We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a car issue just as we were checking out and two of the maintenance staff came out to help my husband and offer a suggestions for an inexpensive fix to the problem. The front desk also gave us as much time as needed to stay in the room until the problem was resolved.

As far as accomodations, the hotel is well kept throughout. Clean rooms, pool and breakfast area. We greatly appreciated the late hours for swimming. The breakfast had plenty of variety and was well attended by staff. The room had plenty of space for a family of 5.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to read that our maintenance crew was able to lend you some assistance with the issues that you were having with your vehicle. Our pool hours are the most extensive in Marquette, opening at 7am and staying open until 12 midnight every day. We trust that you made it home safely, we'd love to have you stay with us again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 504 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Marquette on two different motorcycle trips this past month. We were pleasantly surprised both times! The staff is great, the rooms were clean and comfy (one of the best beds we've had in a hotel in a very long time), and the location couldn't be beat... within two blocks of the Harley shop, a half parking lot away from great food at Hudson's, and easy to find on Hwy. 41. The Comfort Suites in Marquette will remain on the top of our "Favorites" list. Jane and Kim provided outstanding service during the weekend of June 29th when we were last there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for you kind comments. I'm happy to see that you took the time to recognize Jane and Kim, two of our long-term employees. We get a lot of motorcycle riders touring the Upper Peninsula every summer and many stop in to take advantage of our HOG rates and complimentary towels to wipe down their bikes. We hope to see you again this autumn for our spectacular fall colors.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff is accomodating unless they make a mistake... Only then will they become very different people. Here is what I mean. We calmly brought a matter to the attention of the hotel staff. They had mistakenly preauthorized our credit card for several hundreds of dollars above what they weresupposed to authorize. They had randomly used our card at will thoughout the week charging several transactions that didn't even match our hotel stay. No problem. Everyone makes mistakes. We thought, just let them know. It will be fine and we can go back to our vacationing. We were so wrong! Rather than immediately resolve it and offer concession for the error, they made excuses and claimed sthat as the merchant they didn't have the power to asked the bank to release the unauthorized hold.They further inconvenienced us by making excuses, becoming defensive and ultimately rude. They refused to release funds that they acknowledged were not authorized. As world travelers we knewthis was absurd. But they insisted that it was just too bad, and that was that. I was on my own to work with the bank once I checked out. Meanwhile, my funds would be improperly held up. The problem is never that a mistake is made the real trajedy is one's failure to fix it with grace and dignity. Pam, the manager seemed burned out and not professionally trained to resolve conflict with finesse and tact.We cut our stay there short and got them out of our wallets. It was very disappointing how ill we were treated for their error, but as I write this I am in a much better hotel and the vacation continues...God it still I'm grateful that I have choices and that I have the courage to be accountability for my own mistakes in life.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Professor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

I'm sorry that we were unable to resolve our mistake with your card at the time that you were here. When you had extended your stay by a day, our agent had actually entered two days, increasing the amount of the hold on your card. The problem we encounter is that the issuing bank immediately holds that amount and our efforts to correct the issue can be either very quick and painless or completely unsuccessful, depending on the particular bank, and the circumstance of your stay being on a weekend night.
I hope that you will consider us in the future.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped at Marquette for the night on our way home to Ontario at the end of a long road trip without a reservation. Checked in at the Comfort Suites because of the good reviews online, and got a room handily despite it being a Friday night. The drive on Hwy. 41 in the dark was not fun as there were many deer foraging alongside the road and so we were completely drained when we got into town and were glad to have a room to stay the night. We told the front desk gentleman that we had a lot of luggage and asked for a luggage cart, but they had all mysteriously disappeared into some guests' rooms. Instead he gave us an accessible double-queen bed suite on the ground floor close to the side entrance, so we could move our stuff conveniently from the parking lot. The suite was spacious because of the accessibility feature and therefore gave us a lot of room to put our suitcases. The room was also very clean and well-equipped with microwave, refrigerator, big-screen tv, big comfy and clean beds. The bathroom was very roomy and clean also. Breakfast offered grits and scrambled eggs and different kinds of waffles (I overheard there was one with chocolate chips - personally I don't think this should be a breakfast item for health reasons, but it seemed very popular with the guests) and the usual muffins, bread, biscuits, juice and coffee.

Overall, we were very pleased with the service and the price. The only slightly negative impression of the place is that it looked a bit dingy in the entrance/lobby because of the décor. Otherwise it's an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind comments. I'm happy to read that you were able to dodge the abundant wildlife in the Upper Peninsula on your way here. Being a stop for weary travelers as well as a destination is what make this business so pleasing and I'm glad to see that we were able to impress you. Please think of us again the next time you travel through the States.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Marquette. We had the opportunity to visit Marquette twice in May. and always returning here. After a very unsatisfactory stay at the establishment across the street, that manager told me that he was "confident Brian and his staff" at Comfort Suites "will take great care of you." And was he right. Brian and his staff go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your time while in Marquette. From the clean and comfortable rooms, to the courteous staff and the partnerships Comfort Inn has with Hudsons and Perkins, when in Marquette, I highly recommend Comfort Inn as the best hotel on the block.

The ONLY suggestion I might make is to increase the amount of parking lot lighting on the side. It is quite dark at night. But there's plenty of other parking to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you posting your kind thoughts on Tripadvisor. We're happy to see that hopefully you've found a new "home away from home" when you visit Marquette. Our restaurants, Hudson's and Perkins, add a lot to a traveler's experience, giving our properties the feel of a full service property. We hope to continue to exceed your expectations.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Room very clean, friendly staff, wonderful roll-in shower, higher toilet and comfortable bed and pillows! Excellent breakfast included...good variety. A quiet Good night's rest. Will stay here again soon.

Room Tip: Reserve handicap room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. Accessibility for our guests is a primary concern of ours and we're happy to see that your accommodations fit your needs. We have also recently installed pool lifts for both our swimming pool and our hot tub so everybody can enjoy our recreational opportunities. We hope to serve you again soon.

Brian Jensen,
General Manager..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel several times the past few years. This is by far our favorite place to stay in the Marquette area. The rooms are large, the staff is wonderful, the price is great, and for a family traveling to have breakfast included is the icing on the cake! We love staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for posting your kind comments and returning to us often. Although we have some great amenities for our corporate guests, catering to families during the summer months and winter weekends is where our staff really shines. From our family-friendly extended pool hours (7am - Midnight) to "Your Morning Breakfast" featuring every kid's favorite - waffles (in two flavors!), we really like seeing families relax and enjoy their stays with us. We look forward to your return.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $117 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing