We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Huron
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Comfort Suites in Marquette. As a business traveller it means a lot when certain things are done right in order to save time especially when I am tired from the road. They do it right. Check in and check out are professionally done. The rooms are large, clean, and updated. The rooms are quiet and the hotel is well maintained. With a corporate rate, I get great value. I also like the Hudson's Diner which is conveniently located across the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's great to read that we've captured another regular by providing and exceeding the needs of the business traveler. If you ever have the need, we feel we have one of the best designed and equipped Business Centers in the area. There are private alcoves for each computer plus a wired laptop dock. We also feature free printing and faxing in our business center plusa small seating area with a table for any impromptu meetings. We look forward to serving you again!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    110
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
204
121
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What stands out among other comfort suites in the Marquette location is the staff, spa, and quiet comfort. The rooms are beyond what you would expect for quality and cleanliness of the mattress, bedding and sheets. The staff is friendly and immediately responsive....if you need anything they will sense it, I witnessed this at the breakfast bar, the attendant saw me looking around and took care of my needs. Everyone was friendly. Large hot hottub, pool and the sauna is the best I ever had in a hotel and I am 3rd generation Finlander. It is hot and water for the rocks is provided! I was there to take my state board of nursing exam my needs for a quiet comfortable room, spa and fitness room were met beyond expectations and all other comfort suites I have stayed at.....word!!!....and i passed the NCLEX in 75 questions!!!!!!

Room Tip: The king room is divided and has a couch/chair area, a fridge, mwave, 32 inch lcd tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gundogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts on TripAdvisor. It's great to see comments from one of our Elite Members. Choice Privileges is a terrific loyalty program for all travelers and special promotions are run frequently. I'm happy to read that all of your needs were attended to and that we were able to provide a relaxing environment so you could ace your tests. Congratulations!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great! The staff was wonderful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is nice. The amenities were very good. Breakfast was tasty as well. The pool area was superb. It was nice having the option between the two hotels also...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank for your kind comments. I'm glad to hear that our staff and facility exceeded your expectations. We receive a lot of great comments on our re-decorated pool facility and rebuilt sauna. As always, I'm very proud to read what your thoughts were on our staff. I'll be sure to share your thoughts on your stay with them.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemlock, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here during the weekend of the sled dog races. It is a wonderful hotel with large, clean rooms. There is a charging station in each of the rooms that makes it extremely easy to charge phones, ipads, etc. Very comfortable rooms. The breakfast was very good with a wide range of foods. Very friendly, efficient staff. We will definitely be staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at our Comfort Suites during the annual UP200 dog sled races. Kind comments like yours are always great to see and will be shared with our staff. Our "Cubies" charging stations have been a big hit with our guests since we installed them. Anything you may need to charge (by adapter or usb) can be done right on the desk, so there's no more crawling around looking for outlets. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stay here everytime I visit Marquette (approx. 4 times a year). Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and friendly staff. I had a problem with the tv during one visit and they were at my room within minutes helping me out. Just like the town of Marquette, the staff is friendly and make you feel comfortable. Continental breakfast was good too; along with usual breads and fruit, they also have a few hot items to choose from as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKRMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments about our hotel with others. We really appreciate reading that guests are regulars and that they keep staying with us time after time. We pride ourselves on offering a consistently top-notch product and always count on our staff to deliver prompt, courteous service should any needs arise. We've been fortunate to retain a lot of long-term associates and their dedication to service has helped build a great culture that our newer people buy into. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yeah, it's not spectacular or unique, but it is probably one of the best hotels around. the rooms are bigger than most of the other hotels around. It's really close to Hudson's, Perkins, and Buffalo Wild Wings, which is quite convenient- along with being very close to Marrquette Mountain as well! If you are staying in Marquette, and you don't want to spend a lot, this is a good option.

Highlight: The hot tub and pool are GREAT... reallly hits the spot after a long day of skiing. The pool room is nicely decorated, and includes a sauna.

Lowlight: Breakfast isn't great- if you want something better, go to Perkins.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room- when you don't ask for one, the rooms can be LOUD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you pointed out that we have some terrific amenities available and some great restaurants nearby. All of our guests receive discounts for both Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar and Perkins Restaurant, and both share our parking lot. Our free "Your Morning Breakfast" varies on a daily basis - I'm sorry that the selection when you stayed wasn't what you may have expected. We hope to see you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

While on a recent trip I was forced to cut driving that day short due to horrible road conditions, my wife and i were unsure where to stay so we started asking around at hotels for their rates and as soon as I walked in I knew this was the place, the lady behind the counter was supper friendly and accommodating even the general manager was fairly friendly by holding the door for us... Everything about our stay was amazing!!! They told us about Hudson's and so we tried it for lunch and even went back for dinner! Defiantly would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberta1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtson your recent stay at our Comfort Suites. We're happy to see that we were able to provide you with a safe haven on your travels through the Upper Peninsula. We always maintain that our staff is our greatest asset and I'm glad to see that we were able to impress you. Hudson's continues to get better every day and has transformed from a burger and shake joint to offering a wide variety of delicious items, up to and including a signature Fresh Lake Superior Whitefish. We hope you'll return again and stay with us next time under better circumstances.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
333 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing