We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Ever”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Ever”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We needed to find a hotel fast. We were from out of state and my mother was in ICU at Marquette Hospital. We were able to get a room quickly. The staff here was very welcoming, kind, and polite. I love cleanliness and our room was meticulously clean! The morning breakfast was a wonderful surprise! The food choices were abundant. There was something there for any type of eating diet. I also respect this hotel's environmental practices. As far as the amenities go we personally did not use them. Our time was spent at the hospital. Anyone looking to stay in Marquette, this would be the hotel to choose!

Green Features: Comfort Suites's takes a serious responsibility to the environment. They choose to do this, which I totally respect.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you, we love the title of your review! We've worked very hard in the last year to become as "green" as we can find possible. We're proud that our two restaurants are now nearing our goal of 90% recycling of previous garbage products and we hope to keep progressing as well with our hotels. We hope that everything went well for your mother and that you can visit us again under less trying circumstances.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    107
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
200
116
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

have stayed here numerous times and this time really needed extra help took my mom(84 yrs old) and a friend of hers edith(85yrs old) to visit a schoolmate jean (84 yrs old) who is in a nursing home while there my mom got sick and had to be taken to hospital the young man who worked nights (derrick) was a wonderful help in calling 911 for me and making sure that edith would not be startled when she came down for breakfast all three of them are DEAF he also told the day shift what happened so they took extra care of us and everyone made sure we were comfortable and took care of our needs from the mgr. Brian Jensen , the ladys and gentlemen on duty at the desk and the very special lady NORMA the cook in the hotel. THEY ARE SUCH CARING AND WONDERFUL PEOPLE I THANK THEM FOR EVERYTHING AND ALWAYS RECOMMEND ANYONE WHO GOES THERE TO STAY THERE.

Room Tip: any room is great i usually get handicapped rooms cuz i have two family members with handicapps
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofmany9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind comments on your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to read that everything turned out well in your emergency . I will take special care to recognize Derrick for his part in assisting you and Norma for the terrific job that she always does with our guests at breakfast. We look forward to serving you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was my first stay at property. It had a friendly check in staff, the room was clean. The pool area was clean also with plenty of towels. Great murals in pool area. But was most stuck by the sauna being HOT which is rare for a motel. Whirlpool was also a good temp. Comp breakfast was above par for a motel also. Topped my stay of with helpful friendly checkout staff. I get to Marquette several times a year and for a money value balance I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on first stay with us. We hope that you will return often to see the progress as we remodel and update, inside and out, our entire hotel this spring. We are keeping the pool murals, however (and our great staff). We look forward to serving you again on your next stay.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent experience. This was my first time in this hotel. Excellent cost/benefit ratio. Excellent breakfast (included), pool, hot tub. Two days trip to Marquette with my husband and two small children was easier because of this hotel. The only negative thing was that the carpet needed to be clean (both rooms and hallways), however, it is understandable to be somehow dirty since it is end of winter. I would recommend and will come back if I need to stay a night in Marquette again. I would like to add that I have visited 12 countries and most of US states, this is one of the best cost/benefit hotels I have been. Also, they had a popcorn bag, hot chocolate, and one bottle of water free in the room. It is not too much but it is a good gesture appreciated by those who arrive tired and just need a small snack before going to bad, or have kids like me.

Room Tip: Away from elevator and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPIntTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your statements on the cost/benefit ratio. Travelers have many choices when coming to Marquette, and we've always strived to give our guests the most for their dollar. From being the first in the area with fast, free Wi-Fi (soon to get even faster) and flat-panel TV's with HD, to being represented by an appreciative, well-trained staff with a full focus on the guest. We are embarking on a complete remodeling of the hotel this spring (including the carpets, which are beginning to show some fatigue). We hope that we can serve you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stay here twice every month and would not stay anywhere else. The staff have always been friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. I will continue to book here twice a month from now on. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. This hotel will always be my choice when in Marquette.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind comments. Testimonials from guests that have returned many times are always a delight to read. It means that we not only made a great first impression, but have been able to display our consistency in hospitality, service, and facility. We look forward to serving you twice a month into the future.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is the 4th time I have stayed at this property. It beats the other properties in Marquette hands-down!
Service and staff helpful-kind-amazing, the room is super-clean, tastefully decorated, and the bed wonderfully-comfortable.
They have an awesome-fresh sauna, (pool and hot-tub are great too).
In the same parking lot they have a great restaurant - Hudson's ate there about three times.
My Fav; the whitefish, a local fish that is TASTY!

Marquette is a amazing hip, progressive place to visit, I stay away from the strip malls, and thoroughly enjoyed the downtown stores and restaurants.
The whole experience; Comfort Suites, Hudson's, Marquette, MI = 5 stars!

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheryLLL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind comments on you stay at our Comfort Suites in Marquette. We greatly appreciate those guests that have returned to us time after time. I'm happy to read that you also enjoyed our adjacent Hudson's Classic Bar & Grill. We've made great strides with the restaurant and are really gaining a terrific reputation with our fresh fish offerings. We hope to serve you again soon!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have a son attending NMU and when we visit we invariably return to the Comfort Suites. Clean comfortable rooms and a staff that wants to make your stay pleasurable. Good location, fairly priced with a nice breakfast. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We have a lot of associates that have been here for a long time and we've gotten to know quite a few families over the years that have stayed with us throughout their students' tenure at NMU. We appreciate that you've been coming back to us so many times. I hope that you've been able to take advantage of the terrific promotions that we offer to all families of NMU students. Here's to hoping that your son graduates on time - if not, we'll be here for you no matter how long it takes!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing