We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant retreat in upper michigans Queen city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
menominee michigan
1 review
“pleasant retreat in upper michigans Queen city”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Spent a weekend at this hotel with my son for a hockey tournament. Really enjoyed our stay, rooms were large, clean and quiet. The staff was professional courteous and very helpful

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We realize that, at times, youth hockey teams can present a challenge for the hotel staff and guests. We're happy that everything went well during your stay. We hope to serve you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    107
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
195
115
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel advertises as "all suites," but the one we had was very small. They call it a suite because it has a partition between the bed and the sofabed. Microwave and refrigerator, but no sink. The king bed was very comfy, but the sofabed was awful. We took the mattress and put it on the floor, which was an improvement. The hotel was very quiet, and the room was clean. The pool was large, but not heated and the water smelled bad. I think it needed chlorine. The next day it was even worse, so it seems no one treated or tested it overnight. The hot tub was nice, very big. The breakfast was okay, waffles and pre-cooked eggs and bacon. Standard pastries, cereal, etc. The front desk staff was not overly friendly. And one major annoyance is they automatically charge you $1.50 per day for use of the in-room safe, and if you don't use it you have to ask them to remove the charge from your bill. Overall it was a decent place to stay, but there are tons of choices in the same area, so you might want to shop around a bit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michiganmom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
400_Miles_More
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

On a scale of 1-5 stars this location deserves a 10! I cannot give enough thanks to Lisa at the desk and Brian the manager for going above and beyond their positions to make our stay a truly wonderful experience. On one of Marquettes busiest weekends for hotels (as all hotels were completely booked), Brian and Lisa were able to fix a major hotels.com snafu and accomidate our family with a wonderful room. For future reference, I will never call hotels.com for booking but work directly with this excellent staff.
Room - 5 stars
Cleanliness - 5 stars
Pool - 5 stars
Food - 5 stars
Value - 5 stars
Location - western portion of Marquette on main highway, easy access to all Marquette has to offer.
Staff - 5 stars with and extra 5 for friendliness/helpfulness


I would most definitely recommend this facility to anyone who needs a place to stay in Marquette, well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 400_Miles_More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stayed at the Marquette Comfort Suites over the 2009 July 4th holiday. We had no problems. Everything was spotless, the staff were friendly, and the hotel is quiet. The only slightly odd thing was that every day we saw the cleaning people they would ask if we wanted our room serviced. I began to find this annoying. Part of the enjoyment of staying at a motel is that someone else makes the bed every morning and then I felt guilty for saying yes! I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Marquette.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

The hotel is top notch; appearance, amenities, and staff are all just great. I am leery of Choice Hotels, but in Marquette you don't have that many choices, so we gave it a try. We were not disappointed and plan to stay there again the next time we visit the UP of Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro Mi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Let me preface my review with stating I am not easy to please.
I expect hotels to be spotless, with comfortable beds and provide friendly courteous service.
But, this hotel was above and beyond. The front desk was very professional and courteous offering driving directions and suggestions for places to dine, when asked. (My college-age daughter was most impressed with the handsome male desk clerk.)
The room was spacious, had two queen size beds, a sofa bed, and table with two chairs, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and usual items (iron, hair dryer). The furniture looked rather new and did not contain any "spill spots". The beds in this hotel were nothing short of amazing-- goose comforters tucked into attractive duvet covers. Each queen size bed had 4 very comfortable pillows. The room was quite spacious and attractively decorated. Even though the hotel seemed to be quite busy, the rooms were well sound-proofed, as I did not hear the normal slamming of doors and hall noise you normally hear in busy hotels. Also, what I most appreciated was being able to open the windows for fresh air in the evening. And did I mention CLEAN? Even the grout in the bathroom was white.
The hotel has wireless internet for business use.
The pool was warm, clean, and open till midnight.
The free breakfast was slightly better than most free continental breakfasts. They offered several kinds of cereal, oatmeal, juices,yogurts, coffees, and a variety of breads and pastries. They also had fresh fruit, bananas, apples and oranges. They had make-yourself waffles, and a couple of hot items. The first day they had ham and scrambled eggs. The second day they served biscuits and sausage gravy.


I couldn't of asked for more from a moderatly priced hotel. And would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2009

There comes a time in every marriage, where you just need to get away. My husband got away from his job, I got away from being a house wife, and we both got away from our children for a few days. Our families are originally from the Upper Peninsula so we had no trouble finding the hotel or having things to do in the area. Although the snow can be a pain from time to time, I missed where my roots came from. The hotel was wonderful. The accommodated us to the fullest and the staff was more than willing to go beyond their job. Housekeeping did an incredible job of doing room services in the morning and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The day we were due to check out, the weather was terrible, so the young girl at the front desk was happy to change our reservations. They do their job very well. Most of them find something to talk about with you too. When I was switching our reservations, we got into a good conversation about books, she even recommended a few to me. My husband and I really appreciate all the help the Comfort Suites had to offer us. If we ever come up to the Marquette area again, we would definitely stay at the Comfort Suites. Our daughters and son would love their breakfast too. I personally felt that their breakfast was better than what a lot of hotels elsewhere serve.
THANK YOU COMFORT SUITES STAFF!!! JOB WELL DONE

  • Liked — The huge beds, warm inviting people and the Marquette area.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gooberbear38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing