in there. . .was on the small side...and as you walk into the hotel lobby, the glass windows looking into the pool is the first thing you see. So if you a bit shy about being in your suit, with your winter pasty white legs, you won't much care for the location.

I doubt I'll stay here again...for $89.00 a night, I do expect the bed be sleepable without shaking all the blankets free of little hairs...and I expect to the milk to be fresh. Call me crazy. I hear there is a new Holiday Inn just built in Battle Creek...I'm headed there next!

  • Liked — Close to Schuller's!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lau2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
24
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Martin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

From start to finish, excellent service. At check-in, we met Shirley, who was fantastic. Funny, sweet and extremely helpful, she had it all.
We were immediately upgraded to a jacuzzi suite, and she even arranged for a mini-fridge and microwave since we were going to be staying a week.
The room was fairly standard, but the bed was really comfortable and the jacuzzi was sweet! Used it every night.
The pool is small, but nice, and it has a good fitness room.
What else? TV is small, but lots of channels. Parking lot is good size and can handle large vehicles. If it's too full, there's truck parking across the street.
A new Hampton Inn opened next door, and it looks nice, but I doubt it has a Shirley. She's the main reason I would pick this place.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2007

My sister & I took our boys (ages 5, 4 & 3) to the Binder Park Zoo last summer. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Marshall and it was GREAT! They had a 'kid's suite' which offered a king bed, couch bed and bunk beds. Small kitchen area w/ a mini fridge and microwave along w/ a sink. Room was very clean, staff very accomidating (gave us tylenol when my nephew had a fever), nice pool- just a great experience. We are planning a trip this fall for my son's birthday back to Binder Park and we will definatley stay at the Holiday Inn Express again! :)

  • Liked — Close the Binder Park Zoo, clean, safe, great price.
  • Disliked — Not enough restaurants around.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vjcooley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2006

It is a typical HI Express. Not much around it except for a truck stop next door and a Hampton Inn. It was fairly clean but a little pricey for location and hotel. I would probably stay somewhere else if going back to the Battle Creek area.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GoHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#1 of 3 in Marshall
313 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard Battle Creek
Courtyard Battle Creek
#7 of 19 in Battle Creek
85 reviews
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
Holiday Inn Battle Creek
#5 of 19 in Battle Creek
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Battle Creek Downtown
12.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Best Western Executive Inn
#3 of 19 in Battle Creek
294 reviews
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Battle Creek
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marshall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marshall
Address: 329 Sam Hill Dr, Marshall, MI 49068-8616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Marshall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Marshall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Marshall Hotel is just minutes east of Battle Creek and offers guest rooms that are beautifully appointed and feature many highly requested items for this mid-market hotel. We have the 'Simply Smart' Free Deluxe Breakfast, High Speed Internet, Fitness Center, In-Room Coffee Makers, Voicemail, In-Room Irons and Ironing Board and Hair Dryers, Indoor Pool, Spa Rooms, and Kids Suites all bring you back to your Home Away From Home in Historic Marshall, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marshall Hotel Marshall
Holiday Inn Marshall
Marshall Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing