We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We paid about $55/night for a single queen this weekend. We walked in and were initially very unimpressed. While the staff was enthusiastic, friendly and extremely helpful (Some of the best we've encountered) the room wasn't exactly what I was expecting. Someone in an earlier review mentioned the "old" hallway on the 1st floor, which is where we ended up. It looks like the property was formerly a motel with each room opening into the parking lot. More recently, an enclosed hallway was built. It's dimly lit with the hum of each room's A/C units filling it. The room itself had a safe, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, TV with cable and a table with 2 chairs. The floor was fake wood with no carpeting. The bathroom was very small, with the sink outside the bathroom next to the TV. I, at 6'2" tall was too tall for the shower, with the shower head only being about 5'2" off the ground by my estimation. (My shoulders) The only real issue we had was that the bed was extremely loud. We made do, as the room was overall very acceptable, especially for the low rate we were getting.
The complimentary continental breakfast was decent, cook your own waffles, toast, cereal, and oatmeal with coffee, apple juice, orange juice, milk and hot chocolate. It's served 7-10 every day.
The pool was very clean, no heavy chlorine smell in the air and nice and warm. It goes from 3' to 5.5' with a ledge around the edge. I didn't go in the whirlpool, but my wife and son said it was too hot.
If you're looking for a cheap place to crash, this is it! Not much in the way of extras, but it definitely gets the job done.
Again, a huge shout out to the staff this weekend. You guys really treated us great! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrewyStewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a thorough review. I am thrilled that our staff exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best customer service possible! Our goal is to give you great value for your hard earned dollar and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited the area last week of June, The front desk lady was great in arranging a room, since i had to switch the weeks. the room was super clean, the breakfast good. The swimming pool and whirlpool area very clean. We enjoyed staying at this motel and the rate was low. Perfect for family traveling with kids on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff tries to do everything we can to accommodate guest's needs whenever we can. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a great stay for a great price.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked our room in advance (2 queen beds) for 2 nights at $67.00 each night. We didn't expect luxury at that price but expected the basics and what they advertised. Our room was on the 1st floor in the "old" hallway and was obviously an old remodeled room, barely. It was so small that the furniture didn't fit. We opened the door to the room and laughed because the bed was right there in the way of the door. The room was so small that the sink was blocked by the dressed, and you had to stand to the side to use it. WiFi did not work at all in our room, and the front desk was unable to get it working. Our toilet wouldn't flush easily and made gurgling noises all night long keeping us awake. They were able to move us to a 2nd floor room for our 2nd night which was more of a normal room and we had no complaints. This leads me to wonder who you have to know to get the good rooms and not the crappy old room we were put in the first night! I have complained to corporate and yet to receive a response, but beware to look at the room they put you in before you sign the dotted line. You could be in for a shock.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor in the old wing are small and horrible. Ask for a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We apologize that you are unsatisfied with your stay. When you booked your room you booked a room with 2 double beds and that is the room type you were assigned to. When you book a specific room type that is where you are placed. You are always free to add special requests into a reservation and if they are available we are always happy to accommodate those requests.
After you brought it to the front desk’s attention that the Wi-Fi was not working for you they immediately began to investigate what the issue was and called in our IT tech to assist. You were the first person of the day to bring this issue up so the front desk staff was not denying the issue; it simply had not been pointed out to her. The Wi-Fi was not an issue once you were moved to the second floor and the Wi-Fi was working again throughout the entire building shortly after you brought it to our attention.
Due to you being unhappy with the room you were in you were upgraded at no additional charge to a room with 2 queen beds. I apologize that you felt staff was too busy to speak to you about your issues but had you mentioned it, the time would have been spent to help you and try to make you happier with your guest experience. It is always our first priority to keep our guests happy.
We would like to extend you an invitation to stay with us again, at a discounted rate. Please call me directly so we can assure you get the room you prefer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For the cheapest price we could find at $60 per night we could not pass this up after a miserable start to our vacation. This place was our home for the night and we had a great time with their heated pool and hot tub.Their staff was gracious and kind. It was a great last minute stop and there also was a complimentary breakfast. The room was a standard room you would get at any hotel and you would probably pay more $$$. However the walls were thin and the side door of the hallway did not lock. Overall it was the best price within 40 miles of where we were statying. It solved our vacation problem for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberLucky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are very glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a place to stop and sleep on your travels. We are always trying to make sure that our hotel provides you great customer service, a clean place to rest your head and a few perks ( breakfast and pool) for a price that is affordable to every budget. We are pleased to see we met your needs and were able to add in some perks. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you come to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great price, decent room, friendly staff, I would definitely stay here again. Unfortunately, we had to leave sooner than we wanted since they were sold out and could not extend our stay! BTW, this is actually located in Harvey, MI - about 5 miles to Marquette.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and leave us a review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much you wanted to extend your stay. Although the majority of times we can accommodate this there are those times of the years that travel is high and it is beyond our control. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel staff was beyond what is expected today. Every staff member I came across was very helpful and very friendly. Smiles from sun up to sun down. Now the hotel is far from a 5 star but if you are looking for a clean, family friendly, affordable place to stay this is the spot. It appears they have updating and renovations going on but they did not interfere with our stay at all. Breakfast was the norm for a budget friendly hotel, toast, cereal, juice, coffee and waffles...The hotel is located just a few minutes from downtown Marquette but it is worth the little drive for the value and savings you get. No over pricing here. Nothing fancy, make you feel very comfortable from the minute you walk in the door.

Room Tip: When booking ask for 2 queens or the "main halls" the side section is the older part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentflyer21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you were satisfied with your stay. Making our guests stay with us as comfortable and "home like" as we can is one of our goals. The staff at Americas Best Value Inn work everyday to make traveling as comfortable for our guests as possible.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well situated, FANTASTIC staff; Ashley was the best!! The friendliness and kindness of staff makes up for many shortcomings. Inn is a work in progress and makes for a somewhat rough looking place. The room we got was ok and huge, 2 double beds and 1 single, fridge, coffeemaker, A/C unfortunately the musty smell was very strong and it took about 1 hour to get it under control with the bathroom fan and A/C on. The view out the window overlooking the rear lot was not pleasant as you could see the trailer full of refuse from the construction and the lot itself was unkempt as well as not very confidence inspiring so we left our motorcycles in the front lot. The pool was being repainted so the smell in the pool area was very strong. No elevator to get to 2nd floor so lugging our stuff took a few trips. Those of you who read my reviews will know about my pet peeve regarding plumbing fixtures in hotels; surprisingly, all fixtures were tight and worked well even though the bathroom itself was kind of tightly built. The door swung a mere finger's width from the toilet bowl.

There was surprisingly very little noise intrusion from the motorways nearby so we had an excellent night's sleep!!

The free continental breakfast was sparse at best but the coffee was good and the food plentiful. Cereal, cinnamon toast, pancakes(you bake with a machine), peanut butter for the asking(safeguarded to avoid allergy accidents!), jams, etc all made for lots of carbs. Maybe breakfast sandwiches à la Egg McMuffin would be a nice touch.

Don't let my poor rating deter you, the value is good and as the renovations move ahead the Inn will get more and more pleasant for all.

The America's Best Value Inn is actually located in Harvey, MI just next to Marquette,MI. It will be a great place to stay once work is completed and we will definitely be returning once work is done because of the level of service and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms are best if you don't want to deal with stairs. Arrive early as most places aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ta10p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a thorough review. We definitely are an establishment that prides itself on our customer service so it makes myself and our entire staff very pleased when we get great reviews in that area. We are always trying to continue to make improvements to our business to provide our guests the best possible stay for their hard earned dollar and as we all know renovations can be a messy job! We do everything we can to make sure our improvements do not inconvenience our guests stay. The owners and staff at Americas Best Value Inn want to do everything we can to give our guests a great stay for a great value every time you walk through our doors. We hope to see you again when traveling in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
849 reviews
6.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
512 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cedar Motor Inn
Cedar Motor Inn
#8 of 19 in Marquette
202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeside
Econo Lodge Lakeside
#11 of 19 in Marquette
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1010 State Highway M28 E, Marquette, MI 49855-9092
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $71 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 4 miles from Marquette at the intersection of two major highways; offer a deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and spa. We are now featuring Intentional Healing Massage Therapy on site as well as indoor tanning. Ojibwa Casino is only 4 miles from us and they offer shuttle service to and from. We also have a casino package for our guests. We are right on the snowmobile trail also, trail 417. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Marquette
Travel Lodge Marquette
Travelodge Marquette
Americas Best Value Inn Marquette
Marquette Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing