We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!!!!!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Staff!!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Rooms are always very clean, comfortable, and spacious. Properties are well maintained. Location is terrific with plenty of parking. What really sets this Comfort Suites apart from the rest is the staff. They are awesome. Audrianna or Kevin usually check me in. They are super friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. I actually look forward to talking to them during check-in more than anything else about the stay. When your out on the road all day it is nice to talk to someone pleasant. I stay in hotels about 100 days per year and there is nothing worse than staying at a place that you pay good money for that treats you like you are bothering them. Being welcomed in to the hotel is very important. I also hear good things about the general manager... like he is nice to work for...a real good guy. His employees always say good things about him. The breakfast lady is very professional also. Everything is clean and orderly. She deserves an atta-girl also! With all things factored in I would rate this place a 9.9 out of 10. Truely a diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind comments about our staff. The genuine warmth and professionalism shown by our associates are definitely the strength behind our success. I will definitely be sharing your comments with them. I'm sorry that we haven't had the opportunity to meet yet, I'll make it a point on your next stay.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    111
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
204
122
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

As I am learning, adding a pull out sofa to a larger room, evidently, qualifies as a suite. I was hoping for a little more space but the room worked our for our family of 5. Breakfast was well stocked and typical of most of the 2 to 3 star hotel free breakfasts. Pool area is nice and the kids enjoyed it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHWmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that you didn't find the size of your suite to be what you might have expected. The Comfort Suites design of a separate seating area with a sofa bed has been around for many years. We are planning a major remodeling this spring with new furnishings that should help to maximize the space. I'm very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope to see you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hancock, mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Overall experience was great. Great breakfast, nice clean room, kids loved the pool area and saunas. Easy to locate and would recommend to anyone traveling to Marquette. Will definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments. We're very happy to read that your family had a great time in our pool area. Not only has the new mural painting been a big hit with our guests, but we also have some of the best pool hours in the area, opening at 7:00am and staying open until Midnight every night. Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Marquette.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have coordinated a ski racing camp for our high school ski racing team since 2007 and we stay at the Comfy Suites-Marquette every year. Beth, the Assitant GM, is great at getting us a decent rate (we rent 12-14 rooms per nigth for 3 nights, each year), the give a conference room to use for meetings, and we also have one group dinner at their Hudson's restaurant across the parking lot. The management obviously stesses positive, friendly customer service to the staff and it shows. And each of the rooms have two beds and a sleeper sofa and many of the rooms interconnect to make for easier chaperone supervision.

I would recommend this hotel to any large group going up to Marquette. and for those of you who don't know, the city of Marquette, MI is the prettiest town in the U.P. with great bars, restaurants and the University of Northern Michigan.

If you are a skier or boarder, Marquette Mountain is excellent, with steep terrain and varied slopes.

Bill
Brookfield, Wisconsin

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts on your group's stay with us. It's great to see organizations that return to us year after year, and the hard work done by Beth and the staff are a big reason for those returns. We host a lot of groups throughout the year and the proximity to our restaurants is a great benefit. As you mentioned the conference room, I'd like to share that we also do quite a few catered events in them and are able to offer a varied menu for any occasion. We look forward to hosting your group again next year!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand haven
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything a family needs. Great pool, hot tub, sauna, plus a wonderful breakfast with many choices hot and cold. The staff was very accommodating and polite. If we ate in Marquette again, we will definitely stay here!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments. We're happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We see a lot of families all year round, but the winter season is especially a great time to visit Marquette, whether to visit relatives or for the wide variety of winter recreational activities that are offered. If you were here to ski, I hope that you got a chance to use our great ski waxing room. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

OK, I'm not the greatest fan of Comfort Suites because some of them are not kept up well. The Marquette Comfort Suites is a total exception. It has a homey, comfortable feeling and the staff treats you like family. The room was very clean, although the furniture may be a little dated. The bed was comfortable and my room had plenty of lighting. There was plenty of hot water and it didn't cycle between hot and cold. The breakfast was fresh and good, although I would have liked some oatmeal. The eggs, biscuit and sausage gravy all tasted home made. The location is slightly away from downtown, with several restaurants and other hotels nearby. There is a restaurant about 40 steps from the hotel door that was excellent. It looked liked a chain of some sort with lots of hamburgers and salads, but I got fresh fish they say they buy daily from a local seafood market. All in all, a great choice.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the highway, and we never heard any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeA1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on our hotel. "Homey" and "treats like family" are exactly the results that we love to hear from our guests. Our staff takes a great deal of pride in working to treat every guest with a welcoming and friendly attitude. We are aware of your comment on some of the rooms feeling slightly outdated. Watch here and on our website for further announcements on that front. We look forward to hosting you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times. We like this hotel due to the economy of its prices for the value you get and the locale. The continental breakfast is OK, but we would prefer more fresh choices. The pool area is nice and clean. The front desk staff has almost always been helpful and friendly. The room updates the hotel has done in recent years are very welcome and nice. In particular, we noticed this last time around that the room we had seemed very well insulated from hallway and other room noise. The beds are very comfortable! So are the two different types of pillows offered in the rooms (soft and firm). The rooms and bathrooms are VERY clean! The bathrooms are large and roomy, but the vent that automatically runs when the light switch is turned on doesn't seem to work well as I noticed there were a few mold spots developing on the ceiling of the shower area. The sleeper sofas are not very comfortable. It would be nice if the mattresses could be updated in the sleeper sofas. During our most recent stay, the heater/ac unit in the room was newer, but there was a HUGE cold draft coming from the area between the unit and the window. I had to put a bath towel over the area to keep the room warmer and so the unit wouldn't run as frequently. I reported it to the desk clerk upon our departure. I'm hoping someone will act upon my report. I dislike that a safe charge is automatically added to the bill. I feel this is a crafty practice to get more money from people who aren't aware they are initialing for this at check-in and don't ask for the charge to be removed at the end of their stay. The elevator is VERY slow! We frequently take the stairs as it's often times faster! The workout room has air circulation issues; the air gets very stuffy when more than one person is using the area. Also, the carpet in the workout room is very dirty - to the point of being gross!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourmcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor. I'm happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay, I apologize that you encountered any issues at all. Please remember in the future that if there are any problems whatsoever with your room to contact our very responsive staff and we will correct any deficiencies immediately. However, I am slightly puzzled on your comment on the carpet in our workout room as we had completely remodeled the room this past summer including a new cushioned vinyl wood-look flooring. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing