We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's okay!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's okay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We decided to stay in Marquette at the last minute and booked through Hotwire for $50. We checked in late and left right at check out. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room since we were out and about. The room was clean, but small. On the upside, we did enjoy waffles in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rules_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    53
    23
    27
See reviews for
92
48
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked America's best value inn at Marquette, MI. Its for the period of two days on July 1 & 2. What we pay what we get. For the price, it is kind of OK to stay, but not for vacation.

Advantages:
- Price
- Breakfast is OK. Even though we dont have many options, it is OK to manage
- Friendly Staff

Disadvantages:
- Stinky smell when you enter into the hotel & also room. We booked two rooms. Both has same smell.
- We booked one four bed & one two bed. We opted for four bed option, since we are four families and wanted to stay together.In hall, we have two beds and in one room we have two beds. We dont have separate AC for the beds in the room. We need to wait for two to three hours to get cool air in our room, which has to come from hall AC. This is pathetic design

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamuduChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have addressed all housekeeping related issues (including the preheating and cooling of rooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel was very disappointing. I have been traveling on business for 34 years and I would say it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Some of the issues were.
1. The door to my room had a one and a half inch gap from the floor and I could hear everyone moving through the hallway. The main outside door to the hallway didn't require a room key to access. (Lock is covered with tape.)
2. The room had a large hole through the dry wall. (Never had a room with that before).
3. The ceiling tiles were stained brown from some apparent leak.
4. The room smelled funny (not sure what it was).
5. The sheets had rust stain spots on them. (Maybe bad water)
6. Deadbolt lock would not work.
7. Very old Hotel and everything in the room shows it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We apologize for any inconveniences you had with our facility. We have been working hard to fix all issues brought to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironwood, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed one night with my husband and son. Staff very friendly. Room was clean. I thought the bed and pillows were comfy. The use of the ice machine near our room was the only thing that kept us up off and on all night. The hotel is old, but worth the stay.

Room Tip: Room by ice machine very noisy when people are using it all night long into the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are sorry for the inconvenience with your room's location and hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.louisvillle
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

our one night stay was a good experience. the room was clean and comfortable. the staff was very accomodating. yes, the building is old, (poor curb appeal) and the rooms-to-parking lot layout is akward, the overall value is worth a visit for those who are budget concieous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

On our way home from a 5 day camping trip to Isle Royale we stayed at your hotel in Marquette Michigan. Our stay was excellent, your rates were the best in Marquette. The pool and hot tub were just what we needed after a week of camping. Special thanks to Alexandra, as we got in late off the fairy in Copper Harbor. We were very happy w/ the promptness of checking us in and keeping the pool and hot tub open later than the allowed time frame. Our rooms were clean and the entire staff friendly and accommodating!
Tell Duchess we said hello :)

Room Tip: The kitchenette suite w/ the large couch and large screen tv was perfect for hanging out after our l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Duchess says hello back! Thank you for the comments. We certainly try to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Don't waste your money, the pool was scummy and hair floating around in it, and the room was absolutey filthy. There was still the other peoples garbage behind the dresser. If it weren't for being 1am and driving all night I definitely would have prefered my car! The most terrible place ever!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1010 State Highway M28 E, Marquette, MI 49855-9092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 4 miles from Marquette at the intersection of two major highways; offer a deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and spa. We are now featuring Intentional Healing Massage Therapy on site as well as indoor tanning. Ojibwa Casino is only 4 miles from us and they offer shuttle service to and from. We also have a casino package for our guests. We are right on the snowmobile trail also, trail 417. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Marquette
Travel Lodge Marquette
Travelodge Marquette
Americas Best Value Inn Marquette
Marquette Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing