We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for NMU visit”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked a room for Wildcat Weekend at Northern Michigan University after reading reviews here. Have had a great experience so far.
Checking was fast. The woman who helped us was friendly. Location is convenient; it's close to downtown as well as restaurants and other retail. Not at all loud, which I expected.
Hotel room was very clean and neat. Housekeeping did a great job, too.
Used the workout room to run and it was nice to have a TV to watch March Madness, a clean towel and even water available.
Families seemed to enjoy the indoor pool.
Breakfast was a bit crazy is morning. Lots of people but the staff kept the area clean. Food was OK. Standard fare. I made a waffle (that area really needs either a table or more room to set down a tray because you really need both hands to work the waffle maker.). I dropped mine and had to toss it. Boo.
Area is nice. Hotel feels safe.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reinitaHolt_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments on your first visit with us. We have great programs for families of NMU students, with discounted rates (except for a few select weekends) and a frequent stay program as well. I read that you enjoyed our 24 hour fitness center. I hope that you'll be impressed with the great remodeling job we're doing on the room as we speak. It should be completely ready by April 1. Welcome to NMU - we hope to be able to serve you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 512 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had an outstanding stay -- even with the foot of snow that fell overnight on March 10!
Good variety of restaurants nearby.
The pool and spa were outstanding, with good, long hours. The exercise equipment is modern and available 24 hours.
Breakfast was always kept fresh. No complaints. Note to hotel visitors in general (not just here but anywhere): the tongs next to the bakery items are not decorations. Use them, not your fingers!
What made this Comfort Suites stand out is the ski waxing room. While the threat of extra charges if they find evidence of ski waxing in your room sound harsh, they provide such good facilities, why would you want to wax in your room? The waxing room include clamps, plenty of plugs, and waxing iron holders. All in all a great arrangement for skiers headed to Marquette Mountain.
By the way, if you're visiting NMU, they have a great special rate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timskumwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for posting your kind comments. Our ski waxing room has been a big hit with our snow - loving guests ever since we added it. It looks like there is still a little time to enjoy it this year as Marquette Mountain (we have great ski packages) will be staying open until April 7 this year and cross country trails are still open as well. Speaking of packages, watch our website as we will be offering Marquette Harbor Cruise, Greywalls Golf, of course, Marquette BluesFest packages again this summer. We hope to see you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Being a frequent traveler I have stayed at some very good places and some that I would rather forget! That said, this is one that ill remember! Staff were very friendly and knew what they were doing. The room was better than average----- Very comfey!!!! There is a restaurant & bar in house witch was good with reasonable prices. Thanks for the great stay! Il be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on our hotel. I'm happy to read that you were impressed with our staff's friendliness and professionalism. We also have a lot in store this spring to improve our facility, with a newly remodeled fitness center and a new Marketplace to complement our gift shop. We're also upgrading our bedding to a great new look and feel that will look terrific with the new carpet and window treatments in our rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a wonderful experience we recieved at this Comfort Suites in Marquette Michigan that provided our Trenton Michigan Cheif's Hockey team, with 5 star service, all the comforts of home, and a welcoming second to none.
From the moment we arrived 500 miles from home to recieve our 21 room accomidation, you couldn't miss the beautiful scenery in Marquette that surrounded the elegant and warm atmosphere inside and out, this facility will captivate you with. The rooms were simply top flight, very up to date, and equipt with all the accomidations one would need away from home. The Breakfasts came with our stay and they were spectacular. All the service was excellent, the staff was very freindly and welcoming, and very informational, and from beginning to end, the stay was peaceful and made us feel like we were staying at our best friends home! The lobby is so inviting to relax in, or read a book, or just take in the warmth it displays. This, while the hotel was basically at full capacity!
Well done, and highest regards to the General Manager Brain Jensen, and his staff!
We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this Comfort Suites, because it is and extremely great value, with NO COMPROMISES on any needs, comforts, atmsophere or service. Sweet Comfort, descibes it best! Thank You for all your care and kindness each of you shared with us! It is truly a pleasure to be able to so confidently recommend this place, we know you will enjoy as much as we did!
Tim Collins and Lori Harris, on behalf of the Trenton Cheif's Hockey Team, and Associates.

Room Tip: We utilized the King Bed with pullout room, which faced the rear of the hotel, which had a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for such a heartfelt and kind posting about your stay in Marquette. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your team and were very happy to see that the Chiefs snagged the State runner-up trophy. Being a former hockey parent myself, I understand completely that treating the team and families as truly welcome guests rather than a chore to deal with goes a long way to setting the tone for a stay. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to hosting you again if possible, as a team or as individual travelers. Be sure to watch our website for some of the great summer packages that we will be offering.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Comfort Suites in Marquette. As a business traveller it means a lot when certain things are done right in order to save time especially when I am tired from the road. They do it right. Check in and check out are professionally done. The rooms are large, clean, and updated. The rooms are quiet and the hotel is well maintained. With a corporate rate, I get great value. I also like the Hudson's Diner which is conveniently located across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It's great to read that we've captured another regular by providing and exceeding the needs of the business traveler. If you ever have the need, we feel we have one of the best designed and equipped Business Centers in the area. There are private alcoves for each computer plus a wired laptop dock. We also feature free printing and faxing in our business center plusa small seating area with a table for any impromptu meetings. We look forward to serving you again!

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What stands out among other comfort suites in the Marquette location is the staff, spa, and quiet comfort. The rooms are beyond what you would expect for quality and cleanliness of the mattress, bedding and sheets. The staff is friendly and immediately responsive....if you need anything they will sense it, I witnessed this at the breakfast bar, the attendant saw me looking around and took care of my needs. Everyone was friendly. Large hot hottub, pool and the sauna is the best I ever had in a hotel and I am 3rd generation Finlander. It is hot and water for the rocks is provided! I was there to take my state board of nursing exam my needs for a quiet comfortable room, spa and fitness room were met beyond expectations and all other comfort suites I have stayed at.....word!!!....and i passed the NCLEX in 75 questions!!!!!!

Room Tip: The king room is divided and has a couch/chair area, a fridge, mwave, 32 inch lcd tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gundogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts on TripAdvisor. It's great to see comments from one of our Elite Members. Choice Privileges is a terrific loyalty program for all travelers and special promotions are run frequently. I'm happy to read that all of your needs were attended to and that we were able to provide a relaxing environment so you could ace your tests. Congratulations!

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great! The staff was wonderful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is nice. The amenities were very good. Breakfast was tasty as well. The pool area was superb. It was nice having the option between the two hotels also...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank for your kind comments. I'm glad to hear that our staff and facility exceeded your expectations. We receive a lot of great comments on our re-decorated pool facility and rebuilt sauna. As always, I'm very proud to read what your thoughts were on our staff. I'll be sure to share your thoughts on your stay with them.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $110 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing