We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch for the safe fee”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We frequently stay at the Marquette Comfort Suites.
The property is always very clean.
However, be sure to look at your check out bill. They always apply a safe charge which they will take off if you ask them.
It seems to me that it is a way to collect an additional $1.50 for something which most patrons don't use.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for being a frequent guest at our property. The in-room safe fee is actually there to pay for insurance coverage of up to $10,000 should anyone's possessions be stolen from the safe. We feel that we are inviting our guests to bring in expensive computers and tablets with our expected offering of free Wi-Fi and would be remiss if we did not offer a way for them to secure not only their electronics, but their valuable personal data as well. I completely understand your feelings on the fees, but we try to make it as plain as possible at registration and will always immediately remove it upon request. I myself watch for it when traveling and if I know I don't need to secure valuables or cash, will asked for it to be removed. We look forward to serving you again and hope to see you soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 509 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was very nice. The room was very clean. The sheets extra crisp and clean. Hudson Grill right on the property so we could walk. Breakfast starts at 6 so convenient for early risers. They had bagged breakfast for those too rushed to sit. USA today delivered to my tablet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MESClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. I'm happy to read that we were able to provide everything that you may have expected and hopefully exceeded those expectations. We try to treat our "Your Morning Breakfast" as a service rather than a requirement. We start serving at 6:00am (even earlier if requested) and run our full breakfast until 10:00 on weekdays and 10:30 on weekends. We have also been known to stretch that a little for the "late risers" as well. We hope to serve you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were doing the Lake Superior Circle Tour on our motorcycle and were looking for some extra comfort and we found it here! From booking the room and getting a "Hog" discount to being helped with finding where I could buy local wine that I had tasted at the restaurant next to the hotel service was Number 1! We haven't had service like that from a chain hotel! If we are back in the area we will be staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your very kind comments on your stay at our Comfort Suites. We've really enjoyed meeting the ever growing number of motorcycle enthusiasts that have been staying with us. We offer our "HOG" discount throughout the entire season and always provide complimentary towels for our biking guests to wipe down their machines before departing. If it's not for a trip to the U.P. to see our spectacular fall colors, we hope to see you again next summer!

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

While completing the Lake Superior circle tour we approached Marquette in need of a comfortable night's break after stopping to hike and explore throughout the day. We found it at the Comfort Suites in Marquette. Within walking distance of restaurants, we parked the car for the night and relaxed in comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriskain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts on your stay with us. Our Superior Oasis of family owned businesses is designed exactly as you mentioned. We have two great restaurants, Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery right in our parking lot so our guests can park for the evening and not worry about having to go out to get some terrific food, beverages, and service. We hope you enjoyed the increasingly popular Lake Superior Circle Tour. Come back again soon!

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were on our way to our (fantastic) late afternoon Pictured Rocks National Seashore cruise on Lake Superior, and we had booked this Comfort Inn. We were able to check in a bit early so we could have an easy drive to get to our cruise without luggage in the car. The hotel was easy to find off the highway, and the front desk service was helpful. Later, the bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean. We appreciated that it was easy to order from Hudson's Grille next door and that they had a good Veggie Burger (since we are vegetarians).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your kind comments on TripAdvisor on your stay with us. Our location in Marquette is a big plus, with tons of scenery and great outdoor activities from a quarter mile to 35 miles away at Pictured Rocks.. I hope that the next time you return that you'll be able to check out our delightful Marquette Harbor Cruises as well. We look forward to serving you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here over labor day weekend. Easy check-in and extremely friendly and accommodating staff. We had two rooms and had requested for adjoining rooms in advance. To our surprise, they accommodated us and I did not even have to remind them at check-in. Clean hotel and rooms. Laundry facility available for guests. Breakfast is included and is really good. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Book in advance and make all requests in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nCp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm happy to see that our staff accommodated your request - we work very hard to stay on top of special requests. Labor Day is a high demand weekend for us in Marquette and we've been major sponsors of the Marquette Blues Fest for a number of years. I hope that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were visiting our son at NMU and were looking for a hotel that had a suite. This was a perfect room with a sleeper sofa. Since our son just started college we figured he would want to stay in his dorm. He spent one night with us on the sleeper and it was perfect. Pretty decent breakfast. My only complaint was the response time on the cable. When you switched channels it took a good 3-5 seconds before the picture appeared. Other than that, clean hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChexMex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSDI-GM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your son starting his college career at NMU. I hope that you were able to sign in for NMU Parents program. We've received a great response to its benefits over time and are seeing more enrollments every year . Be sure to ask about it on your next visit - we'll even give credit for past stays from August 1st on.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing